We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice, clean and quiet hotel right in the middle of Yogya.”
Review of Peti Mas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peti Mas Hotel
Ranked #125 of 205 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Spacious room (500K=40€), clean beds, bathroom OK. Nice pool in a very well tended garden. Right in the middle of town, 100m from Malioboro. 10 min walk to the kraton. Staff friendly and helpfull, speak english. An oasis of quiet to come back to after visiting Borobudur, Prambanan, the museum of independence or the Kraton. There's a complimentary snack with tea or coffee around four. Only noise is the mosque around five in the morning and the plains coming in to Yogya airport over the city, but that probably goes for any hotel in the centre of town. Your choice for breakfast is registered in the afternoon.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank HMJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Peti Mas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Clean crisp white sheets(They use laundary service). Mattress on the firm side. One fluffy looking pillow. A/C cools room well. Pick rooms around garden if want peace/quiet since poolside can be noisy with swimmers even early in the morning.Hot water adequate. Shower head low so one has to squat a little. Mothball over open drain in floor to cover up odor.Staff will come to ask you to order breakfast night before from set menu. Pick rice dish if big eater. Morning call to prayer around 430am to 5am which is ok since has to get up early for bus to temple sites. Hot water in thermos daily. Hot tea/snack in afternoon when return from site seeing.
Staff speaks minimal English but able to tell us where to catch the bus to Prambahan, travel agency, money exchange and call taxi for airport.
Location very good. Grocery store in lower level of Malioboro Mall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

From reading other reviews, we were a bit worried. But actually everything was fine. The staff are wonderful, from bringing a pen to our room after my husband left it on a table, to bringing us afternoon tea to the room, when we returned a bit late one afternoon. Even the early morning call to prayer was not a big problem. Easy to fall back to sleep. The room is nothing to get excited about, but the location is great & the garden delightful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singinginsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have been sleep in this hotel more than 5 times. It's nice and clean hotel in the heart of Jogjakarta City, only 2 minutes walk to Malioboro Street.

Price is ok, arouns 388k IDR for deluxe with AC. Breakfast will be asked at first time u check in.

U will get welcome drink (coffe or tea) and snack.

Rooms are not small, around 25 m2, compare to others hotel's room, Peti Mas are better.

Room Tip: choose a room front of garden, beside front office.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorDragono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

green hotel and nice swimmingpool for kids..and hotel very hommy and not too expensive..i

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJEMoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Price: 43 $US/night For the price, it is a good address. The rooms are around a nice garden and pool, the location near Malioboro street is great and you have Internet WiFi for free but the pros stop there. The room, even if we could feel it was restore, was basic. Big bed and comfortable but the walls are white, no decoration, no atmosphere. The bathroom is basic too. No isolation so you can hear very well the calls to pray and the planes. We already travelled in many muslim countries and it never bother us but here, we felt as if we were in the mosque. The breakfast was awfull, we had to choose what to eat the day before and they serve you the food almost cold. We were supposed to stay there 8 days, we moved after 2 nights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

There are some good points made in previous reviews. Planes going into the airport fly straight across the middle of the city so you can't avoid them - and without them you wouldn't get here! Fortunately there aren't too many. There is a mosque loudspeaker pointing down into the open centre (swimming pool / restaurant) of the hotel, but fortunately the aural assault is short and sharp - it will almost certainly wake you up at 5am but you should be able to go straight back to sleep. But during Ramadan (Aug 2011) when full decibel "prayers" go on for hour after hour staying here must be intolerable. The newer rooms are across the back of the hotel. Its a traditional Indonesian hotel - in my room there was an AC but no telephone, kettle or fridge/mini bar and the TV had terrestrial channels only. The room was in reasonable condition and the bathroom was ok. The staff, and there are plenty of them, seemed typical for Indonesia, a few were friendly, the rest did their job. But breakfast was particularly poor - as mentioned elsewhere you will be asked to choose it the night before. No problem with that, but it comprised one tasteless egg (no seasoning - there was no salt or pepper on the restaurant tables either), 3 slices of toast, poor quality jam and a glass of reconstituted orange juice. No fruit, in this country where fruit is so abundant! If you need to work make sure your room has a table and chair - the older room by the pool which I saw did not. The hotel has wifi but I didn't try it.

So what are the good things about this hotel? Location - just 2 minutes walk and you're in the middle of Jl Malioboro. Also you can walk up to Jl Sosrowijayan in 5 minutes if you want to find some western style food, travel agents and more hotels and guest houses. The pool / restaurant area at Peti Mas is delightful, particularly at breakfast time when the birds are singing, a tranquil haven most of the day, as long as there aren't too many other guests around, which there weren't. The staff put a lot of work into manicuring the garden and the plants. You can get free tea and coffee at the restaurant pretty much on demand. They have a big fridge (courtesy of an intl soft drink company) but I couldn't see any beer in it and not on the menu either. My guess is if you needed to keep something cold for a while, such as a bottle of beer, they would let you keep it in there. At the price (Rp 447,000 = $50) for a double room Peti Mas is not particularly good value - you're paying a lot for the location. If you're not bothered about being in the city centre and just want to relax in Yogya then there is better value elsewhere. On a general note avoid Yogyakarta altogether when there are public holidays - you'll struggle to find a room as Indonesian tourists flock here for the shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#51 of 205 in Yogyakarta
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
#57 of 205 in Yogyakarta
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#23 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#35 of 205 in Yogyakarta
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Quest Malioboro Hotel
Summer Quest Malioboro Hotel
#161 of 205 in Yogyakarta
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jentra Dagen
Hotel Jentra Dagen
#108 of 205 in Yogyakarta
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peti Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peti Mas Hotel

Address: Jl. Dagen no. 27, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 205 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £19 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Peti Mas Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 476
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peti Mas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing