We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
nDalem Gamelan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 479 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Groningen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, sometimes not very good English but always smiling. The house is really beautiful and rooms are luxurious for Indonesian standard. Would definitely go here again. It's situated in the relatively quiet area of Kraton. Supermarket and laundry are close by. They prepare lunch or dinner for you when needed or even get up early if you want to take an early tour to the temples in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SlimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at nDalem Gamelan Hotel in May 2013. Our friends who are living in Jakarta - and who have stayed a couple of times in this guest house as well - recommended this place to us for several reasons. And they were absolutely right! First of all: nDalem Gamelan is a small, clean and beautiful decorated accommodation where you can chill and recover from Yogyakarta, a city which can be a little bit overwhelming. Although this hotel is located in the city centre it's quiet and peaceful.

The staff made our stay perfect, especially hostess Maria. She has arranged everything we needed: a pick up from the airport, a taxi, excursion to the Borobudur, a good restaurant... She answered all of our questions and helped us wherever possible. We never met a hostess who walked so many extra miles for here guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place had come recommended in TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed.Rooms were clean, common areas had interesting, traditional Javanese decor.This place is not exactly located in the tourist hubs of Jogja, so a little short of restaurants but you can find transport easily. Plus, the Kraton is walking distance.The hosts do not stay at the homestay but the staff running the homestay are wonderful people. Ibu (if I remember her name correctly) cooked wonderful breakfast for us - we had western food on two days, and Indonesian on the other. Maria was of great help in helping us getting tickets for the Ramayana show at Prmbanan, and bus tickets for the onward trip to Mt. Bromo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BasudevBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This charming home stay / hotel has it all ...... superb decor from java's colonial past in a tranquil and beautiful setting , friendly and attentive staff , wonderful breakfast served on the patio . the 3 rooms are clean and very well equipped with satellite tv , effective air/con , and a powerful hot water system , the beds are very comfortable and the bed linen is changed every second day. The location is another highlight , minutes from the kraton , jalan moliboro , water palace and many fine restaurants and warung . excellent value for money and would not hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was recommended to stay here by an Indonesian tripadvisor forum expert. I was arriving in a car with my guide and driver and Ibu greeted me warmly. She was surprised that I was in full javanese costume. I explained that we were at Imogiri visiting the grave of Sultan Agung. She seated me in the main living room for the ultimate photo moment. It was indeed like living in the Kraton with beautiful decorations, floor tiles and antiques that mirrored the royal palace.
My room is very comfortable with A/C and a nice mirror and dresser table. The mundi is clean and easy going.
Breakfast was great with toast and egg and soursop or gauva juice. The location is superb, as it is of walking distance to my favourite shop Tjokrosuharto art and craft and antiques. Close by, my guide and driver and I had dinner at Bale Raos in the Kraton.
I showed Ibu a painting of myself in the room in front of the javanese mirror that I painted based on photos of the hotel before the trip. She immediately noticed the same tile floor in the painting and the place we are standing on. I gave her a copy of the painting and she was very happy. It is a very nice place to stay in and Ibu and Pak were most helpful in everyway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but suited different needs. I stayed in the one with 1 big bed, 2nd roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mucuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful stay close to the Kraton in Yogya. Maria is really helpful if you need any assistance for booking a trip, getting a taxi or just need information about the area. We booked only for one night before leaving to Bali in the evening but she let us use the the bathroom and the shower again after we came back from our trip to Prambanan before leaving to the airport. Breakfast is also nice in the garden.

Really nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozelot33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizingen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very nice homestay in Yogyakarta. Especially the staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Plus:
- Nice and clean rooms with airco
- Maria speaks excellent English and helps you with the planning and booking of trips and tours
- The best tea and coffee whenever you like
- They can make lunch and/or dinner for you if you ask for it

Negative:
- No muskito nets
- Maybe a little bit more expensive than other stays in the same category
- Not located in the backpackers district, so few good restaurants in the proximity (though with a becak, you can reach anything you want in a few minutes).

Global
We would surely recommend this stay. The staff was one of the nicest we met in whole our trip in Indonesia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maarten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#35 of 202 in Yogyakarta
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ndalem Mantrigawen
Ndalem Mantrigawen
#51 of 479 in Yogyakarta
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tegal Panggung Guest House
Tegal Panggung Guest House
#27 of 479 in Yogyakarta
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pondok Ijo Guest House
Pondok Ijo Guest House
#5 of 479 in Yogyakarta
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yogyakarta BnB
Yogyakarta BnB
#18 of 479 in Yogyakarta
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#2 of 479 in Yogyakarta
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nDalem Gamelan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nDalem Gamelan Hotel

Property: nDalem Gamelan Hotel
Address: Jl. Gamelan | Kelurahan Panembahan, Kecamatan Kraton, Yogyakarta 55131, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — nDalem Gamelan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your nDalem Gamelan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing