We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jambuluwuk Malioboro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Ranked #23 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Singaproe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Jambuluwuk is considered as quite new hotel in Malioboro. We love the interior and exterior of the hotel, full of Javanese colour here. If you prefer a hotel that quiet and away from Malioboro street, Jambuluwuk is a good choice. About 10-15 minutes walk to Malioboro street, beside beca service was available at 15000 or 20000 rupiah.


The hotel room is spacious, clean and comfortable, but the wifi access was inconsistent and limited in our room. The only unsatisfactory we encountered were waken up by the mosque around 4am and the door of room located at 3rd floor was difficult to open. We had to try at least few times in order to open the door "successfully".TV channels provided were limited, some of the channels cannot be assessed.

Due to early trip to borobudur temple and early flight, we requested the hotel to take away breakfast for us. Whereas the buffet breakfast provided in hotel was good, full of varieties - both local and western breakfast.

We also tried the small stall (warung) located in front of hotel, they sell ayam bakar (Barbeque chicken) with rice which cost only $10 000 rupian (less than USD$1) for a dinner. Love the sambal chilli if you are also spicy food lover.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that facing mosque else will be waken up at 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destinie2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    412
    124
    33
    21
See reviews for
279
180
45
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Pros -

- Modern finishings/furniture
- I like the breakfast. Asian. If you're used to European breakfast, I think you won't find it here.
- Nice ambiance in the lobby. Every morning somebody is playing a local instrument.
- The hotel staff smiles a lot. And I say that they are really helpful.
- They let us use our room 30 mins before 2pm.
- The welcome drink (orange juice) on the Batik Lounge really taste good.

Cons -

- The hotel is a 5 to 10-minute walk to Malioboro. My expectation is just around 2 to 3 minutes only.

I hope this review helps some of those who are planning to go to Yogyakarta.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the street. Sometimes the cars/motorcyles on the road is quite annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel room is spacious and comfortable with good internet connection (through wifi). Their interior was very nice with Javanese touch. When we stayed there, there was an old woman showing on how to make batik at the hotel lobby and a traditional musician performing on a traditional set of music instruments.

Hotel staff were helpful and responsive. Their laundry service was quick with quite a resonable price. No taxis were stand by at the hotel, but hotel staff were always ready to assist in reserving taxis. The hotel has a playground, which was not too big, but nice - and also a library, which is a real plus, although they need to update their reading materials.

We initially stayed for 2 nights but had to extend and moved to a bigger room to accomodate an extra bed. The hotel rate was lower if you book it through a local travel agent rather than directly to hotel reservation.

The hotel has a good array of breakfast with lots of choices. We also tried the dinner from the hotel room service, but it was not recommended. Their menu was lack of choices with avarage taste. If you have time and energy to go out, you might want to try having dinner at 'lesehan' along Malioboro road rather than reserving through the room service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angeldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were a group of 12 collegues from several countries when we checked-in to Jambuluwuk Malioboro hotel, for our month long stay. Right from the check-in process, I must say it has been a smooth and comfortable stay. The rooms are quite comfortable with decent toiletries (but not of a standard that you may expect in a 4 star hotel) .The Meeting rooms are quite spacious and well equipped. The tropical swimming pool is gorgeous and you can sit by the pool and have your drinks from the restaurant. The staff is very courteous but that is something that you can take for granted in Indonesia. My only qualm was the lack of vegetarian food in the restaurant....but that is something that must be faced in the whole of South East Asia...so cannot blame the hotel for that.

There are a few negatives though..The breakfast spread fairly average for a 4 star hotel with a skew towards South East Asian food items.English is a challenge...except the reception staff...nobody speaks English...so you are better off learning a bit of Bahasa if you plan to stay for long. There is no free pick up from the airport although its just 25 mins away. They offer free WiFi...but it is inconsistent.....the best WiFi is available only in the reception area.
The TV feed was very poor...only 4 or 5 of the channels had non-grainy feed...only 9 English channels including HBO, AXN, BBC and CNN....but most of the time AXN was very grainy and the Sports channels were grainy all the time....so not worth watching.

Preferably ask for rooms facing Jalan Gajah Mada or one of the inside rooms unless you want to be woken up by the muzzein's call for prayer at 4 AM everyday !....

The location of the hotel is quite convenient as it is walkable from Malioboro....for those interested there is also bechak rides available right from the gate of the hotel...but I would say walk is more convenient.....the reception will also call for a taxi on request....Taxis are very affordable in Yogyakarta....
The checkout again was smooth....except for a strange thing....they made me wait while they sent someone to go and check my room before I could check out...its the first time I encountered that....but nevertheless...I would have to say that overall it has been a comfortable stay.....but one expects more from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing Jalan Gadjah Madah or one of the inside rooms where you unless you want to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazhaikudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel layout and the environment is very nice and cultural. The staffs are extremely good. They always try their best to help the guest. The only barrier they had was the lack of knowledge on speaking English. They have basic knowledge of communicating in English, however, they are not well trained in it. Due to the eruption of Mount Kelud, our 4 nights stay became 5 nights, therefore we were able to experience their breakfast for the weekends and weekday. The breakfast is more extensive on the weekends with a huge variety of their traditional cuisines.

Hotel room is spacious and clean. Housekeeping is done on a daily basis. Room service menu lacks in variety, but it was affordable and tasty. Television lacks of channels and bad transmission caused lots of distortion. The room telephone wasn't operating well as I was not able to call even the local numbers. We had to go down to the front desk frequently as we had to reschedule flights. The language barrier made it difficult.

The SPA is horrible and a waste of money. Although their SPA environment looks nice, the staff lacks in the skills. It was not relaxing at all and the staffs for SPA lacked knowledge of massaging as they didn't target the compression points of the body. It was equivalent to a normal person massaging for you. Their facial was just using scrubs and lotion and applying on the face.

Location of hotel is near Malioboro Street and a taxi to it cost 20,000 rp as their minimum meter fare is 20,000rp. If you are in groups, you can just walk to that street in 15 mins.
Hotel does not have an official email address to clarify certain enquires such as airport transfer, shuttle services and etc.. Overall, the hotel is clean and convenient. They need training on their knowledge of conversing in English and techniques for SPA.

Room Tip: Higher floor may have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vithasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Arrival from SG on 31 Jan 2014. My sister booked 2 rooms for the 4 of us and we stayed 3 nites. The rooms are spacious and clean. Our booking included breakfast which has a good spread of different types of food from traditional Indonesian to cereals and even Japanese. The front desk will help to book tours or if you like to rent a car/driver.

On a good day, you can see Mt. Merapi from the lift lobby (high floors).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The room is quite spacious with the usual amenities. What's missing is perhaps the hair dryer. There is a gym, karaoke room, children's playroom, library and SPA. My friend who went for the 2 hrs massage commented it wasn't really as expected. Pool is small. The bistro is a good place to chill out at night with food and drinks at reasonable price and surprising delicious too. Breakfast is spoilt for choice. The hotel is within walking distance to Malioboro Street but you can take a trishaw which easily available at the front of the hotel. It cost IDR20k one way. Riding a horse back will cost IDR80k. To Beringhajo market, it's just 10 mins walk (from hotel, turn left, then another left at the traffic light and after that 1st turning to the right). Otherwise take a trishaw at IDR10k.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamHo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Yogyakarta
Novotel Yogyakarta
#18 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
#14 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crystal Lotus Hotel
Crystal Lotus Hotel
#6 of 18 in Sleman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
#71 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambuluwuk Malioboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambuluwuk Malioboro

Property: Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Address: Jl. Gajah Mada no. 67, Yogyakarta 55112, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jambuluwuk Malioboro 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewels of Jambuluwuk are expressed in our 5 star hotel facilities and 5 star services to sparkle in the area that we establish. With the concept of Jewels of Jambuluwuk, we are creating the solid hotels and services serving from our heart and guest satisfaction is our priority. Jambuluwuk Malioboro Boutique Hotel is a unique boutique Hotel, with 144 lavish and spacious rooms offering modern concept mix with traditional touch. The hotel's 5 Star services and facilities is perfectly suit for busy travelers as well as group gathering for extensive conference and meetings. In preserving Environment, the hotel also supports green hotel concept featuring hotel facilities that support recycle and green lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Jambuluwuk Malioboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing