We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location”
Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #28 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Strategic location”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My first advice is don't expect too much of this hotel. This is not a luxury hotel and there's not even a tv in the room (!). I stayed there sometime in Apr 2013 and honestly I was satisfied with the room, service and the staffs. Like every other tourists, I chose to stay here for the good location and good reviews from people who have stayed here before...The price is not very cheap but reasonable and yeah breakfast is ok, no complaint on that. All in all, if you plan to spendnmost of your days wandering around Jogja and go back to hotel to get some sleep then this hotel will be one of teh best options :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazlynn_nasruddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    241
    69
    18
    3
See reviews for
63
217
101
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel 1001 Malam is located in a quiet lane where many other budget hotels/hostels can be found. But once past the doorway of 1001 Malam, it's like walking into a small cosy resort hotel. Even from the outside 1001 Malam stands out from its neighbors, and I must say that the owners of many of the restaurants and hotels/hostels in that lane have put in much thoughts and creativity to do up their places. The welcome and service from the staff is warm and cheerful, and one which I would gladly trade for those I am used to getting at the more up-scale establishments. Hartini and Hendry have been particularly helpful. There's easy access to shopping and food from the hotel. Visitors looking for "safer" cuisine can dine in the restaurants sharing the same lane as Malam. Those who want to eat where the locals eat could explore the stalls around Beringharjo Market or north of Tugu station. Many tour agencies can be found within a 3-minute walk from Malam..so exploring the sights around Jogja area is not a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaixdomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I'm basically know a lot about Jogjakarta and rest. So its my second hometown. We were on Business trip. I was thinking what could possibly happens if you know the place around, of course you need a comfort zone when you feel that place are still give you the magic feeling. Yap we found the 1001 Malam Hotel was a great location, in the heart of Jogjakarta city when you can walk around with ya bare feet and enjoy the charms surround Malioboro Street. Very helpful and friendly Staffs and the cheese omelet was bangin in the morning. Most important from all of it that you feel safe and no worries about loosing things that tourist are afraid of. Got really a great Driver from the Hotel best tour guide ever and knowing everywhere without needed to mention it, perfect combination. We miss your place already see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was here for the wedding near malioboro area. Usually i stay at star hotel, but at the time i choose hotel 1001 as recomended from my best friendbas he ever stay there, h3 ie turkeys and i belive his taste for the place to stay. At first i was wory because this hotel is small and in the alley (no car park) but at this time i dont need car as the wedding very close. Realy surprised me this hotel soo nice, simple and cozy. I knew the manager mr. Mamad when i stay here. I this he did welk for his job and all staff smile to fustomer ae the manwger have happy smile face. Bravo mr. Mamad

Room Tip: Choose up stair they have great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good location, clean rooms in a peaceful setting. Nice outdoor area with a good breakfast.
Rooms are small but certainly adequate. Not the cheapest place in town but a nice place to come home to after a busy day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2XKiwisTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The courtyard is a tranquil garden setting with a fish pond. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is courteous and accommodating. It is very close to Malioboro and restaurants. Every room has a table and 2 chairs outside of it, they bring your breakfast to your table each day. Mr. Tom picked us up from the airport, we also went on a sunrise tour to Borobudur with him. He is a wonderful asset to the hotel. I highly recommend 1001 Malam.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Until today i still at this hotel staying for a week.. it was gambling by choosing this hotel for my visit for my work.. i stayed at different hotel before, but second i am here gave me good impressed that why i wrote this review.. realy happy to be here all people are nice and friendly. Quick booking. In the city and close to importance spot and bars. Realy recomended to stay at 1001.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayhesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#57 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#18 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#38 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#32 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#20 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Property: Hotel 1001 Malam
Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
artistic, new, ethnic, elegant, traditional hotel in the heart of malioboro area... each of our 16 rooms comes in a different painting that will take ur breath away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing