We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Javanese Heritage mirroring the Royal Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of nDalem Gamelan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
nDalem Gamelan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 457 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Javanese Heritage mirroring the Royal Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was recommended to stay here by an Indonesian tripadvisor forum expert. I was arriving in a car with my guide and driver and Ibu greeted me warmly. She was surprised that I was in full javanese costume. I explained that we were at Imogiri visiting the grave of Sultan Agung. She seated me in the main living room for the ultimate photo moment. It was indeed like living in the Kraton with beautiful decorations, floor tiles and antiques that mirrored the royal palace.
My room is very comfortable with A/C and a nice mirror and dresser table. The mundi is clean and easy going.
Breakfast was great with toast and egg and soursop or gauva juice. The location is superb, as it is of walking distance to my favourite shop Tjokrosuharto art and craft and antiques. Close by, my guide and driver and I had dinner at Bale Raos in the Kraton.
I showed Ibu a painting of myself in the room in front of the javanese mirror that I painted based on photos of the hotel before the trip. She immediately noticed the same tile floor in the painting and the place we are standing on. I gave her a copy of the painting and she was very happy. It is a very nice place to stay in and Ibu and Pak were most helpful in everyway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but suited different needs. I stayed in the one with 1 big bed, 2nd roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mucuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful stay close to the Kraton in Yogya. Maria is really helpful if you need any assistance for booking a trip, getting a taxi or just need information about the area. We booked only for one night before leaving to Bali in the evening but she let us use the the bathroom and the shower again after we came back from our trip to Prambanan before leaving to the airport. Breakfast is also nice in the garden.

Really nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozelot33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizingen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very nice homestay in Yogyakarta. Especially the staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Plus:
- Nice and clean rooms with airco
- Maria speaks excellent English and helps you with the planning and booking of trips and tours
- The best tea and coffee whenever you like
- They can make lunch and/or dinner for you if you ask for it

Negative:
- No muskito nets
- Maybe a little bit more expensive than other stays in the same category
- Not located in the backpackers district, so few good restaurants in the proximity (though with a becak, you can reach anything you want in a few minutes).

Global
We would surely recommend this stay. The staff was one of the nicest we met in whole our trip in Indonesia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maarten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great staff. Very nice, very accomodating. Really make u feel at home. I'll be back.
By the way...no swimming pool ( could not delete the setting ). The hotel is very small and located in the boundaries of the Keraton of Yogya. The Keraton is the home of the Sultan.

Room Tip: Any room. Only 3 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, the manager Maria is super nice and friendly. The hotel is small only has 3 rooms but offers wonderful service and beautiful interior, we loved to sit in the lobby area in the afternoon and enjoy our time. The staff would come and ask you if you need any coffee or tea. It's home, it's a very comfortable house and I really wanna call it my home.

The staffs are very polite and helpful, Maria is very nice and she knows places to go in Jogja and she also offers you some tips when traveling in Jogja, I'm very glad my trip to Jogja was very wonderful and memorable.

I will come back again if I'm in Jogja. You won't ever find place like Ndalem Gamelan!

Love it!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cuxtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I love this place! So homey and friendly, it feels like I'm staying in a relative's house and it's sad for me to leave.

This hotel is located inside the keraton's compound, so everything in the keraton/palace is within walking distance. The building and decor looks like antique Javanese house, but there's nothing spooky about it. There is a big TV and karaoke set in the dining room, and an antique horse carriage in front that can be rented by the guest. No swimming pool and gym though.

There are only 3 rooms, 2 rooms in the main building and 1 room at the back. The pavilion room at the back is the largest and can accommodate 4 persons. The hotel was full so Maria put me at the pavilion room with no extra charge.

The room is nice, clean and comfortable. TV is put on the porch instead of inside the room, but it's not a problem for me because the TV only shows local TV stations which is not too interesting anyway. They also have free wifi across the hotel. Bathroom is clean although the shower is not too strong.

Breakfast is a la carte, they will ask you to choose the breakfast the night before. The portion is big enough for me and the taste is quite good. You can choose between local food such as gudeg and soto or western food such as bread, toast, and egg. You will also get a fresh fruit juice.

One thing that makes this hotel different is the top notch hospitality. Maria and Ibu Ibnu are very nice and friendly and they always try to ensure that I have a comfortable stay. They serve from the heart. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to stay in a regular hotel rooms. This is Yogya's hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank radjaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ndalem G, Manager at nDalem Gamelan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you very much for staying at our Javanese heritage house.
Look forward to welcoming you here again.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I love everything about this place! It has a really authentic Javanese ambience (both house and interiors) and very very homey. The staff are nice and helpful too. This place is located strategically near almost all the famous sites in town such as Malioboro shopping area, Sultan Palace, Taman Sari (old spa for the royal family) and even the most famous Gudeg (Jogja's traditional food) restaurants there and all of them are in walking distance. All in all, I'll definitely go back there again next time =)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank decekawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#13 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#22 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#9 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#32 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nDalem Gamelan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nDalem Gamelan Hotel

Property: nDalem Gamelan Hotel
Address: Jl. Gamelan | Kelurahan Panembahan, Kecamatan Kraton, Yogyakarta 55131, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — nDalem Gamelan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your nDalem Gamelan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing