We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Hotel with a pleasant hospitality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Artha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puri Artha Hotel
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
jakarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel with a pleasant hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I love this hotel a lot, it still keeping the sense of culture and traditional and combined with the hospitality.

The foods are great, i love the "Bakmi Godod" was terrific.

It's recommended for a business trip hotel...Love it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoga1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri_Artha_Yogya, Front Office Manager at Puri Artha Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Mr.Yoga,

Thank you for taking the time to review and sharing your experience about Puri Artha Hotel Yogyakarta

It's a great pleasure to hear that you were happy stayed with us, We'll share your review to all entire staff as this is our quality record and really need to keep it up.

We wish to welcome you and your family back in nearest time

Best Regard,

Eko Candra Gunawan
( Front Office Manager )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    104
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
82
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Honestly: I don´t understand who is writing the reviews for this place. The place itself is nice, well run, with an armada of friendly staff and in the style which other reviewers before me described: beautiful and mostly quiet. But nobody seem to bother with the fact, that the rooms - and I mean nearly all of them - come as dark holes, which are far away from the pictures they posted online. And they seem to have a gift to make travelers from western cultures angry - I heared angry complaints about this and that every day (Internet instable, laundry ripp off, stinking bathrooms, not working toiletts and so on). Depending on the days you can get the rooms between reduced 25€ and original 75€. I complained about this situation and sended own pictures to Booking.com - which forced them now to take the (with a lot of additional light produced) bright pictures out of their advertisements. The "Balcony/Terasse" is a walkway without privacy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beatrix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri_Artha_Yogya, Front Office Manager at Puri Artha Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Ms.Beatrix H,

Thank you for taking the time to share and review Puri Artha Hotel Yogyakarta.

During your stay in Puri Artha Hotel Yogyakarta we have directly met you and discuss about this, And You were right.
Our management team has been doing some sustainable efforts to make sure our goal that make every guest happy when they are staying with us.
Once again thank you for your positive input to us

We wish to welcome you back in the nearest future with new quality of service and facilities


Eko Candra Gunawan
( Front Office Manager )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have just had an 8 night stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the furnishings were lovely and the style of hotel with rooms opening onto verandahs and garden was a real change to modern, enclosed, fully airconditioned hotels. My room had a split system a/c which worked very well, but which I chose not to use because the weather was cool and pleasant. It was nice to be able to open a window and hear the birds in the garden outside. My room (deluxe) was extremely spacious and well furnished with arm chairs, coffee table, desk & chair, bedside tables, wardrobe and shelves, and a comfy bed. Comments in other reviews about bathroom fittings being a little tired are true, but if you want everything to be new and shiny, then you need to be prepared to pay 4 & 5 star prices to pay for it. Water pressure was good and the water was hot. After an initial repair, the toilet flushed perfectly for the rest of the stay. I ate in the hotel dining room most evenings and found the food very well priced and very enjoyable. For those on a tighter budget, there are plenty of local shops in the same and surrounding streets. The laundry service was good with same day delivery as promised and everything laundered perfectly and without any damage. Again, for the budget traveller, there is a laundry just a few doors from the hotel if you want to take your laundry there. I thought the hotel was very good value. I felt sad to leave, and intend staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_lin294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stay for as a honeymooner last December 2012 in this hotel, stay at deluxe room. To our surprise they upgrade our room to Deluxe special room. This hotel is not a new one but all is well maintained. The room was so large and the staffs are very friendly. All the time we hear the Javanese music (they call it 'gamelan') in the public area of the hotel.

Only for the breakfast, they dont have many choices on Indonesian food, though it was served as a buffet. But for bread and salad bar, it should be fine for the breakfast. But, sure you will not mind it anymore when you hear the 'live gamelan' accompany your breakfast. It's really a beautiful sound and relaxing.

The most experience you will get in this hotel is the Javanese ambiance everywhere you are in the hotel. The staffs are very nice with Javanese politeness. Even they have a traditional umbrella hung behind our door :) This hotel is so fantastic, blend with Javanese traditional yet still provide you with a wide selection of TV channel and fast internet wifi.

Room Tip: Get the room on the 1st floor at the special deluxe room, near the garden and the swimming pools. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel provides very good value for the money. It has a nice swimming pool and restaurant. If you want old Javanese charm this is the place. The staff was courteous and helpful. It is located between the airport and sultan`s palace. You will have to take a taxi downtown or to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid road side rooms due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schackalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

It was ironic that after checking out and whilst waiting for my car, I thought I would write this review. But the Internet was down. Welcome to Indonesia, the country that has stolen my heart despite its frustrations with infrastructure.

The Puri Artha Hotel in Yogyakarta is actually very good value considering the price one pays. It also has some other very good points:

* The swimming pool is lovely. Clean, private and a nice place to relax after a busy day.
* The location. Perfectly situated in the student areas this hotel is ideal for people here studying Bahasa Indonesia or wanting to try some of the hundreds of great restaurants that offer lovely food at incredibly cheap prices.
* The staff. Typical for Indonesia, the staff at this hotel were excellent. Also very helpful.
* Gardens. The hotel offers lovely and well kept gardens set in a typical Javanese structure.

On the downside, new travellers to Indonesia may find this hotel a little tired, with toilets that sometimes smell and small things like old tubular TV's. Not a big issue but be aware of this.

The wifi is free and mostly it works well; unless you are wanting to write a review that is . :)

So mixed feelings about the overall assessment of this hotel, but I guess in the end the question is, would I ever stay here in the future. And my answer is, Yes.

So I guess that says it all?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or if possible a room that overlooks the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived after a whole day of Borobudur-Ullen Sentalu-Prambanan at 18.00, only to be told that they did not have our booking (was booked 3 days ago). It was left up to me to prove that I had a booking. I was given different instructions (such as send the email to us; no print it out; no fwd to us because printer does not work etc) When I fwded the email, the man at the desk did not address us for 8-10 mins, leaving us standing. Then he took the payment from me. When I asked him if I could first look at the room, he said no!
Our room was 'on the other side' of the busy street where the hotel stands. The swimming pool was on our side but the reception and restaurant on the other. People who stay here have to cross the road in their swimming trunks and towels to get to their rooms!
The internet did not work. i called them and they promised to send someone with the password (! why not just tell me!) but nobody came for the whole night and I got the password from my neighbour.
Rooms are dirty as hell.
When we asked for a car hire to see Merapi sulphur slopes, the man at the desk quoted 500000! Bearing in mind we had paid 600,000 for a whole day of Boro-Prambanan-Sentallu!
Staff was okay (except the receptionists). We avoided any more business with them, and used a local laundry and Thai resto for dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagarak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.4 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#31 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#36 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#28 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
#26 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#57 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#55 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Artha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Artha Hotel

Property: Puri Artha Hotel
Address: Jl. Cendrawasih 36, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Artha Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Puri Artha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing