We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Garden...”
Review of Duta Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duta Guest House
Ranked #57 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pretty Garden...”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Duta Guest House, was the 2nd hotel we stayed during our visit to Jogja and we spent 3 nights here. It is located at Jl.Prawirotaman, a street with many bed and breakfast inns, restaurants, cafes, tour agencies and massage/spa parlours. We were relieved as we knew we will not have any problem to get food and any other need is just within walking distance.
The first impression as you enter Duta Guest House is just like any plain bed and breakfast place, friendly staff greets you with welcome drink as usual, however the surprise awaits you as you are shown the way to your room. I was never expecting a beautiful room surrounded by such pretty garden, immediately I felt at home. The room we stayed was clean and our bath was very spacious and we even had a private garden in our bath, thumbs up for that concept. Wi-fi connection is excellent at the lobby and room area but was poor around the dining area. They served different local varieties for breakfast and the food was good even though the choice is limited. I would say I enjoyed the breakfast here. They also do serve some light snack for tea time.
Only comment I have is that the cleanliness/tidiness of the middle portion of the hotel (from lobby) which connects you to the rooms should be given some attention. Otherwise Duta Guest House is surely recommended as the location is very convenient, you can get a becak/tuk-tuk from here to Maliboro Street for just about RP20,000 for all your shopping. You have plenty of restaurants to choose and you may get yourself a good massage at the end of a tiring day out.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden or facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    105
    32
    4
    8
See reviews for
23
86
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights as part of a school trip. The rooms vary in shape and size, and there are many nooks and crannies up stairs and downstairs. The pool is central and is clean and in a beautiful setting. The rooms are adequate, but clean and tidy, and the air conditioning worked well. Breakfast was varied and plentiful with omlettes, pancakes, fruit, coffee and toast. Some of the rooms are in a quieter part of the grounds, and the little walks connecting them delightful. The wifi works well in the foyer, which is a lovely room with Javanese paintings. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rossadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Beautifully decorated homestay with nice swimming pool. Because of the waterfall and plants there are quite some mosquitos though. Rooms are very clean, the breakfast is fantastic. The whole place is a little bit cramped, there isn't a lot of space at the pool to relax. Location is also a big plus (in the same street the Via Via restaurant is the best restaurant I saw in 5 weeks travelling through Indonesia).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

we made our hotel reservation (2 standard rooms) via Booking.net more than 1 month ahead (as recomended by TA destination experts, due to Ramadan) for end of July (5 nights). But when arriving, we were told Delta was overbooked (??) and they are offering us much better Duta guest house accomodation as they belong to the same owner. Of course having no problem with that we went there (didn't even offer to drive us there, not really far but after long day not so close on foot either). They gave us the rooms, after we asked twice if we will get standard rooms (they have economy too), and they confirmed. I room (twin bed, for our children) was ok, the second one was for sure economy (old and very loud AC, old bed, tired mattreses, wardrobe was not only outdated but dirty as well, sink in the room...). When we complained they said this was the only thing we can get. Stuff was polite but not possible to discuss with due to their very limited english. As we had no other option, we staid as we were not much in the room, and they have great pool. we also got only 1 towel per person, no hand/face towel. we had to ask for additional towels each day.
They really have to work on customer service (if overbooked even in lower ranked sister hotel it is not normal practice for good hotels to give you the worst room in the other "better" hotel, as it is not customers falut they overbooked. They also have to educate their staff in english. I don't expect them to be fluent, but have to be able to speak more than "room nr." and "thank you".
All in all, Duta has quite some space to improove.

Room Tip: sure not economy. also standard are not the same. you should check out your room before move in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We loved Duta guesthouse: the atmosphere, the rooms, the pool, the grounds, the maze-like structure, the breakfast, staff and afternoon tea and the location. Most rooms are very well thought-through with lots of space for all your stuff and even a closet you can lock in some rooms (we stayed in two different rooms). Wifi varies throughout the hotel. The pool is very pretty and re relaxing and the free afternoon tea is a very nice touch. There is even an (antique, but hey!) gym for guests to use. Cleaning is generally good, though they do sometimes miss a few spots, but nothing major. Laundry is very expendive compared to the laundry service across the street!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had a superior room - AC, hot water, large and clean room, comfortable bed, nicely outfitted and clean bathroom. The typical threadbare towels that you get in most Indonesian budget hotels, but that means they dry quickly. The pool is small but very pleasant. Good breakfast - eggs any style, pancakes, fruit, toast, juice (including guava juice that most people seemed to ignore, maybe because of its pink color, but which is actually delicious), tea/coffee, and a rotating menu of Indonesian food - one day just fried rice and fried noodles, another day soto ayam, and another day very tasty gudeg. The only downside was the loud morning call to prayer at 4:30 and again at 5:30, but it's hard to find a hotel that won't have that problem.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms seem to be smaller and older - I was on the upper floor, and it was quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Located in touristy Pramirotawan street, Duta is nice and convenient for budget-travellers. Room with fan and shared bathroom is cheap, but no luxury. However, breakfeast bufeet is varied and very good, pleasing those who want indonesian-style breakfast or western breakfeast. The staff is extremely helpful, and will arrange everything for you. Tip: Avoid the expensive (in Indonesian terms) restaurants in Pramirotawan, and walk left from the main entrance to the bustling Jl. Parangtrititis. Local restaurants and Masakan Padangs offer tasty local food which is ten times cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.4 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#38 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#28 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#60 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bedhot Homestay
Bedhot Homestay
#1 of 1 in Bantul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
#109 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.1 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#41 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Guest House

Property: Duta Guest House
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman No 26, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duta Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Duta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duta Guest House Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing