We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpacker hostel in Jogjakarta”
Review of EDU Hostel Jogja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EDU Hostel Jogja
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best backpacker hostel in Jogjakarta”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stay Ada edus hostel for 2 night in the private bedroom. Room was clean, hot water, and even have a satellite tv just for 90IDR. Also breakfast was included. The staff spoke good English and was very kind. Would recommend the sunrise Borobudur tour by the hotel. Edu hostel is definitely the best backpacker hostel I've visited

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank reggiejoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Y, Manager at EDU Hostel Jogja, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Google Translation
Terima kasih Mas Reggie telah senang tinggal di hostel kami. Kami terus berupaya untuk mendapatkan tamu dari dalam negeri agar  mendapatkan pengalaman rasanya  tinggal di Hostel di negeri sendiri. Sampai sekarang ini kami masih terus berupaya untuk kedatangan makin banyak pemuda dan pemudi dan keluarga bangsa sendiri  yang mengisi dorm – ( kamar)  dan mengenal apa itu Hostel. Kami tunggu kedatangan nya kembali dan terima kasih telah membantu mempromosikan apa itu hostel dan kota kami Yogyakarta.
 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    131
    52
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
3
98
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

There were 8 of us, 2 boys & 6 girls. The girls had 1 dormitory with 6 beds and the boys were in different level. The room is big enough for 6 of us. Individual plug is located in the locker (please bring your own international adapter). No hand held bidet, muslims would find troublesome to perform ablution or wudu'.

Our biggest problem is the shower water drains very slowly. We have to wait for several minutes to let the water drain. We can't even find the drain hole in the shower. Besides, the basin is ridiculous. Again, we have problem with the drainage. Not sure if it was clogged or what. The basin is not big enough to hold water when you wash your face. And, their towels are very small. Its like a mini towel, you can't even cover your body.

They can help you to pack your breakfast if want to start the day very early. Wifi is only in the lobby. They have common area with tv, guitars.

Most of all, we had a very nice sleep. Pillows and blankets are clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hajar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Y, Manager at EDU Hostel Jogja, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Assalamualaikum Ms. Hajar, Our hostel is designed and build. Indonesia as the biggest moslem population in the world we provide the “ Musholla “ in the respected are on the lobby level for our guests and staff. It is large enough to hold 30 people separated male and female and open 24/7 with all the necessity to pray. Will check the shower water drain and thank you for the input and happy to know you have an enjoyable stay with us and looking forward to see more Malaysian to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you're looking a hostel which is nearer to Malioboro Street, then definitely this wouldn't be the wise choice.
you'll have to walk around 25-30 minutes to reach there.
unless you have a ride, surely, it'll be better

Like the view at cafe as you can see the Merapi mountain view if everything is really clear.
the cafe also is so spacious and have two level.
They also provide free breakfast, free tea and coffee which is locals food and tasted good.

The reception area is so big, just like the big hotels.
They had beautiful murals in every wall and in the hostel room too.

Cons-, they didn't have wifi in your room.
they only provided at common area.

The hostel room, is relatively good and clean.
Quite big locker and please bring your own padlock.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Even Tunes hotel cannot bit the price of this hostel. We stays in their private room for 4 pax, for 2 nights, and overall experience was good. But to those grumpy people who dont like noisy kids, then stay away from this hotel.

The breakfast they provide is simple and changes everyday which is good, specially those,staying more than a night.

Love to climb their roof deck to have a sunrise view of merapi volcano.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Olegna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is one big hostel that cater up to 300 beds in a night...and I do agree with Anouk155 it is massive but well organized.

For Idr.70.000/night (6-7 US$), you get a well-cleaned room inside 6 beds dorm, comfortable bunk bed, clean sheet & towel, ensuite bathroom & toilet, free wifi in common area and simple breakfast. Nothing to complain about.

The rooftop area is a nice place to sit and relax during sunrise/sunset.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I booked a shared dorm that could fit 6 girls in a room. I've stayed in many places around Asia and Edu Hostel is one of the cleanest places with amazing service and value for your money. For 70,000 rupiah per night, you get free breakfast, free tea and coffee, free Wi-Fi on the main floors, a well-cleaned room and great security.

I really love that the place has intentional design to encourage people to talk to each other and create community. They purposely don't have Wi-Fi in the rooms to encourage people to be social and their computer station doesn't have chairs, which is cool.

The design and feel of the entire hostel reflects the creativity and vibrancy of the art culture in Jogja. I love the inspiring and quirky quotes throughout the hostel. If you're not couch surfing, this is the place to go. Other places I checked out were no less than 100,000 rupiahs per night and didn't include Wi-Fi, breakfast and other amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Y, Manager at EDU Hostel Jogja, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Mel, We are happy to see and notice that we purposely design and build the hostel in line with the character of the city Jogjakarta. We look forward to see you back in our town. Thank you for enjoying Jogja and EDU Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Edu hostel consists of a lot of dorms. And that in Indonesia, where there aren't so many hostels! All the rooms are clean and that for a good price. Nice rooftopterrace and nasi for breakfast. Only one thing to complain about, there are also children sleeping in the dorms, although the hostel says in its rules that it is not allowed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Y, Manager at EDU Hostel Jogja, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello Anouk, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. EDU Hostel is an accommodation designed and built for individuals, groups and study tours. Regarding the children, they are a group of students from Lampung. They were here for study tour. We only disallow children to stay in our shared dormitory,

Looking forward to welcome you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.7 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 202 in Yogyakarta
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#41 of 202 in Yogyakarta
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 202 in Yogyakarta
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#60 of 202 in Yogyakarta
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#56 of 202 in Yogyakarta
689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Venezia Garden
Venezia Garden
#13 of 239 in Yogyakarta
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EDU Hostel Jogja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EDU Hostel Jogja

Property: EDU Hostel Jogja
Address: Jln. Letjen Suprapto No. 17 | Ngampilan, Yogyakarta 55261, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EDU Hostel Jogja 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDU Hostel Jogja is the first modern city hostel in Indonesia. It offers dormitory and private accommodation that could cater to individuals and groups. EDU is short for EDUcation. This brand new, purpose build hostel has spacious lobby area and capacity of 42 dormitory and 18 private family dorm that could sleep over 300 people. Located at the central part of Jogja, 1 km Malioboro Street - the shopping strip of Jogja, also makes it easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your EDU Hostel Jogja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing