We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in lovely Yogja”
Review of Duta Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duta Guest House
Ranked #65 of 210 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We loved Duta guesthouse: the atmosphere, the rooms, the pool, the grounds, the maze-like structure, the breakfast, staff and afternoon tea and the location. Most rooms are very well thought-through with lots of space for all your stuff and even a closet you can lock in some rooms (we stayed in two different rooms). Wifi varies throughout the hotel. The pool is very pretty and re relaxing and the free afternoon tea is a very nice touch. There is even an (antique, but hey!) gym for guests to use. Cleaning is generally good, though they do sometimes miss a few spots, but nothing major. Laundry is very expendive compared to the laundry service across the street!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had a superior room - AC, hot water, large and clean room, comfortable bed, nicely outfitted and clean bathroom. The typical threadbare towels that you get in most Indonesian budget hotels, but that means they dry quickly. The pool is small but very pleasant. Good breakfast - eggs any style, pancakes, fruit, toast, juice (including guava juice that most people seemed to ignore, maybe because of its pink color, but which is actually delicious), tea/coffee, and a rotating menu of Indonesian food - one day just fried rice and fried noodles, another day soto ayam, and another day very tasty gudeg. The only downside was the loud morning call to prayer at 4:30 and again at 5:30, but it's hard to find a hotel that won't have that problem.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms seem to be smaller and older - I was on the upper floor, and it was quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Located in touristy Pramirotawan street, Duta is nice and convenient for budget-travellers. Room with fan and shared bathroom is cheap, but no luxury. However, breakfeast bufeet is varied and very good, pleasing those who want indonesian-style breakfast or western breakfeast. The staff is extremely helpful, and will arrange everything for you. Tip: Avoid the expensive (in Indonesian terms) restaurants in Pramirotawan, and walk left from the main entrance to the bustling Jl. Parangtrititis. Local restaurants and Masakan Padangs offer tasty local food which is ten times cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have been to Yogya several times in the last few years, and I always stay at Duta Guest house. Very reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff, an excellent pool, internet, and rooms which are fairly basic but clean and comfortable. I last went there with a friend from Australia and she still talks about how good it was.
Jl Prawirotaman is the best place to stay, away from the hussle of Jl Malioboro. Good restaurants & small shops such as book exchanges nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scillaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed in room 25 for 3N and while there wasn't enough of the city to see over 3days, the hotel was very enjoyable. The Internet was a huge disappointment, as it was painfully slow but the wonderfully cooling pool made up for it. The shower water pressure was low but we had a shower curtain. The room had lots of ants and roaches but as soon as we informed the staff, the room was sprayed. The location is great, next to some good restaurants. While you can walk 40 minutes to arrive inside the walled city, we paid 10,000Rps for the pedal taxi to the Water Palace. They'll ask for a higher rate but if you tell them "no thanks, I'll walk", they quickly agree. The included breakfast was decent and consisted of an egg stall, fruits, noodles, breads jams, butter, tea and coffee. The room was relatively quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at their fan room since there weren't any available economy AC room coinciding on our chosen dates (March 14-16, 2013). The room was spacious, a little bit on the old and musty side but still perfect for what we need. They have a really nice (who brings snacks in your room!), helpful, polite and really thoughtful staff. My fiancé and I are always out of the hostel before the break of dawn but they always have a prepared breakfast for us on the go! That was really nice of them!

The location is a bit far from Malioboro Street (3kms) but it's an easy and quiet neighborhood of hostels so we didn't really mind.

PS: a dip in the pool was really nice after a long day of walking in Candi Borobudur and Malioboro Street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend on January 2013. The room and bathroom were nice, they clean it every day. The breakfast was great. And the staffs were very friendly. But mostly the staffs were very noisy, I always woke up from my sleep because their voices were very loud, joking or screaming calling each other. But overall, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonorayoanagusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.1 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#58 of 210 in Yogyakarta
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#56 of 210 in Yogyakarta
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
#132 of 210 in Yogyakarta
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#83 of 210 in Yogyakarta
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bedhot Homestay
Bedhot Homestay
#1 of 3 in Bantul
64 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#34 of 210 in Yogyakarta
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Guest House

Address: Jl. Prawiritaman no. 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £9 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Duta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Guest House Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing