We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great place if you do not like sleeping!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Poncowinatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Poncowinatan
Ranked #107 of 441 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great place if you do not like sleeping!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I will start with the positives about the hotel first of all -
The staff are excellent and really look after you
The rooms are cleaned daily
It is a 10 minute walk from Malioboro, so not too far at all from the main tourist strip

Now the Negatives....
The rooms are tiny for the price you pay
It is impossible to get a good nights sleep as the hotel has 3 floors with a central corridor where people have breakfast, talk at 5.30am and kids bang on your door at midnight as they are playing!

Some of the issue was that we went in Indonesian school holidays and the place was just over run by local people and noisy kids everywhere. We stayed 3 nights and did not sleep for more than 4 hours in any 1 night....not too impressed!

Room Tip: Do not go in Indonesian school holidays and do not get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

After a long drive from Surabaya, we were happy to finally arrive in Yogyakarta. We took a bit to find the place as it doen't at all look like a hotel from the outside! The entrance is rather odd - there's parking area (in the building), then there's the reception facing the parking area. Anyway, we found the place, check in was smooth & we got our room within minutes.

The room was of decent size, there was a window but it was by the door & opened out into seating area (best to just leave it closed) & it didn't look as if much thought was given towards the decor. The bathroom was tiny, probably slightly bigger than a phone booth - I kid you not! And, it wasn't exactly in the cleanest state (for a hotel) but it was OK. WiFi was free & pretty good as we had no problems connecting from our room. The room also had a TV & coffee/tea making facilities, which was plus. The bed & pillow were comfortable enough & no one from our group (4 of us in 2 rooms) complained of bed bugs or the likes. Being the first room on the ground floor right next to the pantry/kitchenette, it did get a wee bit noisy the next morning at breakfast time.

The hotel isn't too far to walk to the lively Malioboro Street & there are lots of street food places along the way. We walked to Malioboro Street in the evening & returned at about 9+pm. It felt pretty safe to walk up to the point when you need to turn into the street where the hotel is - during the day there's a market here, so, at night it's desserted & a bit dark. We quickened our pace just at this stretch & got back safely.

Breakfast was 'standard issue', meaning everyone got the same thing. It was simple plate of rice, veg & fried chicken but it was yummy & I liked it! We were given 2 complimentary bottles of water in the room, but if you need to re-fill, a hot/cold water dispenser is available on the ground floor.

Initially, we had planned to stay here for 3 nights but due to the long weekend we couldn't. In hindsight, I'm glad we didn't. All things considered, it really isn't bad place at all but, personally, if I returned to Yogyakarta, I would opt for a place that is closer to Malioboro Street.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the ground floor, try to either change it to one further to the back or on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

besides the city centre location of the hotel, it has a very unique location. which is in the middle of the traditional market. For whom that love traditional ambience of the local market should go to this hotel. u may walk in the morning and buy some local sweets. Room is nice and clean, staffs were also very friendly. For sure pick room with airconditioner since jogjakarta has a hot climate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurulHuda038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I kinda like this hotel for many reasons. It's a walking distance to Malioboro. It's very near to a landmark called Tunggu (tower). It's a short distance to a trans bus pick-up point too. The staff are exceedingly friendly & it does feels like a family there. The food served taste home-cooked & pleasantly delicious. I have a very spacious room which was nice. Looks new. The only letdown is that it could be really noisy as guests tend to mingle in the assembly area & talk so loud such that if you stay in the first floor, it can really be uncomfortable. Maybe you can request to stay at the second level but I don;t think this will really help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaydelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed here for a quick layover for a very early morning flight. I chose a standard room with a ceiling fan (no A/C) and paid around $15 (US) so it was super cheap. The room was hot and stuffy without the A/C and if I was staying for more than one night, I would have probably changed to an A/C room.

The location is by itself and away from the main activities of Malioboro Road. No places for eating or shopping within close walking distance.

The other thing to note is that the toilet in the standard room was a squatter. I don't know what kind of toilets are in the other rooms.

Overall, it was cheap and clean enough for a quick stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pd-dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The four of us piled into a deluxe room (queen + single) which costs IDR 375,000 per night (additional IDR 35,000 for extra person) and comes with TV, air-con, hot and cold shower.

Thankfully the room was fairly spacious so we had sufficient space to maneuver around. We learnt from one of the becak drivers that the hotel is pretty new, which probably explains its cleanliness and relatively new furnishings. Room service is provided every day, including change of fresh towels and complimentary mineral water refill - not bad service for a 'budget' hotel. The breakfast provided is delicious (tastes may vary) although the portion is a little small.

Location is great at 5-15 mins away from the train station depending on one's walking speed. The side street is well-lit with the market running late into the night - we had no difficulty getting late snacks on more than one occasion. One slight drawback of it being located next to the market is that light sleepers may get woken by the hustle and bustle as early as 530am. Getting a becak ride to the main Malioboro area was easy on the main street as well.

Overall a great place to stay for its clean rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast and location. =)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arctoswu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We are on our way back home after spending 6 nights at Hotel Poncowinatan. It was a very enjoyable stay. Our first night was in a fan room which is priced 150,000. It was a bit too warm for us so we switched to a superior room (250,000). As we were staying for 6 nights we got a very discount on it. The hotel is new and very very clean. The staff is very nice and always offering to help. It is a 5 min walk to Malioboro street, and we rented a scooter to go to further places in the city (scooter was 35,000 per day). The breakfast is Indonesian, which we weren't sure we would like at first, but turned out to be excellent, in fact, way better than the dry white toast that they serve in most of the other hotels. Every morning they change slightly the breakfast menu but all were delicious, with tea or coffee. There is a market that is very active on the street every morning, very local, which is nice if you want to buy some fruits at low cost. In the rooms you do not hear the cars and it is quiet. Connection of wifi is good. There is no pool though, but we realized we didn't need it as the AC was available and we had hot and cold showers. They offered to clean the room every day and gave us more water and tea (as we had a boiler in the room to make tea or coffee). There are a lot of restaurants in the area, but as Yogya is a big city, I would recommend renting a scooter or car to enjoy most of this city. All and all we loved our stay at Hotel Poncowinatan and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good value - clean rooms, nice staff, AC, Wifi, good breakfast, and location!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Citradream Yogyakarta
Hotel Citradream Yogyakarta
#94 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#28 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
HOM Platinum
HOM Platinum
#69 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
#14 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Griya Jogja
Hotel Griya Jogja
#115 of 441 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Griya Sentana Hotel
Griya Sentana Hotel
#140 of 441 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poncowinatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poncowinatan

Property: Hotel Poncowinatan
Address: Jln. Poncowinatan no 3, Yogyakarta 55232, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Poncowinatan 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very nice hotel with cheap price and good location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Poncowinatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing