We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good yogja base”
Review of Eclipse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eclipse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 505 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here 4 nights on arrival in Java. Staff reasonably friendly, hotel clean, room very spacious, good location on street with nice restaurants nearby. Pool is great, nice and refreshing after the heat! It's quite noisy from the nearby mosque (obviously not their fault!) so pack your earplugs! The hotel is very well decorated with beautiful wooden furniture.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Eclipse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. The staff were really friendly and helpful. breakfast was nice, with particularly good eggs. Definitely recommended. A calm haven after busy streets outside. Nice pool too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel in Yogja. The hotel is nice and very personal, as it only has about 15 rooms. The staff was always very friendly, they gave us suggestions on what to do and where to go and always made sure we'd get a taxi (which is not that easy in this part of the town).

The room was big and clean, the bed very comfy. All in all the hotel felt very cozy and quiet (expect for the time of the prayer calls, but you'll have that in every other hotel in yogja as well).

The breakfast was OK, the selection good for western food and a bit limited on the Indonesian side, but you wouldn't expect a bigger buffet in such a small hotel.

The only negative aspect was at check in - we booked through an online booking site and were told on arrival, that as we didn't state otherwise, we'd get a twin room instead of a double. They would have had a double for one night but then we would have to move again for the second night. We chose to upgrade to the premium room then (which was only 125k IDR more per night, so not very much),

All in all we would come again, especially because of the nice bars and shops along Jalan Prawirotaman.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room with direct pool access
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmilitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

clean, spacious (if a little dark) rooms, nice small pool + very helpful personnel - prepared packed breakfast when i had to leave early, etc.. as one traveler already noted - no safe boxes, something I would expect in this price range

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When you look for a comfort, clean, good location, feels like home hotel and reasonable price, Eclipse hotel accomodate all those requirements. The room is spacious enough for a family with kids. The restaurant is small but offer a nice ambience while you enjoy your breakfast facing the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieAugustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Okish - agree with previous comments. You can find the same or even better for cheaper prices in this part of the world for this level of comfort. The hotel could do with a little bit of redecoration (repainting/toilet linen change). It would be great to have safe boxes in the room as well as list of potential services available with prices ( car /driver renting, massage and so on...) and indeed the wifi does not work well! This could easily be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Eclipse provides a modern, urban up-market alternative to the homestays and guest houses in the Prawirotaman tourist area of Yogyakarta. It has everything you would expect from a good 3 or 4 star hotel in Jakarta or Surabaya including large and very comfortable rooms,an excellent pool, good breakfast and extremely obliging staff. The only problem is that at Idr 600,000, that is even higher than Jakarta prices. Like many hotels in Indonesia the WiFi in rooms is in theory only, the signal was too weak to be functional. The WiFi in the lobby also only worked intermittently. Even with functioning Wifi Eclipse is a Idr 400.000 hotel chraging Idr400.000.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 205 in Yogyakarta
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 205 in Yogyakarta
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 205 in Yogyakarta
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#22 of 205 in Yogyakarta
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#28 of 205 in Yogyakarta
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 505 in Yogyakarta
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Hotel

Address: Jalan Prawirotman 35, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 505 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £18 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eclipse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclipse hotel is the best independent hotel. With great and excellent service offered. Our staff are very professional. Staying at eclipse is new experience follow us @eclipsehotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing