We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad profesor”
Review of Losmen Setia Kawan

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Losmen Setia Kawan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Mad profesor”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here 2 months ago. Was one of my best stayes in Indonesia.
Breakfast is good, the personnel friendly and the price cheap.
The owner Bedhot is a nice fellow with a keen eye for pretty things and a good pool player.
To bad there was no bar. The upstairs terrace would be perfect for it!
Highly recommended and will stay here again and again.
Jelle

Room Tip: Get one with hot water. Well worth the extra pennies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
48
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malang, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We traveled with a group of friends we met on our trip to yogya where at the trainstation we where picked up bij Bedhot in his kubelwagen(thing). Our trip was gonna be from yogya to karimunyawa together with our guides who needed a vacation themselves..our backpacks where stored at setia kawan behind locked doors...Bedhot also decided to join us on the trip which was great fun...after four days we arrived bacck in yogya late at night in setia kawan where our room was ready to go in and sleep after the long trip..It was nice and clean and great service. The next day we relaxed a bit in the hotel where the staff was very good and friendly...if we had any question they would help you directly and even walk with you if you cant find the place you where looking for....The owner Bedhot is a painting artist a tattoo artist has his own resto nearby and is a great collector of vintage vespas and vw's...he is always around talking to guest and trying to make their stay as good and comfortable as can be...just like the rest of the staff...the whole hotel and rooms are all painted by freehand by Bedhot and u can realy sit there a whole day and see a new image in his art...there is also a gallery where he has paintings for sale and also some batic work which is done by a good friend. If you want to do some batic work yaself no problem teacher will be called and you can do the batic right there in the comfort of the hotel...all tours can be booked at setia kawan and all prices are reasonable. Because the lobby is nicely placed and ya feel at home its easy to make contact with other travelers which means tours can be booked with more people easier and it becomes cheaper...with to people u can allready book a private car with helpfull english speaking drivers who will really show you yogya and its surroundings....u can ask hem for nice local places to eat and stop anywhere if u see something u like or want to take a picture. I had the chance to really befriend Bedhot and we went with him every night to see a new special place where you would normaly not reach...we had great food and lots of fun. If any guest ahad a problem the whole staff would jump into action...i misplaced my pasport and the staff and even the guest all went into a searching frenzy...i felt imbaressed when i had to tell them they where in my otherbag where i never ever place them...roflol...the resto is a minute walk away nicely priced and real good food...and also all painted by Bedhot..you really feel at home at setia kawan and it really becomes your home...there is a nice terras on the rooftop where u feel away from the busy city and there is always free tea and coffee which you can take at anytime even in the middle of the night....there is also a nightshift at hand who will help you with any issue you might have at night and its a secure place....nobody enters or leaves without the staff knowing cause they are always there but not in your face.....they all are good at what they do and all can cook you great breakfast....and make delicious juices.....if you are looking for a great not expensive place to stay in yogya alone or with a group setia kawan is the place to be. I had contact with many travelers who didnt stay there and all was amazed how nice, friendly and homey the place was.....there is a fridge stacked with drinks which u write on ya room all in good trust...so if you go there please be honest so other travelers can enjoy the home feeling too....dont missuse the trust of the staff and write down ya bintang when u take one or two or three..maybe four lol...all in all i had a amazing time there and i would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a good clean friendly place. Its also super nearby the trainstaion for ya ongoing travels.....but i exually did not want to leave.....this is my second review which i wrote a week or two later due to the fact i was in places without wifi and forgot to confirm my first review...yeah i know not the smartest thing to do if you write a review lol....i hope other people will have the same experience at setia kawan as i had. I wanna thank the staff from the hotel and the resto again for all the great service and good times and special thanks to my friend Bedhot.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The place is beautiful in it's own artistic way. Everywhere you see gorgeous paintings on the walls just like in the rooms. Every room is different and has it's own character. The rooms are not that big, but big enough to do your thing! (and that's all you need because it's always nice to be in the sitting area in the ' lobby' or outside on the streets) The staff is very friendly and will provide you with western breakfast and excellent service. You can easily book a nice tour or workshop here for a modest price.
I had the opportunity to join the relaxt and very nice owner in one of his many classic VW-cars (old VW mini van) into town. I really had a great time spending my days here in Setia Kawan Losmen in Yogya!!

Room Tip: They only have 2 economic rooms with fan. the rest is AC, which are a little bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

When arriving in Yogyakarta we found ourselves a simple, but nice homestay in 'gang 2' Hotel Andrea. Leaving the train station, it was a five minute walk towards the small alley full of little homestays. After one night we moved 50 meters to Setia Kawan.
The place can be reached via Gang 2, through a little forest and then you end up in a colourful decorated homestay with a living room with couches and chairs as well as a computer room inside. They also have a roof terrace.

The breakfast in the morning is great. Banana pancake, fruit and tea, and included in the fee for the room. Though the decorations are creative and colourful, and the breakfast is great, the room itself I would not recommend. Small, narrow, a noisy A/C and a cold shower. The bed isn't really clean either.

Closeby you'll find some nice places to have dinner, and it is easy to walk to Malioboro street for the food market, the palace etc.
The price is mainly thanks to the decoration and the roof terrace fair, but do check your room carefully first!

Room Tip: Check the room carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Maybe im the first local tourist in this year. And im in love with this place. The room, the meal, the service, good enough. Altough the location is in the small alley, and far from the highway. But really homey and friendly. Highly recomended for backpackers.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Full of Bedhot's beautifull paintings, Setia Kawan is a calm, cosy and comfortable place to stay. Breakfast is included and I payed 140.000 for a two person room with fan. Computers with internet are availible and there is a book full tours to do around Jogja. I had an unforgettable time here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and really liked it. Our room was a little small but beautifully decorated. The staff were full of helpful info and very friendly, they did tell you about the tours they sell but they were not in the least bit pushy. It's in a great location and the breakfast was nice, with free tea and coffee all day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 204 in Yogyakarta
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bladok Losmen
Bladok Losmen
#10 of 487 in Yogyakarta
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
#4 of 245 in Yogyakarta
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andrea Hotel
Andrea Hotel
#19 of 487 in Yogyakarta
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Losmen Fadel
Losmen Fadel
#205 of 487 in Yogyakarta
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyrenees Jogja Hotel
Pyrenees Jogja Hotel
#55 of 487 in Yogyakarta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Losmen Setia Kawan

Property: Losmen Setia Kawan
Address: Jln. Sosrowijayan 58A | Jl. Sosrowijayan Wetan GT I/58A, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 245 Speciality Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokasi losmen setia kawan dari stasiun kereta tugu bisa ditempuh jalan kaki 5 menit, 100 meter jarak dari stasiun tugu. Dari bandara international adi sucipto sekitar 15 km. dan jarak ke jl. malioboro hanya 100 m. Letak ini sungguh strategis, dan akses transportasi mudah di dapat. Losmen terletak ditengah gang ( jalan kecil ) sehingga kondisinya tenang untuk istirahat. Kamarnya full artistic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Losmen Setia Kawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Setia Kawan Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing