We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous "1001 Malam"”
Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #29 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Marvellous "1001 Malam"”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

During March of 2010,I spent 12 highly satisfactory nights staying at the recently opened "Hotel 1001 Malam" in the backpacker quarter of Yogyakarta. However to call this Hotel a backpacker joint is to do it an injustice. Really it is much more of a very inexpensive "Boutique Hotel". With spacious A/C, TV, Ensuite, Double Rooms at about US$45 per night, it certainly is VERY good value. The staff are wonderfully helpful and enthusiastic and I cannot praise highly enough the terrific young Manager, Mr Mamad Abdullah - A really good chap. "Hotel 1001 Malam" is very quietly situated down a tidy alleyway and there are several very good small restaurants only a stones throw away, in the same Alley.

I passed through Jogyakarta for 3 nights in early October 2012 and I very much enjoyed a return trip to "Hotel 1001 Malam" - A GREAT place to stay for not much money. Try it and you will NOT regret it.
Andrew Bruce
London

Room Tip: There are perfectly good rooms facing into the internal courtyard on the Ground Floor. Personally I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    242
    70
    18
    3
See reviews for
63
218
102
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights which was longer than planned partly due to the many attractions of Yogyakarta but also because we liked the hotel.
The staff are friendly & helpful, the verandahs outside the rooms & open air balcony area all provide space to sit outdoors & the location is great. There is a constant supply of tea & coffee & breakfast is a choice of pancake, nasi goreng, sandwich or fruit.
The hotel is close to the station & a local mosque . Train announcements & calls to prayer start very early. Whilst this is all part of the local flavour, if you're a light sleeper you should bring ear plugs to avoid being awoken by this.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed at the Hotel 1001 Malam last week in Yogyakarta. The location is very convenient, and the banana pancake for breakfast was decent. They also organize tours to the surrounding temples, and we liked our (female) driver a lot. However, I was shocked at the low level of cleanliness of the rooms. The shower was combined with the toilet, which in of itself isn't a problem, but the corners of the shower were really grimy from never being properly cleaned. The bedroom had a pile of hairs and dust in the corner, and the towels smelled moldy.
The area is convenient for touring around Yogyakarta, but the hotel is totally overpriced for what you get. I'm really puzzled at all of the positive reviews I found -- the tripadvisor reviews are what inspired me to book the hotel, and we were really shocked at what we found when we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EindhovenOptique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The location is great, the rooms nicely decorated, the stuff friendly and competent. I have come here for years and it has always been a great experience.
The hotel is located in the heart of Yogyakarta - Malioboro! It has a lovely garden and a nice terasse to hang out at in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It is probably the hotel with the hotel with the highest standards in the area, being recently renovated. You can feel the attention to detail of the manager everywhere, and the staff continuous attention and dedication makes you feel in family. It is placed on the best location and brings the extra relax of an internal private garden.. and the breakfast is just delicious!

Room Tip: They can arrange you a car to cover different tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaSecades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

In the main center of Yogyakarta I found Hotel 1001 Malam. Best option if you like to go walking everywhere: the market, the restaurants, the shops, bars, stations ... everything can be done by walking. The night life around the hotel it is also excelent, but the noise will not disturb you as the hotel it is in a small entrance of a road where only going by walk it is allow.

The hotel it is perfectly design, beautiful rooms with nice decoration, all facilities and beautiful garden to drink a coffe by reading the news papper. One terrace upstairs will be great to have a beer after the long day.

The personal in the hotel is excelent, they were always ready to help, cheerful people that made my days easier, everytime I needed help to book a flight or to go somewhere they gave me a good solution.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights, which was more than planned, just because I liked it very much. The staff is excellent, the service and the rooms are great. You'll like oasis-like patio. Very centrally located, too. I'll definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlK557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 202 in Yogyakarta
857 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#40 of 202 in Yogyakarta
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#19 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#36 of 202 in Yogyakarta
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#21 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#33 of 202 in Yogyakarta
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Property: Hotel 1001 Malam
Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
artistic, new, ethnic, elegant, traditional hotel in the heart of malioboro area... each of our 16 rooms comes in a different painting that will take ur breath away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Zenrooms, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing