We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Flavours with an Indian Twist”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #211 of 470 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Booked there by my host for 2 days - enjoyed every meal and the high floor views. The experience is quite good - fulfills basic expectations and good value. Could not make use of all the complimentary items on offer. Wish I could have been there from the Sky Floor by day.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor - although there is the danger of walking down longer in the event of an earth q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalyawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

Overall this hotel lived up to my expectations. The room was large & very comfortable, internet access in the room was very good, although the password system they use is a little complicated, using a long string of random numbers, instead of surname & room number like most hotels.

Quality & range of food in both the restaurants & room service was also good.

Some reviewers have complained that staff at the hotel dont' speak good english. As a native english speaker myself, i had no problems and all staff spoke very good and clear english. I think the problems are as a result of non native english speaking guests not having as good a pronunciation as they think they do.

The hotel is located next to a large shopping complex, which has a couple of nice coffee places and a steak house. Unfortunately there is no ATM at the hotel, but there are a row of banks a roughly 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisneville04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Jakarta is such a busy polluted city that you need a refuge from the hustle and bustle for your down time. We were booked into the Manhattan by the company as it was only 5 minutes walk from the office - an unheard of luxury in Jakarta - and made the mistake of checking in 2 days early for Easter! What an error of judgement (should have read the tripadvisor reviews before we did this!). As others have noted, it is more than just tired, with its 90s design and decor. The bathrooms were growing mould in the cracks, the shower curtain was black, the swimming pool was a dull grey and couldn't hold more than about 4 people at a time, and when kids are involved swimming healthy lengths is not on! Then there's the crime of having no lounge area where you can sit comfortably and in a civilised fashion to read a book, or use the computer (see wi fi comments below), having been banished from the dingy room. But the worst sin for a business hotel is that the internet and wi fi just did not work properly, kept cutting out, had to re-log on using a multi digit immemorable code and no service if not in the room. In fact I was so depressed by the place I left Jakarta 2 days early, which really is an indictment of a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Reasonable rates for adequate lodging for a business traveler. Don't think of staying here on your own penny for pleasure travel.

Pluses are 1) fairly clean ... 2) great laundry service ... 3) nice fitness center... 4) fast elevators (that actually work)...5) hot water (I never take it for granted)...6) Good TV (lots of western news, sports, movies).

Minuses: well, where to begin... 1) restaurants .. 2) nowhere to walk or dine outside the hotel (except the Outback Steakhouse at the arcade next door...getting there requires traversing a construction site with open drainage ditches dodging a sea of motor scooters) 3) spotty Internet service...often it is completely down ...4) water may be hot, but is not drinkable (probably true of all Jakarta hotels - I don't know - bring a filter - standard equipment where I travel) and drink the rather overpriced bottled water.

Don't spend time here unless you have to.

Room Tip: It is tower, ~36 floors. Go for the lower floors for faster elevator service and better odds of esca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derfy1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

my girlfriend and me stayed for 3 nights in manhattan hotel,when i check in i was confused,why we have breakfast only for 1 person,and the staff can not explain about that,after i check with the agent,finally i understand,the room not good at all for price idr 900000,the shower look very old and the bathro standard,they have indian food for breakfast and the taste is pretty good



  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is definitely a business hotel. I was there for business so it was okay for me.

I really did not like the lingering stale smell at the lobby, and check-in took me 30 minutes. The staff were painfully slow and some did not understand English very well.

There is a cafe and restaurant so dining will not be a problem.
I must say the prices are quite steep though, a nice dinner cost almost $80.

Location-wise, it is in the golden triangle of Jakarta, so all the major convention centers and shopping malls are pretty nearby.

However, this hotel stands right at the end of a very busy street, so traffic to and fro the hotel is insane.

It actually took me an hour to get across the street in a taxi... So you can only imagine the traffic.

The room was quite comfortable but the bed was not. Lighting was okay but the temperature could not be adjusted, so it was rather warm.

There is also a nice view of Jakarta.

Overall, an average hotel which you can give a miss and perhaps try Gran Melia, which I have heard a lot about, and will try should I visit Jakarta again.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large but not very well designed and equipped. Not even to a 4 star mark. Front desk is painfully slow, having someone attend to you may come as a challenge :) BUT the Indian restaurant is AWESOME. Very good variety, service, taste. My only reason for staying there.
Location is good with tow good malls nearby but nothing great because of peak hour traffic it may take you for ever to get in and out of hotel in a taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankurrrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
The Park Lane Jakarta
#33 of 470 in Jakarta
516 reviews
Ayaka Suites
#71 of 470 in Jakarta
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Somerset Grand Citra
#212 of 470 in Jakarta
151 reviews
Setiabudi
Aston at Kuningan Suites
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#64 of 470 in Jakarta
522 reviews
Ascott Kuningan Jakarta
#60 of 470 in Jakarta
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Address: Jln. Prof.Dr Satrio no. 1, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manhattan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing