We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Duta Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duta Guest House
Ranked #62 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Beautifully decorated homestay with nice swimming pool. Because of the waterfall and plants there are quite some mosquitos though. Rooms are very clean, the breakfast is fantastic. The whole place is a little bit cramped, there isn't a lot of space at the pool to relax. Location is also a big plus (in the same street the Via Via restaurant is the best restaurant I saw in 5 weeks travelling through Indonesia).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

we made our hotel reservation (2 standard rooms) via Booking.net more than 1 month ahead (as recomended by TA destination experts, due to Ramadan) for end of July (5 nights). But when arriving, we were told Delta was overbooked (??) and they are offering us much better Duta guest house accomodation as they belong to the same owner. Of course having no problem with that we went there (didn't even offer to drive us there, not really far but after long day not so close on foot either). They gave us the rooms, after we asked twice if we will get standard rooms (they have economy too), and they confirmed. I room (twin bed, for our children) was ok, the second one was for sure economy (old and very loud AC, old bed, tired mattreses, wardrobe was not only outdated but dirty as well, sink in the room...). When we complained they said this was the only thing we can get. Stuff was polite but not possible to discuss with due to their very limited english. As we had no other option, we staid as we were not much in the room, and they have great pool. we also got only 1 towel per person, no hand/face towel. we had to ask for additional towels each day.
They really have to work on customer service (if overbooked even in lower ranked sister hotel it is not normal practice for good hotels to give you the worst room in the other "better" hotel, as it is not customers falut they overbooked. They also have to educate their staff in english. I don't expect them to be fluent, but have to be able to speak more than "room nr." and "thank you".
All in all, Duta has quite some space to improove.

Room Tip: sure not economy. also standard are not the same. you should check out your room before move in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We loved Duta guesthouse: the atmosphere, the rooms, the pool, the grounds, the maze-like structure, the breakfast, staff and afternoon tea and the location. Most rooms are very well thought-through with lots of space for all your stuff and even a closet you can lock in some rooms (we stayed in two different rooms). Wifi varies throughout the hotel. The pool is very pretty and re relaxing and the free afternoon tea is a very nice touch. There is even an (antique, but hey!) gym for guests to use. Cleaning is generally good, though they do sometimes miss a few spots, but nothing major. Laundry is very expendive compared to the laundry service across the street!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had a superior room - AC, hot water, large and clean room, comfortable bed, nicely outfitted and clean bathroom. The typical threadbare towels that you get in most Indonesian budget hotels, but that means they dry quickly. The pool is small but very pleasant. Good breakfast - eggs any style, pancakes, fruit, toast, juice (including guava juice that most people seemed to ignore, maybe because of its pink color, but which is actually delicious), tea/coffee, and a rotating menu of Indonesian food - one day just fried rice and fried noodles, another day soto ayam, and another day very tasty gudeg. The only downside was the loud morning call to prayer at 4:30 and again at 5:30, but it's hard to find a hotel that won't have that problem.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms seem to be smaller and older - I was on the upper floor, and it was quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Located in touristy Pramirotawan street, Duta is nice and convenient for budget-travellers. Room with fan and shared bathroom is cheap, but no luxury. However, breakfeast bufeet is varied and very good, pleasing those who want indonesian-style breakfast or western breakfeast. The staff is extremely helpful, and will arrange everything for you. Tip: Avoid the expensive (in Indonesian terms) restaurants in Pramirotawan, and walk left from the main entrance to the bustling Jl. Parangtrititis. Local restaurants and Masakan Padangs offer tasty local food which is ten times cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have been to Yogya several times in the last few years, and I always stay at Duta Guest house. Very reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff, an excellent pool, internet, and rooms which are fairly basic but clean and comfortable. I last went there with a friend from Australia and she still talks about how good it was.
Jl Prawirotaman is the best place to stay, away from the hussle of Jl Malioboro. Good restaurants & small shops such as book exchanges nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scillaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed in room 25 for 3N and while there wasn't enough of the city to see over 3days, the hotel was very enjoyable. The Internet was a huge disappointment, as it was painfully slow but the wonderfully cooling pool made up for it. The shower water pressure was low but we had a shower curtain. The room had lots of ants and roaches but as soon as we informed the staff, the room was sprayed. The location is great, next to some good restaurants. While you can walk 40 minutes to arrive inside the walled city, we paid 10,000Rps for the pedal taxi to the Water Palace. They'll ask for a higher rate but if you tell them "no thanks, I'll walk", they quickly agree. The included breakfast was decent and consisted of an egg stall, fruits, noodles, breads jams, butter, tea and coffee. The room was relatively quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#53 of 212 in Yogyakarta
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
#131 of 212 in Yogyakarta
79 reviews
3.1 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#55 of 212 in Yogyakarta
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tickle Hotel
Tickle Hotel
#129 of 212 in Yogyakarta
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#31 of 212 in Yogyakarta
676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#40 of 212 in Yogyakarta
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Guest House

Address: Jl. Prawiritaman no. 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £8 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Duta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Guest House Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing