We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kemang Icon By Alila
Ranked #124 of 456 Hotels in Jakarta
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

when we arrived we got a little bit upset, first, because of the traffic in this area and when we checking in, the staff can't find our reservation! in 15 minute we can get to our room. the room has a good smell, lighting, and the music played all over the room. the bed are little bit hard the pillow too. simple breakfast are great. we recommended this place!

Room Tip: infiniti room have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuatorai, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Fadel R,

Warm Greetings from your KIA Family.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. My apologies for the lapse in service with regards to your initial check in and am happy to see that you left pleased and happy. You can be assured that I have taken your kind comments constructively and have added a personal pillow preference towards your next stay.

My Team and myself look forward to welcoming you again back here at Kemang Icon by Alila.

Sincere Regards,
JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    55
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
8
62
21
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly and trendy hotel in Jakarta. Nice big rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of restaurants nearby. Exellent breakfast at the roof. A small hotel with only 12 rooms. Every room is different.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuatorai, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Marianne K,

Warm Greetings from your KIA Family!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us with warm comments. I hope that you are back to the hustle and bustle safe and sound.

My team and myself look forward to welcoming you again back here – But this time we require more pool time form you !!

Sincere Regards,
JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Yohana and I decided that we wanted a weekend break. We both work hard and sometimes it's nice to just kick back and relax. So it was that we decided to book an overnight in Jakarta and, on searching around the net, we found the Kemang Icon.

Run by the Alila group of hotels, the Icon doesn't look much from the outside but once in the suite we were really impressed. The interior decoration, the complimentary ipod with pre installed play lists, the huge bathtub and glass panelled shower/toilet, the huge desk, the relaxing sofa, the sizeable bed and goose feather pillows, the exposed concrete ceiling, the carefully placed lighting. It all added to a great first impression.

Sure on a closer look the room showed signs of wear and tear (weird scratches on the bottom of the bathtub, for instance) but a small thing when compared to the overall experience.

The service was discreet but speedy enough when needed (the wifi wasn't working and the ipod was locked out on arrival) and it would have been nice to know in advance about the Sweet 17th party that comandeered the 5th floor pool and restaurant. Still, the weather wasn't really conducive for swimming so not just the thought of doing my Baywatch impression in front of a load of kids.

Would i recommend the Icon? absolutely. It's bang in the middle of Kemang, which allows you to sample all of the varied nightlife the area has to offer, along with a great room to boot.

In conversation with the head chef Brandon, the restaurant is doing well, but apart from breakfast, a very good Nasi Goreng with fruit juice and coffee, I couldn't comment on that side of the operation.

All 12 rooms at the Icon are suites, we stayed in an Edge Suite and got a good price from Agoda. Give it a try if you want a romantic stay for two or a business suite with a difference.

Only thing I found a bit odd, and this is a personal thing, there was nothing stopping your other half watching you use the loo!

Room Tip: I haven't seen an ordinary suite, but the Edge suite in which we stayed, 'Infini', was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatchmoStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuatorai, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear SatchmoStoker,

Warm Greetings from your Family here at Kemang Icon by Alila.

I am happy to hear that your stay left a positive impression. I have taken over from the previous GM and improving product and services here at the Icon. My apologies for not pre-communicating the event that was booked prior to your arrival. Your comments on the needed improvements to the bathtub have been taken to heart and will be acted on. It was a pleasure having you here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back !!

Again Our Sincere gratitude in taking the time to review us.

Warm Regards,
JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Located in South of Jakarta, one of the best resort having only 12 suites. Just if you plan to visit and book this please book well in advance. It is in heart of South Jakarta, the market is very near. The Hotel rooms are good, the restaurant is just attached with Swimming pool which makes the ambience more wonderful. The lacking is I could not find in rooms, dental kit, comb, shaving kit near the dressing table. Nor I could find dustbin near the commode to throw in tissue paper :). The food quality is good. The hospitality of hotel is to be appreciated. Can enjoy you stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMD1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuatorai, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear MMD1611,

Warm Greetings – Happy to hear that you are back home. Thank you for your kind words and I have taken your comments to heart and will continue to improve our guest amenities. Please write to be directly via that details that were given in person for your next visit here to the City.
We hope to welcome you back very Soon !

Regards,
JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakar, Bhutan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed for one night. It was great experience until me and my partner planned to have dinner there. The place is great with relaxing atmosphere. However, the service we received for our dinner was disappointing. As we loved the place. I made reservation 2 weeks in advance and it was OK. On the day of our reservation, I wanted to confirm our visit once more and wanted to order our meal before we arrived. But on that day, I had to call 4 times until the restaurant staff could talk to me. When I was succeed to get trough, they said my name was not on the list and the restaurant was already full. It was very bad service. They should not do that again and wr hope other will not expereince this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nugrahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuatorai, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Nugrahani,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Edge with us. I have since taken over as the new custodian of Kemang Icon since your visit here last June. We have revamped all F&B at the hotel and are continuing to improve the Hotel services and amenities. I would love to invite you back here with us and thus please write to me directly via jtorai(at)alilahotels.com and I will personally take care of the rest.

Regards,
JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting friends in Kemang. After a few teething troubles getting to the hotel - car wasn't there to pick me up from airport and the I got a taxi to the Alila Hotel in central Jakarta - despite telling the taxi driver I wanted to go to Kemang and giving him the correct address. Despite these issues which I wouldn't entirely discount as being my fault rather than the hotels or the taxi drivers the hotel at first glance seemed very good. Very boutique style place in the heart of Kemang which is fairly expat heavy for Jakarta if that's the sort of area your after. However, you soon get to notice that despite the interesting decor, the rooms felt a bit aged and in need of a refurb e.g. desk coming apart, black marks on the ceilings around the lights, some furniture a little worn. The room was large and open plan which was nice if you can get used to the toilet being open plan as well, albeit with a movable screen in front of it.

For the money I think there are probably better options in Kemang area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecosse_Unique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshuatorai, General Manager at Kemang Icon By Alila, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Ecosse_Unique,

Warm Greetings from your KIA Family.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The traffic in Jakarta is a living-breathing phenomenon that is hard to understand by all, even residents.

Having recently taken over I am very happy to announce that we have now refurbished all our suites and all areas of the hotel. I would love you to experience our newly refurbished and thus please contact me directly for your next visit (hopefully soon).

My Team and myself look forward to welcoming you again back here at Kemang Icon by Alila

Sincere Regards,
JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile



Two individuals worthy of mention : Brandon who is the expatriate chef and doubles as a good host. Novi at reception who is very attentive.


The only thing you cannot argue with is the generous size of the rooms. Double glazed windows keeps the street noise out so it's a quiet relaxing retreat. The windows need a good cleaning though.

Proper desk and kitchenette is a nice touch. Lighting is adjustable with a remote control. Large tv and surround sound system but it had an old iPhone connector which made it unusable for me.

The bathroom is huge, but a little tired with cracked glass tabletop and mouldy spots in the shower. No toothbrush, manicure set nor sewing kit for those who still sew. Toilet has no bidet.

Coffee in room is a very finely ground variety not suitable for the coffee maker in the room. Still it's better than the instant garbage offered at most premium hotels in Indonesia. There should rather be a coffee filter or pod machine. There is no creamer in the room and when requested I was told that the restaurant is closed. 8 pm. When I rejected that, I was told that they will check with housekeeping - no response. It took a visit to reception to get it sorted and promptly a few millilitres of milk was provided.

There was some confusion about the internet password but quickly solved. Internet service is the best I've experienced in a local hotel.

The dining / bar / pool area is squeezed into a fairly tight space. We were offered the buffet by one, only to be told by another that no seating is available leaving us to sit at the tiny bar which looked untidy with bottles scattered everywhere. Drinks menu on a soiled piece of paper with limited cocktail options. Bar tenders appeared rushed and often no one behind the bar. They even forgot to charge for the drinks. Well deserved.

Breakfast is ala carte. They forgot the juices. No offer to refill coffee - general lack of interest - Brandon made great eggs but the only person attending to the table was an unsmiling lady moving about like a sloth with an untidy appearance

There is no lounge area.

There appears to be no room service menu or service per se - no directory for phone numbers.





Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#17 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Menteng
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Morrissey Hotel Residences
#59 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kebayoran Baru
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
#12 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Alila Jakarta
#27 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemang Icon By Alila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemang Icon By Alila

Property: Kemang Icon By Alila
Address: Jln. Kemang Raya 1, Jakarta 12550, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#22 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#79 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kemang Icon By Alila 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in Conde Nast Traveler US Hot List as one of the scene stealing hotels in Indonesia... Kemang Icon by Alila transforms the travel experience with a truly innovative and dynamic urban living environment, set in one of Jakarta'€™s most upscale and trend setting neighborhoods. Artistry fused with hi-tech functionality and exceptional comfort creates a hip retreat within the city. Ultra modern. Avant-garde. Chic yet cozy. A multi-sensory experience is infused with the warmth and attentiveness of unsurpassed personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kemang Icon By Alila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemang Icon By Alila Hotel Jakarta
Kemang Icon By Alila Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing