We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location!”
Review of Merbabu Hotel

Merbabu Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merbabu Hotel
Ranked #302 of 470 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb location!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is located smack in the middle of Yogyakarta's major shopping street, Malioboro Street. It takes a mere couple of minutes to walk to the main street where shops galore. The room was small but rather clean. However, there were ants on the dressing table. Breakfast is provided at the rooftop but limited choices. There are travel agents located near to this hotel which may come in useful. The train station is located nearby. Three-wheeled carts, known as becak and horse-pulled carts can be found abundantly along Malioboro Street but make sure that you agree on a price before hopping into one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banjarmasin, Kalimantan Selatan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

the cost of staying was average. I took the a/c room for 250k per night, the staffs were friendly, the rooms clean, but not clean enough. the tap was not properly running and difficult for me to use.
It took only a minute or two to get to Malioboro street and very near with circle k, the small market.
only need to get across the street, and I could get to Trans Jogja terminal Malioboro 1. the cheapest and safest way to go anywhere including Prambanan temple.

Room Tip: higher floors are quiter I guess, coz I stayed in the 1st floor, and kinda noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Widya_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Hotel located in the heart of Yoga. Great value for money. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was nice and quite clean, breakfast included was small but tasty. I can recommend, but don't expect much for that money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank knapiki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Small hotel but very nice,clean,good service and the most i love for this hotel is the smell..very fresh and the price is reasonable for backpackers.unfortunately,very simple breakfast.it will be nice if can provide fried rice also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

many different kind of rooms,
very good terrace,
beautiful view
unfortunately simple Western breakfast

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renebelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Merbabu Hotel is a reasonable-priced budget hotel (inclusive of breakfast for 2 people) with good location, helpful staff and close to some travel agents providing trip to Borobudur and Prambanan.
There's a lovely rooftop cafe where you eat your breakfast and to relax after a busy day. The area itself is full of backpackers’ hostels, so it's really easy to find essentials such as internet cafe and laundry.
It's very well located - you can easily walk to the Tugu Train Station (0.5 km), Venderburg (0.9km), Kraton Palace Complex (end of Malioboro Str), Taman Sari (0.2km), Tugu Pahlawan, Matahari shopping mall and the ever famous Malioboro Street (0.3km).
If you want to get to the hotel from the airport, take Transjogja bus 1A (bus shelter is on the left of the departure terminal, across the under pass) and get off at the first stop on Malioboro Street (Halte Malioboro 1). It will only cost you 3000 IDR! Merbabu Hotel is on Sosrowijayan Road which is the 1st road on your right as you come out of the bus shelter and the hotel is about 200 yards down the road.
However the room is not cleaned everyday but you can request the staff to do so and the free wifi is only available on the roof top café but not in the rooms. Otherwise, this hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed with my wife and daughter here for four nights in April 2011. Though it is on small lane with out direct road access, it is just a minute walk away from the Malioboro Street where all the action in Jogjakarta takes place. The lady named Wulan was very helpful even before we landed in Indonesia and she was a wonderful and helpful host throughout our stay. She arranged tickets for all the attractions and even got a nice cab with wonderful driver Aathing..I hope I spelled his name right. I really would recommend Jogjakarta to all who love heritage tourism and recommend Merbabu Hotel for those budget conscious people for a comfortable stay

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#57 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#28 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malioboro Palace Hotel
Malioboro Palace Hotel
#175 of 200 in Yogyakarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
#101 of 200 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#60 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameera Boutique Hotel
Ameera Boutique Hotel
#291 of 470 in Yogyakarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merbabu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merbabu Hotel

Property: Merbabu Hotel
Address: Jln. Sosrowijayan No. 32, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Merbabu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merbabu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing