We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but overpriced hotel”
Review of Eclipse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eclipse Hotel
Ranked #15 of 503 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Eclipse provides a modern, urban up-market alternative to the homestays and guest houses in the Prawirotaman tourist area of Yogyakarta. It has everything you would expect from a good 3 or 4 star hotel in Jakarta or Surabaya including large and very comfortable rooms,an excellent pool, good breakfast and extremely obliging staff. The only problem is that at Idr 600,000, that is even higher than Jakarta prices. Like many hotels in Indonesia the WiFi in rooms is in theory only, the signal was too weak to be functional. The WiFi in the lobby also only worked intermittently. Even with functioning Wifi Eclipse is a Idr 400.000 hotel chraging Idr400.000.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Eclipse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Love the swimming pool. And location is quiet. Best if able to get rooms that is not facing the road.

Sitting area in verandah is too hot and noisy as that is also where the aircon compressor is located.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Carerot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very friendly and clean hotel. Location is good, quite a few tourist bars and restos nearby and short walk to main drag with loads of local places to eat. Pool looked nice but because of heavy rain we never used it. Room was very large, with a comfy bed. Shower bad very low water pressure but was otherwise fine. The breakfast was pretty limited but that wouldn't stop me from coming back here. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Poolside is nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia_Rosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and was impressed by how comfortable and quaint it was. The staff was incredibly polite and warm, eager to assist me with whatever I needed, be it a taxi, a morning excursion, or a last minute flight. Breakfast was sweet, and attentively serviced, with an omelette bar and new options everyday. Should you choose to go out, the hotel itself is located on a street lined with little bars and cafes - including the fabulous Via Via. Oh, and there's a lovely pool in the center, which makes you feel miles away from the rest of the street.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside, away from the street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Clean, modern, comfortable hotel. We had a poolside room, which was very nice with a super comfortable bed and a decent shower and bathroom. Airconditioning seemed to be either freezing or not working but I found a mid-way point eventually. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast good and varied. Nice clean pool. Location convenient and very close to shops, restaurants etc. Having said that, I don't know if I would stay in this area of Yogyakarta again. Next time I'll stay closer to Malioboro where it is a bit more lively.

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room - they have a lovely large terrace and you can walk straight out and have a s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurapep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we stayed on first floor which is good since the hotel doesn't have lift, suggest that if you travel with kids or people that have difficulty with stair advance request should be made.
The location is quite good, a few good restaurants on a very short walk distance.

you can ask the hotel to pack breakfast for you if you leaving very early (we left at 4.00am and our breakfast box were ready at the front desk)
also the hotel can call taxi to airport for you for 70000 Rupiah

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank proudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

ALthough very small and fitted in a city lot, it was sufficient comfortable, with a nice pool, comfortable rooms with a nice bed. The personnel were fairly well trained and breakfast was very good. Conveniently located.

Room Tip: I would recommend a poolside room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islanddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#57 of 206 in Yogyakarta
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#22 of 206 in Yogyakarta
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#28 of 206 in Yogyakarta
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 503 in Yogyakarta
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Hotel

Address: Jalan Prawirotman 35, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £18 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eclipse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclipse hotel is the best independent hotel. With great and excellent service offered. Our staff are very professional. Staying at eclipse is new experience follow us @eclipsehotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing