We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ViaVia serve testy basic western food”
Review of ViaVia

ViaVia
Ranked #8 of 1,154 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Slovakia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“ViaVia serve testy basic western food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

ViaVia is very popular restaurant on Prawirotaman. I ate there few times. According to me, ViaVia serve testy basic western food like spaghetti, soups or burgers. For local dished I would recommend you to go somewhere else, or just visit typical Indonesian warungs, where you can find more kinds of dishes and cheaper. What I really like here is cleanness (comparing with Indonesian standard) and quite friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valburga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    623
    195
    53
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visit ViaVia on 15 Aug for dinner of recommendation of tour guide. Checedk Tripadvisor which showed above average rating so gave it a try. The place is simply designed and neat with live jazz band playing which helped the ambience. It was full when we arrived and waited 15 mins for a table. Staff were Ok but could smile more. The menu was a usual mix of pasta, burgers, sandwiches, salads and some local dishes. We ordered Chicken Maryland and ViaVia pasta with a large Bintang beer. The mains were, at best, passable - the chicken was alright (nothing to shout about) but the pasta was hard (not al dente but like re-heated leftover spaghetti) and the ragu sauce was too dry. The bottled beer was the only thing living up to expectation - at this point. Well, things didn't improve with the dessert. For dessert we ordered vanilla ice cream and a banana split. The latter was a awful. It was supposed to have a scoop of vanilla and a scoop of chocolate ice cream. The vanilla ice cream was smothered by melted chocolate ice cream (photo) and the staff just looked at me like "is there something wrong with your dessert?". Enough said.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Bk7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but painfully slow service.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The only restaurant we've gone back to whilst in Yogyakarta. ViaVia is a lovely place with a great if very tourist oriented atmosphere. On our experience the food is very good and reasonably priced however, as others have noted, the service is extremely slow. We went on a Friday evening and then a Monday lunchtime and in both cases the food was quite slow but so unfortunately were the drinks.
On the Friday we were lucky to get there at 6pm so got a table without booking, however they soon had more than seven people/groups waiting and were turning people away so I'd strongly recommend booking.

Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Un punto di riferimento”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We started our tour around Jogja with a dinner in this café and found out it's not only a gorgeous restaurant but also a very useful agency to support the organisation of your travelling and discovery the area, far from traditional touristic attraction only. The restaurant itself deserve the highest score: good and healthy food, jazz session, wonderful always smiling staff and good chance to meet other young travellers. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“slow service and disappointing Indonesian food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Maybe you can go there for western food, but the Indonesian food we ordered was really below average... Friendly but extremely slow service for example I ordered fish and only after 40 min they came back to say this was finished and I had to take another thing and wait even longer. I would not go there again...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ViaVia also viewed

 

Been to ViaVia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing