We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel”
Review of Eclipse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eclipse Hotel
Ranked #15 of 524 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The attentive staff who will go out of their way to make sure you're taken care of; the beautiful facility; the excellent food; the incredibly reasonable prices: Eclipse is a hidden gem! Definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbjmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a nice pool next to the restaurant. We found the receptionist friendly and helpful. She was very attentive and helped us to arrange for transport for a tour around the city to see the Kraton, Tamansari and Malioboro, and to the airport. There are many restaurants on the same street and some small shops, as well as batik shops a short walk away, after the cross junction.

My only complaint is that the air conditioning units are located along the corridor which made it hot to walk through to reach the room. The spiral metal staircase leading to the pool also seemed a little rickety. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here 4 nights on arrival in Java. Staff reasonably friendly, hotel clean, room very spacious, good location on street with nice restaurants nearby. Pool is great, nice and refreshing after the heat! It's quite noisy from the nearby mosque (obviously not their fault!) so pack your earplugs! The hotel is very well decorated with beautiful wooden furniture.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. The staff were really friendly and helpful. breakfast was nice, with particularly good eggs. Definitely recommended. A calm haven after busy streets outside. Nice pool too.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel in Yogja. The hotel is nice and very personal, as it only has about 15 rooms. The staff was always very friendly, they gave us suggestions on what to do and where to go and always made sure we'd get a taxi (which is not that easy in this part of the town).

The room was big and clean, the bed very comfy. All in all the hotel felt very cozy and quiet (expect for the time of the prayer calls, but you'll have that in every other hotel in yogja as well).

The breakfast was OK, the selection good for western food and a bit limited on the Indonesian side, but you wouldn't expect a bigger buffet in such a small hotel.

The only negative aspect was at check in - we booked through an online booking site and were told on arrival, that as we didn't state otherwise, we'd get a twin room instead of a double. They would have had a double for one night but then we would have to move again for the second night. We chose to upgrade to the premium room then (which was only 125k IDR more per night, so not very much),

All in all we would come again, especially because of the nice bars and shops along Jalan Prawirotaman.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room with direct pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmilitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

clean, spacious (if a little dark) rooms, nice small pool + very helpful personnel - prepared packed breakfast when i had to leave early, etc.. as one traveler already noted - no safe boxes, something I would expect in this price range

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When you look for a comfort, clean, good location, feels like home hotel and reasonable price, Eclipse hotel accomodate all those requirements. The room is spacious enough for a family with kids. The restaurant is small but offer a nice ambience while you enjoy your breakfast facing the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieAugustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#62 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 212 in Yogyakarta
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#12 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Hotel

Address: Jalan Prawirotman 35, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £19 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eclipse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclipse hotel is the best independent hotel. With great and excellent service offered. Our staff are very professional. Staying at eclipse is new experience follow us @eclipsehotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing