We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Impress your Associates”
Review of Bunga Rampai

Bunga Rampai
Ranked #62 of 7,775 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Place to Impress your Associates”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have know about Bunga Rampai for some time, but never visited before. Why? Well the prices are very high for Jakarta. Last night I paid Rp. 550,000 ($45) per head. Is it worth it? Yes, it certainly is and lets face it in neighbouring Singapore $45 per head doesn't get you much at all.
It's located in Menteng on the eastern Cikini side, so not as fancy as the western side, but only a short taxi ride from Bunderan HI (Mandarin, Pullman, Hyatt and Hotel Indonesia). Its in an old Dutch colonial villa, which at todays rates has to be worth nearly $10mn, so maybe the food isn't so expensive. The interior is fantastic, with lots of private dining areas.
The staff couldn't be nicer and were very attentive and friendly. They all seemed to speak good English. Also they outnumber the guests.
The food is good and authentic, although I have had better in Jakarta, hence only 4 stars. I had a set menu. I particularly liked the fish soup (I'll call it Soto Ikan, but have no idea what it said on the menu) which was full of flavour, especially after adding some sambal. The main course contained an assortment of Indonesia dishes, just as good Indonesian food should. All were excellent, apart from the beef (could have been Daging Empal) which was a little stringy, reflecting the tough beef that we eat in Indonesia, but nothing wrong with it.
This really is a place to take business associates and others you are out to impress. For visitors to Indonesia staying near the centre, I would really recommend taking a taxi out here, to experience the very best in Indonesia food and hospitality. You will be impressed by the building which is a legacy of the Dutch, but soon discover that the country inherited very little else from them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piphoshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    107
    36
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High Class Fancy Restaurant, 100% Local Indonesian Menu. . .”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This restaurant is located on the opposite of Jakarta Eye center (Menteng). The building previously owned by first Indonesian/Jakarta first dentist in the city and sold to the owner of Bunga Rampai restaurant. The architecture is very classy, colonial style (Dutch). There's lots of paintings inside, food was very Indonesian authentic and used as benchmark for people who have interest in true local Indonesian flavor.

Been to the restaurant 3x about once in every year: tried their Otak Otak Tangkai Tebu, Asam Asam Seafood, Itik Keling, Bunga Rampai Satay. . .its all good, but I am not sure if its 100% perfect. Price is very high, for 4 person expect to pay at around Rp. 800 K or even more since Dec 2013 itself the beverage cost alone for juice about Rp 50 K/glass.

Appetizer the Otak Otak selling at Rp 56K, Asam Asam Laut at Rp 76K, Bunga Rampai Satay at around Rp 130K for Indonesian people I think this is consider as premium. Service always excellent, they have valet service in the front of the restaurant, waiters are friendly and they speak english too. They have this local band playing bass, guitars and sing, its like a trio/quartet. They know most of Indonesian traditional songs. If you're coming within a big group ask them to give you a private dining room.

Superb. . .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank botulinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
651 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Fancy, good service”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Very fancy venue, good for private functions and discussions. Setting is very nice and service is excellent. Though food selection is nothing stellar.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A remarkable dining experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Very seldom do we rate a restaurant so highly. The setting was superb with good quality dinnerware and napery. The staff were friendly, very attentive and quality of service was flawless. We particularly liked the band who played our music request by our table. Best fine dining experience in Jakarta! Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top notch Indonesian Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I was truly impressed by the presentation of food in this restaurant (not to mention the extra large portion). It is an ideal place to have business lunch or dinner as it has a unique Old Dutch Indonesian ambience. The price however is not inexpensive but it's worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Totofore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunga Rampai also viewed

 

Been to Bunga Rampai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing