We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Kinara Indian and Pakistani
Ranked #182 of 7,727 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mampang Prapatan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We went for a weekend buffet lunch. The place looks pretty antiquated, with cracks on the walls and all that giving a really "old" feel. There were many dishes for the buffet, but nothing tasted very good. The food was rather cold too. Prices are on the higher side.

All the rotis and parathas that they serve are made with eggs, so vegetarians beware.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeptirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice meal nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I cannot claim to be an Indian food expert but I did enjoy the meal served. The dishes did not all taste the same and were hot and tasty when they arrived at the table. They have gone to a lot of effort to give the place atmosphere inside - again it may not be authentic Indian but it is distinctive. The service was efficient and the drinks cold. YOu can sit on the roof top lounge and I guess on a good (one without as much pollution) Jakarta night see the stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Edge”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Kinara Means " The Shore" and it is more of a nice lounge . The food is average, but some of the selections can be nicer.
Prices are pitched higher then average.
Worth the visit once atleast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great indian food, very nice place and design”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

ood is good, ambience is superb, they have bar, and lounge in one building. the rooftop is a very nice place to hang out or just relax and have romantic time with couple. they entertain group booking for private prty as well. 4 stars price. s

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonylimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic place to had a dinner”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

My impression at my first visit at Kinara is I feels like i were not in Indonesia! Their interior design were just amazing! They had like little river in the middle of restaurant, it is very nice if you get table beside the 'river'.
In my opinion the food was just okay, althought there are some Indian restauran which has better taste but here the price are reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasancfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinara Indian and Pakistani also viewed

 

Been to Kinara Indian and Pakistani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing