We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but with room to improve.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Yogyakarta
Ranked #16 of 192 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but with room to improve.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

The Novotel is located right in the centre of town so an excellent location. The room I had was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was of a good standard with plenty of choice. The staff were courteous and efficient but where the hotel let itself down for me was in two areas:

The free Wifi which was supposedly available was totally inaccessible from my room. I did quite like the lobby though with its nice Borobudur style additions, which is a good thing as I spent quite a bit of time there on my laptop. As did a few other guests with the same problem.

My other disappointment was that the first time I used room service the food was not at all hot when it arrived. To be fair this was an isolated incident and was not repeated on the next occasion when all was fine.

Overall I think the Novotel is a good hotel but just needs that little bit more attention to detail to make it a much better hotel. But if you want a value for money hotel with a good location it does fit the bill nicely

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedy15_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    473
    174
    28
    24
See reviews for
315
145
94
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rouen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

just on the main tourist street you cna eat burung darah (pigon meat local favorite )on the street , the hotel is novotel so no surprises good value for money and the perfect central location see the burubudur of coarse and prambagnan

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nquessada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

this is Novotel. always noted for it's minimalistic and simplicity. don't expect too much. you get what you paid for. at least that was applied for me. stayed here twice cause of business activity for one night only. room was okay, nice and clean, typical Novotel with minimum appliances and everything. always get deluxe room because this is Novotel, not Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. i can assure you almost room will look the same. bathroom was okay even though pretty small. bed was quite good. pool was hmm a bit small for me even to relax from the busy schedule. breakfast was so/so too as well. free wifi as well. overall was okay. if you are traveling with children, they have children's club as part of the hotel's.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

when i arrive no one bell boy or hotel's staff help carrying our stuff
the rooms clean and the bathroom also cleans enough
in the morning i hope we will a lot of choice for menus buffet but ii just poor buffet breakfast with little choice and a lot of empty dish because the staff not to quickly refill the foods
at he end when we check out also no one help us to carry out our stuff its repeat disaster again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aabm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

I have tried various hotels in Yogyakarta for work trips, but didn't want to take risks during my wife's first visit. Besides, we needed a base north of the tourist centre, Jl. Malioboro, quick to and from the airport, close to the universities and the tour routes to Borobodur Temple, Gunung Merapi (volcanoe) and villages in Sleman regency. Despite the location on a major east-west artery, the hotel offers quiet accommodation and the usual Novotel facilities - and if you pay a little extra, there are rooms with unobstructed views of the Merapi volcanoe. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, compared to what you get elsewhere for similar rates, and staff are polite, helpful and speak pretty good English. We enjoyed the great choice and quality of breakfast, indoors and pool-side, and the a-la-carte dinner and buffet, but also the patisserie (delicious cakes!). Recommendable restaurants, cafes and places for an evening chill-out are close by at an easy walking distance, a late-night supermarket is about 300 m down the road and a shopping mall a similar distance in another direction. Next time, I'll book it again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kudus, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Brought my sister and her family to do some shopping in Yogyakarta. She has 3 daughters ages between 5 to 9, and for sure, shopping do not appeal these girls. We chose Novotel first and foremost because of its Kids Centre at level 2. Its neaby the gym and spa.

Upon check in, the professional english speaking attend to all room needs. The rooms are spacious and has all the offerings of a standard 4 star hotel. We checked in and the kids straight away went to the Kids Club where they can play, board games, playstation, art & crafts, and so on. Just beside Novotel is the Galeria Mall. We get all our toiletries and fast foods here.

Mommies then left for the famous Malioboro Street to put their bargaining skills to the test and do some serious shopping. Its only 5 mins drive away, or you can take a rickshaw (becak) for a leisurely ride to Malioboro street.

The pool is designed for adults. Kids have their own "pool" but it can only fit around 5 children comfortably.

Breakfast is served with international dishes as well as the local cuisine, Gudeg (a must try if you come to Jogjakarta).

However, the price has increased a bit from last year. But its still within our budget. I dont mind paying for the extras that Novotel has to offer.

Novotel, my no 1 Hotel in Jogja!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deansfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We have just returned from Yogyakarta today. Two days ago, (23 May 2010), we had two drinks at the hotel lobby bar at Novotel Yogyakarta hotel. We ordered one black label (with ice - single shot) and one glass of Gordon gin and tonic. The bill for two drinks came to Rupiah 254000, which is about US$27! The bar tender didn't give us the bill, he just told us the amount. Because we weren't used to the exchange rate, so my husband paid. After we left the hotel, we thought that the drinks were way too expensive, considering the ambiance of the lobby bar (which is very casual), and the fact that the same drinks would have cost us R160 000 at our hotel - the Phoenix Hotel, which is also a four-star hotel and much better ambience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ishiiwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#23 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
#14 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
0.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 192 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Yogyakarta

Property: Novotel Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#14 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Yogyakarta is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Yogyakarta. Ideal for both holidays and business trips, the hotel offers spacious, contemporary rooms, a business centre, free WiFi internet access and meeting facilities. No stay in Yogyakarta would be complete without a visit to the Buddhist Temple of Borobodur, the largest in the world. The hotel features two restaurants, two bars, a fitness centre, swimming pool, spa, a Kids Club, boutiques and a full range of activities. Novotel Yogyakarta also provides a free shuttle to Malioboro for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Novotel
Novotel Jogja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing