We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Pendopo Homestay
Ranked #45 of 493 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Sentosa Island, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for couple”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We just married in Bali and we decided to have honeymoon in Jogjakarta. We arrived at De pendopo homestay a bit late at night and the owner was very nice. He welcomed us warmly and offered us cup of tea. The room was clean, the design was beautiful and it was just located perfectly at the prawirotaman street. The owner told us the best spa near the place and arranged trip to bromo for a favor. He also made a phone reservation to Romantic open air ramayana ballet in prambanan. We love the place and we have great time in Jogjakarta!

Room Tip: all rooms have high ceiling and clean. i love the bathroom design
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Kim, we are happy that you have memorable honeymoon time in Yogyakarta. Thank you so much for writing a positive review for us. We wish you all the best for your new journey of life. Our door is always open to welcome you, once again. Best, Ira and Budi, little selena and amor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    49
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
90
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A friend of mine told me about this beautiful place. i am impressed with dependopo homestay because the location strategically located near nice restaurants in tourist area but the price is very good compared with other accommodations in the neighborhood ( we did a little survey before we booked the place). The location is behind a big hotel, but it is the advantage because it is more quiet. We spent 5 fabulous days in Jogja and the owner of dependopo homestay helped us to book for ramayana ballet ticket, flight ticket and trip to prambanan and borobudur ( free of charge). It is a great homestay. As a matter of fact, the trip in Jogja will never be the same if we choose another accommodation. Definitely we will come back again to stay to dependopo next year

Room Tip: we booked the room 1 month before and so we could make request to have room at the corner of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Charles, thank you for your sincere review. We really happy that you have such a pleasant stay at de Pendopo homestay. yes, our price is the lowest among other accommodation in the area with the same ( on even more facilities) because most of the guests are our friends, family and friends of family with regular staying. I wish to see you again for your next trip to Jogjakarta. Best, Ira, Budi and little amor and selena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was travelling for 3 weeks in Indonesia and from all the accommodations that we were staying in bali, jakarta and bandung, I must admit that de pendopo homestay is the best. The price is affordable but the services are all included. The breakfast time is based on our request and my favourite is the indonesian dish. My girl friend like gudeg, a javanese special cuisine. The owner is very nice and friendly and he always very helpful! De pendopo is highy recommended

Room Tip: book in advance as they only have 4 unit and one family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chamberlandxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Chamberland,

We are happy that you take your time to write such a positive review for De Pendopo Homestay. My appreciation for your generous review. I am happy that you enjoy our traditional dish- Gudeg as much as our culture. Thank you so much , and looking forwards to hear your next visit to Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have nothing to do in the planning of our 5 day trip in Indonesia (Jakarta, Yogya & Bali). I know where we are staying, but never had the chance to check the website of De Pendopo. But arriving at this place after a whole day of touring Borobudur, Yogya and near by places, I smiled and I know this is a place worth going to in Yogya. A very homey place, with a garden where you can relax, drink a local beer or coffee. I love it here. The owner and her staff are very accommodating and very helpful to us. Thumbs up! Here is a place to visit and spend your nites while in Yogya.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We really appreciate your time to write this review. I am happy that you enjoy your staying at our little homestay. I wish that one day we can also visit your beautiful country, The Philippine to explore the beauty of its culture and hospitality. Until we meet again, Best, Ira Budi, little amor and selena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great location- on quiet alleyway that is very near restaurants, antique shops, sights and tour bookings. We stayed for 4 nights in the guest house with our family of four. Our house had 3 Br which allowed us to spread out and offered a nice refuge from hustle bustle of the market place and sites.
Very friendly, relaxed, and welcoming hospitality. Good wifi access. Clean water and tea available all day. Very helpful with any questions or logistics of the area but low key. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3BR guest house. Great value, lots of space and very homey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rtuden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your generousity filling out this review, we are happy that you have a memorable experience in Jogjakarta. We are grateful that you shared your positive experience staying at our homestay. We wish you a safe travel back in California--I love california, it is one of my favorite place in US besides San Francisco. Best, ira and budi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

De Pendopo Homestay is located in a small alley, thus allowing you to have access to Prawirotaman while hidden from the hustle and bustle on the main street. I was here for a weekend, a bit sick and staying here turned out giving me a peaceful bed rest time.

I love how the owner manage the place. They only have four rooms which ensure there wouldn't be any horrible noise coming up and down. The back garden was also wonderful, not to mention the pendopo itself. The self-service pantry was also great, I am a fan of tea and I feel homy to find out that I can make tea anytime.

If you need anything e.g directions, tour guide, car and motorcycle rental, recommended restaurant etc you can always ask the helpful pak Budi and bu Ira.

The room? It was superb. Not really big, but the wall full of mirror makes it grandiose. The bathtub and hot water was also a big plus. Overall, I'm happy I found this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christinrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Mbak Christine,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience staying at dependopo homestay. It has been a wonderful time to have you in our place! I am glad that you have a quiet rest in dependopo homestay. our door is always open for you. looking forwards to see you again in Jogjakarta, best ira and budi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Atmosphere
Great place to stay with homely feeling yet resort-style ambience managed by a lovely family. Cleanliness is at tip-top condition.

F&B
Delicious home-cooked breakfast with selection of Western & Indonesian for you to choose. Remember to place your order the night before so you'll get exactly what you want at the desired time.

Location
Restaurants, cafe, pub, massage parlor is avaialble at walking distance.
Even its located behind larger hotels, but easily spotted with the help of signboards.

Slightly away from town (appx 3km) but easily accesible with 'becak' local trishaw or even taxi. Cost of travelling to town at average of Rp15,000 - Rp20,000 per trip.
Transfer to airport takes you appx 25-30mins with average of Rp40,000.

Price
Very affortable. You're only paying peanuts but getting a 4-star accomodation.

Room Tip: There're only 4 double rooms with 1 queens bed & 3 dorms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fflam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#59 of 206 in Yogyakarta
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
943 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#40 of 206 in Yogyakarta
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#57 of 206 in Yogyakarta
703 reviews
1.7 mi away
EDU Hostel Jogja
EDU Hostel Jogja
#13 of 258 in Yogyakarta
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Pendopo Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Pendopo Homestay

Property: De Pendopo Homestay
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman no. 573, Yogyakarta 55224, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — De Pendopo Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Pendopo, a romantic boutique homestay in Yogyakarta, is an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural Yogyakarta. Facilities: 24 hours wi-fi, vast garden with tables and chairs and kids swing, private bathroom with bath tub and hot water, air conditioned room, 32 inch Panasonic Vierra LCD TV, veranda, shared chiller and pantry, a public desktop computer and printer, a public Samsung home theater with 42 inch LCD TV, a pendopo (Javanese hall). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Pendopo Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing