We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”
Review of EDU Hostel Jogja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
EDU Hostel Jogja
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I will absolutely recommend any backpacker to stay at this hostel! It is close to the main attractions in Jogja (Kraton & Waterpalace are about 25 minutes walking / Malioborostreet only 10) and the staff is really friendly and helpful. They also offer various tours which are not too expensive. I paid 80,000 Rp. (5 euro) to have a car take me and a few others to Borobudur and back.

The hostel itself is spacious, cosy and clean. I paid only 80,000 Rp. per night for a room for 6 people, including 2 showers and a toilet. The hostel only has wifi in the main entrance hall, but this was oke for me, as I was not often my room. Even better, this caused that all people were downstairs and the atmosphere was really nice. I met some really nice people! Many travellers are here, from all over the world. Both 'new' travellers who have just arrived and people who have been travelling for a while. Most people continue the same way, so its a good place to find a travel buddy here. It's all good :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyimaDZ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for EDU Hostel Jogja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the place to be in Yogyakarta. If you are on a budget then all road leads to this place. '
They serve a decent breakfast at the top floor.

We are not sure they usually have children running around corridors of we were just on a wrong time checking-in. Aside from that issue, eevrything went well during our stay.

The staff at the reception were very helpful and sincere. Keep up the good work guys.

They have elevators. (not usual for budget hostels in indonesia)

Room Tip: Location is very near Tugu Train station. taxi to the airport will just take you 5 minutes.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Seeing the city of Yogyakarta from the roof top cooling down the heat of the city in the dipping pool at the roof top are the bonus for the first timer to this city. It is big area on the roof top and very airy in the afternoon.

Room Tip: room at the back side of the hostel is quiter
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank armanyahyaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Went to Edus hostel during the december break. We took the private room which can hold 5 people. The room are very clean, with cable television. Also the breakfast was surprisingly good for such a cheap room. I am truly impressed with Edus hostel with its cheap rates which is very worth it for backpackers and budget travelers.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank reggiejoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Edu is a big hostel, with dorms. The prices are average...The place is not bad. Breakfast is included, changing day by day but, unfortunately, always fried or oily, so my request: please add some fruits!!!
So yes other than that, it is fine. A huge complex with A/C, something that I did value with the rising degrees outside, it was in April.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe552233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Y, Manager at EDU Hostel Jogja, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

What the traveler are always saying while in Rome do like what the Roman do. Yes, the Indonesian do not eat fruit in the morning and if you like to have bread and butter then do let the front desk a day earlier and it will be there. Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you back and will have some tropical fruit for you if you stop by the front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The location is nothing special. There are very few restaurants and no bars around here. The Prawirotaman area has far more happening.

Staff upon arrival were very friendly and helpful. This was the case for most of my stay but there are a few staff members that need to work on their customer service.

The common area is cool. There are sofas, beanbags and a big tv. Also there is a very cool rooftop with pool and loads of seating and chill spots. Although it closes during the day for some reason.

The wifi is really bad. Five Mart around the corner has really good free wifi. There are loads of computers for guest use but the wifi is so bad there's just no point.

The dorm rooms are cool. Huge lockers ... no lock provided. Ensuite in the dorm. Good water pressure in shower and hot water. Towels are provided. The beds are the most comfortable beds I've slept on in S.E. Asia. Air con in the rooms.

Breakfast is included but pretty average.

They got some good tour options.

Here's the catch. This place caters for huge tours of school students. Because of that, it just isn't quite right for backpackers. For example, they close the rooftop at 10pm. This is peak time for backpackers to be socialising and we had to get up and leave. Also these kids make so much noise and they get up at like 6am and wake up the whole place. It's more like youth hostel and backpackers are just getting in on the cheap accommodation.

Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank 67,508,387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre Y, Manager at EDU Hostel Jogja, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for staying at EDU Hostel and much appreciate for the positive input. It is always challenging to run and manage the 324 beds hostel where one can use their positive attitude to meet up with that many number of people in one location. Being in small city such as Yogyakarta with some top universities we have the privileges to have the internet service provides invested their hard and software in this area. However, just like in any other city this systems no one can guarantee it works well all the time. Our hostel operation are depending on this technology and do have some tolerance with our 8 desk top free internet computers and wi-fi in the lobby area so it is always our priority to have it fix. Yes, our roof top still the most popular spot in the hostel and it open 10 hours a day and can be open upon request of the travelers. Just talk to us on the front desk things – we listen and take fast action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this hostel in 2012 and we are gonna go back again two years after. I like to discover new places every time but sometimes I don't want to put myself at risk choosing a wrong place. I just enjoyed my time at Edu Hostel.

Clean, budgetable and it has a little pool perfect to stay fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaraUluwatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.7 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#57 of 206 in Yogyakarta
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#40 of 206 in Yogyakarta
115 reviews
2.2 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#54 of 206 in Yogyakarta
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#29 of 206 in Yogyakarta
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
#127 of 206 in Yogyakarta
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#11 of 268 in Yogyakarta
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EDU Hostel Jogja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EDU Hostel Jogja

Address: Jl. Letjen Suprapto no. 17 | Ngampilan, Yogyakarta 55261, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 268 Speciality Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £8 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EDU Hostel Jogja 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EDU Hostel Jogja is the first modern city hostel in Indonesia. It offers dormitory and private accommodation that could cater to individuals and groups. EDU is short for EDUcation. This brand new, purpose build hostel has spacious lobby area and capacity of 42 dormitory and 18 private family dorm that could sleep over 300 people. Located at the central part of Jogja, 1 km Malioboro Street - the shopping strip of Jogja, also makes it easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your EDU Hostel Jogja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing