We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Ranked #36 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro is adjacent to a shopping centre and probably almost exactly midway down Yogya's famous Malioboro shopping street. In fact, a short passageway links the hotel to the mall, making for ease of shopping, if indeed access to a number of well known international brands including the Bodyshop, McDonalds and others of similar ilk were the point of visiting Yogyakarta. But it made for convenient purchase of toiletries, medication and sundries.

The hotel itself is somewhat unassuming, and not immediately visible from Malioboro Street itself but check-in was quick and fuss-free. Standard rooms are just that, and what one might expect of a three star establishment. But overall the hotel could not be faulted for cleanliness or housekeeping. Bathrooms are a little on the small side but that could have been just the room I was in; just a shower, no bath tub.

The swimming pool however, was somewhat small, and the available space not particularly suited to lazing around especially if there are a couple of screaming, overly enthusiastic children present. The adjacent spa was made up of a single room with two massage beds but the staff are friendly enough and quite eager to please. Treatments are extremely reasonable starting at around USD25 or thereabouts.

Breakfast at the hotel comprised of fairly basic Indonesian fare with a smattering of western dishes but overall quite adequate as a pre-tour meal.

There is also a small cafe on the ground floor serving up ok lattes and drinks and a two piece band is at hand evenings to entertain the three sofa type sitting arrangements squeezed into a pretty small space.

Don't be fooled by the somewhat grubby ground floor of the shop lots directly opposite the hotel as the Legian Garden Restaurant that occupies practically the entire first floor serves pretty good grub.The sea food platter in particular was quite satisfying. Service, however, ranged from nonchalant to attentive.

At around USD65 per standard room per night (online) the hotel was convenient, unpretentious and totally adequate for what appeared to be the many local(?) tourists present during breakfast and at check-out.

Getting around Yogya to and from the Ibis is fairly easy on taxis (probably around USD4-5 per trip) or Trishaws (USD2) and I believe the horse drawn carriages were around USD2.50-3 per trip. But do establish the price before setting off.

Don't confuse the Ibis Malioboro with the Ibis Style as that is an entirely different hotel in another part of town.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors. Music can be heard evenings if you're an early sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seika61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Seika61,

Warmest greetings from ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro...

Thank you for choosing Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro to be your preference stay during your travels to our friendly city Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valuable guest.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Novi SOESANTO
General Manager
Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank meiewe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night because we wanted to see Borobodur and Prambanan in Yogyakarta. For the price, it was a great hotel, full of courteous and friendly staff. Even had a travel agent inside so our tours were taken care of from right here. Can't ask for more!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VNADFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. VNADFW,

Warmest greetings from ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro...

Thank you for choosing Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro to be your preference stay during your travels to our friendly city Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valuable guest.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Novi SOESANTO
General Manager
Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Yaw Hua N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've decided to stay in this hotel on my second trip to Yogjakarta as it is near to a shopping mall and souvenirs shops. It is surrounded by local eateries and there is a popular money changer nearby [about 400m away from the hotel] located at the Inna Garuda Hotel. I have no regrets staying in this hotel. The staffs are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisoncrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ms. crow_singapore:

Warmest greetings from ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro...

Thank you for choosing Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro to be your preference stay during your travels to our friendly city Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valuable guest.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Novi SOESANTO
General Manager
Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Located in the heartlands of jalan malioboro and right next to a mall, it is the ideal place to shop and after much walking, rest is just a few footsteps away. Its location permits tourist try different tasteful palletes, they can have a choice to eat western or even try the local delicacies. Despite its old furnitures, it is really not that bad. Its ambience, excellent service and security makes this hotel definitely worth the value.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nooz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Nooz Z:

Warmest greetings from ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro...

Thank you for choosing Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro to be your preference stay during your travels to our friendly city Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valuable guest.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Novi SOESANTO
General Manager
Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Apart from the central location, there is nothing worth staying here.
The furniture looked tired and abused.
The towels and bed linen were more grey than white and not altogether clean.
Also, there is an incessant hum from the mall a/c cooling units next door.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisMalioboro52-58, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. glasskate,

Warmest greetings from ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro…

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Novi SOESANTO
General Manager
Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#26 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#23 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#55 of 211 in Yogyakarta
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Malioboro
Grand Inna Malioboro
#51 of 211 in Yogyakarta
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#13 of 211 in Yogyakarta
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro

Address: Jln. Malioboro 52 - 58, Yogyakarta 55001, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £29 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Yogyakarta's business district, right on the famous Malioboro street and also connected with a shopping mall in Malioboro area. Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro caters for business travelers as well as tourists who want to enjoy and discover the cultural treasures of Java cultures in Yogyakarta. Only 40 minutes to Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Malioboro
Ibis Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing