We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great guesthouse in Yogyakarta. Excellent location near the train station with many good restaurants around. The staff and manager are very friendly and helpful and made me feel at home. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank dannygut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Cute little place in a great location, only 5 mins walk from the train station and Malioboro Street which comes alive in the evening with market stalls selling t-shirts and souvenirs, makeshift restaurants with mats and tables by the roadside and young guys playing music to the crowds of locals and tourists.

The courtyard gives the place a tropical feel and the artwork in our room was a nice touch.

Overall a great place to stay in Yogya.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The area is safe, there's a couple of nice restaurants and cafe's nearby. The staff is very friendly and if you want they will guide you arround the sultanstate by car. We did this and we had a very nice day. Things you must see in Yogya: Birdmarket, Sultanpalace, Fort Vredeburg, Malioboro market and batik arts. Make sure that if you go to the Batik Arts Expedition on Malioboro you go into a kind of tourist scam with way to high prices. The artwork is usual ok but try to get of 80% of the asking price. Better to go to the Batik school of Arts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JhMaarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I cannot imagine if I took right hotel when I knew this hotel located at small alley.. was surprised me this beautifull hotel give me good service. The alley is totally nice and safe. I am sure I will comeback to this golden alley. Bravo 1001

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lovely and peacefull place, if you want to visit jogja, you can stay there. Also not expensive :) i am sure i will be back to this hotel. Not far from fom train station and malioboro street. Bravo mamad for managing this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemaltr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just for 2 nights at 1001 Malam, by taxi from airport IDR 60 000,take about 25 minutes from airport to hotel.

Taxi drop just in front of the alley, need to walk about 3 minutes to arrive at 1001 Malam Hotel.It was so welcoming by the villagers along the alley(they are so friendly)before reaching hotel villager greet and smile giving instruction location of hotel.Notice that 1001 Malam situated at among the villagers houses, but no worry it was great experience staying here.

Along the alley it easy to find for breakfast,lunch or dinner, they are few restaurant that can be choose from Indonesia cuisine to western.Tours booth,money changer and laundry are available along the alley.

The location of hotel at Sosrowijayan area, you can walk safe no matter daytime or at night for dining.
Walk out side alley and to main road just about 5 minute is Malioboro street, where you can buy souvenirs especially cheap batik.Mall also just walking distance from hotel.

Arrive 8 April 2014 at 1001 Malam Hotel, greeted by 2 staff during check in and help me carry my luggage to room. I don't actually remember their name but manage to get it from their manager Mr.Mamad through email.They are Hendry and Tom. This guys were so friendly,helpful and gave me lot of info of tours and what to see,eat and do around Malioboro street.Too bad I only manage visit Borobudur sharing with a group student from Netherlands, during pick up at 4 am to sunrise borobudur tour the staff prepare us packed sandwich breakfast.

I stay at ground floor and room with big wall painting quite interesting. The room just simple and basic, I don't mind with basic amenities as long as I can sleep well and stay safe.The room with window;big,clean and enough for me-the bed were huge and comfortable.Room provide with tv(with rfew local channel) and safe box.The bathroom also clean and comfortable to use.But only problem is the room lights too dim for me :)

Transport to airport can be arrange at hotel counter for IDR 100 000 upon request.Just arrange it with the staff.

Overall it was very great experience staying here for my 1st time visit Yogyakarta.Definetely recommend 1001 Malam Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice hotel located in the best street of Yogyakarta, 2 min. walk from train station and 5 min from transyogya bus stop from de airport. The rooms are very well decorated and the extra king size bed is amazing. Very nice staff and very helpful manager. Thank you very much for your hospitality :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micaelrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#53 of 212 in Yogyakarta
118 reviews
2 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#55 of 212 in Yogyakarta
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#29 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,015 reviews
1.8 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#60 of 212 in Yogyakarta
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#27 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £16 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistic, New, Ethnic, Elegant, Traditional Hotel In The Heart Of Malioboro Area... Each Of Our 16 Rooms Comes In A Different Painting That Will Take Ur Breath Away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Zenrooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing