We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired property, but adequate and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Tropic Suites Hotel
Ranked #221 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“A tired property, but adequate and good value”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here twice.... at first we were surprised by the tired and unkempt appearance of the room, but after a day or two we found it more than adequate, with huge living spaces and bedrooms, and at bargain prices. The beds were comfortable and inviting and the showers were good. The onsite restaurant is reasonable, nothing special. The pool is good. The position is good, with many huge shopping centres nearby. One is just a 3 minute walk.3 and a bit stars!

Room Tip: A high floor will probably have less pollution as it's next to a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    74
    64
    25
    15
See reviews for
81
11
2
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel gets by purely on location, which is all it has going for it. It is very close to the Central Park mall and has easy access onto the toll road to the airport.

However, even with these benefits I would not stay here again, and that is for one reason - the lack of cleanliness everywhere.

The kitchen in our 2-bed apartment was run down with the hob removed some time ago but the extractor and the cooking instructions remained. The counter where the kettle was kept was stained and damaged and the sparse collection of cutlery and cups barely adequate.

The doors and handles of all doors were discoloured and dirty. Every morning for some reason the drains in our bathroom began to smell awful.

Our room had a balcony but it was locked and looked Very dirty and unapealling. The kitchen had a small window, but it only looked out into a grotty and dark plant room. Very odd

The staff were very nice, but service at breakfast and 1 dinner we had was very slow and not all that great, This is the
first hotel I've stayed at in decades where guests have to get every coffee/drink for themselves while the staff stand around.

Overall this place is long overdue for a refurb, and is poor value for money compared to much better places nearby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Boff_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Perth Wa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel due to it's location to Central Mall and being on a direct route to a wedding we were attending.
We booked a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment with kitchen and lounge area.
Firstly the kichen had an extractor fan over where a cooking hob should be but no hob or oven? The apartment had plates and dishes and cups plus a kettle and a couple of sachets of tea, coffee & sugar but no teaspoons or glasses. When I called reception to ask for teaspoons and glasses they would not provide them for the room. And said if we wanted them they would charge extra for them??
The rooms were not very clean. One of the toilets in the bathroom had congealed urine on the toilet seat which had obviously been there for some time. The walls & doors are very dirty and there was a constant smell of sewage from the bathrooms.
Breakfast is hit & miss, no milk jugs, basic buffet style. There is an egg station where you can order freshly made omelettes but after 2 attempts at ordering eggs and never actually getting them we simply gave up!
We come to Jakarta quite often and in comparison to other hotels in value for money it is not good. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaligirlPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegal, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This service Apartment formelly is really good and maybe the Best with Good Price. But now is really Bad and Dirty. Lucky i am stay here only for transit. The room is very dirty (full with Dust), the Lift is making long waiting (15-20 minutes waiting). But this hotel is still the best if you stay in Jakarta 5-6 people together in room, they really have spacious room.

Room Tip: business deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Agustino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is a bit older, which you notice in the rooms, though they are very clean. Staff is helpful and friendly, speak English very well. Only the wifi connection was very bad in the room (business suite 5th floor) and the elevators took very long to be available. Near Central Park mall, which is very convenient with the many restaurants and Carrefour. Don't try Western food for lunch/dinner at the Grand Tropic restaurant as it was dissapointing, Indonesian dishes were good and tasty (but quite expensive).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annique91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Staff is not helpfull at all. I stayed in family delux suite on 22nd floor. All walls were dirty, bins dirty, kitchen filthy. No wifi in the room. We are in 21st century and they offered me cabel?! Wanted to book a taxi with cheap fare and reception were constantly calling to guest relation desk (which is 3 meters away!) they offered me 350 000 for drop to the airport! Had to go to main street and flag myself. Went for 75 000. I work for hotels over 15 years and never seen receptionist behave like this. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only nice thing was breakfast, nice choice but all cold as noone cares about closing food shaffers.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexsandraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nettetal
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After a 25 hours journey from Germany to Jakarta we arrived in the Hotel and the reception was friendly, english speaking and very helpful. Staff is very good and provides good service!!

Somebody took care of the luggage and we got a hotel room in the 12th floor.
The elevator situation is quite strange... So you can imagine when the hotel is fully booked you can wait some time for the next empty one.
The breakfast was ok.... Take care that you look if the plates and the glasses are clean.

We booked the Hotel thru a booking service and stayed for two nights.

Pool area is very nice. Very close to a bis shopping mall with restaurants.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Grogol Petamburan
Grand Tjokro Jakarta
Grand Tjokro Jakarta
#119 of 464 in Jakarta
128 reviews
Grogol Petamburan
Hotel Ciputra Jakarta
Hotel Ciputra Jakarta
#83 of 464 in Jakarta
394 reviews
B Fashion Executive Hotel
#302 of 464 in Jakarta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Twin Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#345 of 464 in Jakarta
52 reviews
Palmerah
Hotel Mega Anggrek
Hotel Mega Anggrek
#315 of 464 in Jakarta
73 reviews
Hotel Menara Peninsula
#95 of 464 in Jakarta
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tropic Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tropic Suites Hotel

Property: Grand Tropic Suites Hotel
Address: Jl. Letjend S. Parman Kav. 3 | PO Box 1421, Jakarta 11014, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Grogol Petamburan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tropic Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Tropic Suites' Hotel "Where the business and leisure blend in a Harmony", is an unique services apartment which operated as a hotel to make sure every stay us pleasant and an extraordinary experience.188 rooms combine the comfort of home with all the benefits of hotel hospitality. We offers the choice of venue for events with excellent service. 8 luxurious meeting rooms are the perfect venue for wedding, seminars, meetings or other functions. Our landscape garden is also available to cater your outdoor party or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Tropic Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tropic Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing