We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Fresh Garden, Big Swimming Pool and Nice Staff ever Had”
Review of Grand Rosela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Rosela Hotel
Ranked #179 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Dki Jakarta, null, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Fresh Garden, Big Swimming Pool and Nice Staff ever Had”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

every time i went to jogja,
i always stayed in this hotel,
big hotel, cheap price with awesome rooms,
i already try all the rooms at this hotel,
started from standard until suite room...
everything was great, coz it was balance with the price..
but i recommended u for the moderate or deluxe room,
which is u don't need to go upstairs while u're sleepy, and it has the most nice view at this hotel.
and they had the cheapest rate for walkin' guest..
but don't forget to ask the staff while u're confusing with what u gonna do. they are very very nice person..
after all, it is the best hotel for u to choose.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ant_adityarakasiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    19
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
6
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Nice hotel in the central district. Nice room, good internet and average breakfast buffet. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but next door is Via Via, which has a wide variety menu at reasonable prices. Swimming pool for those interested.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,276 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Intrepid Tour through Java and Bali. I have to say, we found this to be an excellent hotel, really nice and well located.
It is on a nice, vibrant street with loads of nice bars and eateries, as nice a selection as any place we stayed in two montrhs on tour througfh S.E. Asia.
The hotel has a really nice pool but bizarrely, very few loungers which is a pity.#
The rooms are small and basic but very clean and the common areas and restaurant are pretty nice.
We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.
Overall, I would recommend the Rosella as a really good option for a stay in Yogyakarta, we had a great time in the city and really enjoyed this hotel.
By the way, there is a brilliant Pizzeria/Italian right across the road from the hotel entrance and right next door (go right as you exit) is one of the nicest restaurants of our whole trip, Via Via - brilliant food, great live music, fantastic atmosphere.
Great option - Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The reception was located at the front of the hotel, with the rooms spread out along either side of the outdoor pool. The room sizes seemed to differ quite a lot, and unfortunately our rectangular shaped room had very little space around the beds (our travel mates had much nicer rooms at the same price).

The bathroom was very old-fashioned, with old tiles and a shabby look. A knee high wall around the shower created a makeshift bathtub. The water was ice cold and dripping very slowly so we complained. They fixed the water speed but every time we wanted to shower, we still had to leave the shower running for about 10 minutes before hot water would come.
The room itself had barely any space to pray; there was a separate prayer room next to reception which had no air conditioning and was boiling hot. The pool was a reasonable size but was full of floating, dead insects. Our room was right next to the pool and it was very noisy from early in the morning. The room did not have adequate blinds or curtains so light flooded in at the crack of dawn.

A buffet breakfast was available in the hotel restaurant next to the pool. I asked for an omelette to be prepared, stating I had to leave in 15 minutes, and it took them 15 minutes to prepare this so I could not eat it. I would have appreciated it if they had at least forewarned me about the length of preparation time as I would not have ordered it then.

The hotel was well-located on a touristy street with lots of restaurants, shops, an internet cafe and a laundromat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool to avoid noise. The rooms at the very back of the hotel are huge b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

They give you a towel, your choice of orange/guava juice, and use of their pool and wi-fi for 20,000 IDR. We did this two afternoons while staying at a homestay without a pool nearby on Prawirotaman. Staff was friendly and it was quiet--we were the only ones there. Pool was deep and water was warm--recommend doing this after a hot morning visit at the temples.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel is fine! Basic rooms but the rooms are really clean. Very nice pool and garden to take a rest. The staff is very friendly and speak good English. The is situated in a very nice street with lots of nice bars en restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nienke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Just thought I'd add my voice to those of previous reviewers who have written in praise of the Grand Rosela's staff, especially those on reception. The hotel is basic, the rates are reasonable, the beds are comfortable, the hot water plentiful, the pool clean and big enough to swim in and the breakfast is varied enough to satisfy asian and western tastes but it is the helpfulness and reassuring presence of the folk who work there that set the hotel apart. The staff are never too busy to offer advice and, for us, went out of their way to research train and bus schedules. They never tried to give us a hard sell on trip or transport options even though their car and driver deal is far better than those available out in the street. Walk-in rates are quoted on a poster in the lobby so everything is upfront, which we love! If only more businesses in Indonesia would do the same!The Grand Rosela is also conveniently next door to the Yogya Via Via outpost and just down the road from the improbably excellent Ministry of Coffee. We have now found our home from home in Yogya and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose one level up from standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonandSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.2 mi away
Satya Graha Hotel
Satya Graha Hotel
#168 of 202 in Yogyakarta
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
#138 of 202 in Yogyakarta
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlangga Hotel
Airlangga Hotel
#162 of 202 in Yogyakarta
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#60 of 202 in Yogyakarta
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 202 in Yogyakarta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Rosela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rosela Hotel

Property: Grand Rosela Hotel
Address: Prawirotaman street 28, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Rosela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Rosela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing