We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jentra Dagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jentra Dagen
Ranked #105 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

prime location, reasonable price, excellent wifi...
so very djokdja...
most recommended...
enjoy malioboro night after visiting many places of interest in and around this heritage sultanate of Yogyakarta...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanangSinDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    60
    49
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
29
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Pros: The location is excellent. Within 5 minutes, you are in Malioboro road. You also take an alley to Sosrowijyan road for some great restaurants. Some of the staff are quite friendly and even lent us an umbrella when it was raining. The breakfast buffet is okay. They seem to have fixed the problem with the leaking bathrooms that some reviewers here have complained about.

Cons: The bathroom water takes a very long time to get warm. While they change bedsheets and maybe clean the floors, there's uncleaned dust on the sides and on some of the tables. We found it odd that there's no sofa in the bathroom and the only soap is liquid soap (most other hotels normally have cakes of soap instead). Also, there are ants in the bathroom. When we asked to rent a driver, the hotel was unable to help (very odd as most hotels should have this service). The rooms are not soundproof so it is probably better you get rooms that are not facing the street.

Overall, it's a decent place if you're looking for a good location at budget prices.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

First of all, the hotel itself physically is as good and as clean as you'll find in most upper scale Bali locations...but this place severely needs some door replacement on ALL of the rooms. If not for the issues I'll outline below, it could be a solid 3 1/2 stars as far as Indonesian hotels go...

For someone who is a rather light sleeper, moderately loud sporadic noises can keep me up all night. This hotel's doors are practically non-existent when it comes to noise buffering, and I don't know who the design genius was who decided to put bright lights directly outside of every room that stay on 24/7, but it is a horrible choice.

I'll start with the doors. The doors are so thin that you might as well just put a dark blanket in the doorway, and it doesn't help that the hallways echo everything. You'll hear every footstep, cough and fart from all the way across the hotel; no joke. It's substantially worse on the 1st floor because you will hear everything in the lobby and eating areas as well. It was so bad for us, we had to upgrade to the 3rd floor deluxe room just to escape the incessant noise. The 3rd floor still carries the hallway noise, talking, and door shutting, etc. but avoids the lobby/dining area excess noise. At least we could sleep there, but anytime someone decided to have a conversation in the hallway or enter/exit a room, or whatever, it sounded like it was always right next door.

And the bright lights outside the windows isn't an exaggeration either. All 4 of the rooms we were in had a light outside of the window, shining brightly enough that the room was still illuminated even with both sets of curtains shut. With the noises, the light doesn't help at all either.

All in all, it's not horrible, and I really don't have any other Jogja hotels to compare it to since we've only been to here once only to visit Borobudur, but compared to other Indo hotels, it's a little below average because of the annoyances.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are much quieter, and give you a little more room plus a fridge. Don't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yogyakarta hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very friendly staff who speak reasonably well English. Location is just 5 minutes walking from the Malioboro. The street of the hotel itself is very nice as well with plenty of becak drivers waiting there, laundry service and car/scooter rental. Rooms are very clean and modern and breakfast is good as well.

No wifi in the rooms but only in the lobby. Not a big deal for myself but if this is important for others be aware of it. Breakfast is good but European breakfast is simple.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworld8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here for a few nights after staying in a string of dirty home stays for the previous week. I was happy to find that this place was spotless, and was a good base to explore Yogyakarta. Pros: quiet room, great view, clean, good wifi in lobby, good breakfast buffet, friendly staff, close to train station. Cons: no wifi in room, could do with some new towels maybe. No frills about this place, just a good standard hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the Main Street, north facing, but it was still quiet and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Basically rooms are clean with comfortable bed and pillow although extra pillow will be appreciated. The bathroom is clean as well. The air conditioning is not cooling enough though, even we already set it to minimum. Free wifi service is available at reception. Staff are helpful and friendly too. Breakfast is simple but good. And the hotel is just 5-10 mins walk away from Malioboro street but it's quite dark at night to walk alone, so do go in a group. Bad point is ; if you are a triple sharing , do ask for a bigger room (or an upgrade) because one of my room is a triple sharing and they just put a mattress on the floor between the two beds. The whole room became very cramp.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade from standard room if you're a triple sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelyn_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Jentra Dagen for 3 nights. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the hotel. Good bed and pillows, clean bathroom (towels need attention though) They have such friendly and helpful staff who attended to our needs promptly (e.g. when I asked for the hairdryer and iron, and request to replenish teabags and sugar, the staff sent them almost immediately). Breakfast was simple but enough to fill in the morning tummy. I was happy that my husband was pleased with my selection of hotel. Most of all, he was pleased with the location which was just a walking distance away from Malioboro street (it was burstling with activities every night). If you feel like trying out local food, there are several stalls on the left and right of the street as you walk out of the hotel.

If you plan a holiday in Jogja, I would definately recommend Hotel Jentra Dagen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adekmohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#26 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#41 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#55 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grage Ramayana Hotel
Grage Ramayana Hotel
#75 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peti Mas Hotel
Peti Mas Hotel
#106 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#54 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jentra Dagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jentra Dagen

Property: Hotel Jentra Dagen
Address: Jln. Dagen No 85, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jentra Dagen 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jentra Dagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing