We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short And Nice Stay...”
Review of Melia Purosani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Purosani
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Short And Nice Stay...”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I booked melia purosani because no other option at the time. After enjoying southern side of jogjakarta, playing at the beach etc, i confidently walk toward centre of the city and start calling hotel to find a place to sleep. and in my surprise, almost all hotel were full booked, from standard to presidential suite, except one room at melia purosani, of course it had to be the most expensive one.

And i checked in late at night and have to checked out in the morning. so, i know i liked the hotel, but because of its price and its a short stay, i couldn't stop thinking about how expensive mu experience was.

The services are quite good, you got fast valet, fast check in process, clean and tidy room, etc.

You can tell that the hotel is start to deteriorate and can use refreshment especially at the restaurant.

Overall, melia is the good hotel, it used to be the best in jogjakarta. but it's a long time ago.

still decent choice though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WahyuKrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliapurosani1, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear WahyuKrido,

We thank you for chosen our hotel and taking your time to write a review according your last journey at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta. Your comments are certainly motivates our people to provide better service in the future.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back to us in the future.

Regards,
Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    577
    141
    47
    19
See reviews for
390
349
73
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second time stayed at Melia Purosani. Children loved the breakfast and hotel's pool. Malioboro is just a walk away from the hotel. The room was big enough for family with 2 children. We definitely will come back to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhesa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliapurosani1, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Rhesa S,

We thank you for your excellent Tripadvisor review following your last journey at Melia Purosani saying that your children loved the breakfast and swimming pool services.

Look forward to welcome you again in the future

Regards,
Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannedorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was completely dirty even considering the standard of a youth hostel. The bathroom sink had trace of dirtiness that has not been cleaned up for months (I attaches picture). We claimed it to the reception and they proposed to move to a smoking room to their "business floor" saying that it was an upgrade. Well the upgrade was just the color of the moquette from green to yellow and of course a most cleaned room that at this point it sounds like an optional.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliapurosani1, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mauro V,

Warms greeting from Royal city of Yogyakarta!!

We do appreciate for taking your valued time to write constructive review according your last journey at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta recently.

Let me respond about the subject referred in pictures. The shower room walls are made or marble, which is a stone of wide tonality on its nature, hence stone is darker in some areas but this is part is its natural pattern. The sink is not dirty but it shows the material it is made of. We took the opportunity to explain this to your tour operator when we first heard of your comment.

Certainly we valued your feedback as our aim is to provide better service for guests in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at gex@meliajogja.com should you require further assistance at your convenience.

We look forward to welcome you and your wife back to this hotel or any other Melia Hotels International hotel.

Best regards,
Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

good place to stay when I had business trip in Jogja. Quite strategic place to reach my business destionation and on the other hand easy to find refreshing places around the hotel after my business was done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliapurosani1, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear fanny d,

We thank you for chosen our hotel and taking your time to write excellent review according last journey at Melia Purosani.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in a club Level room and did not receive value for the extra cost. It started bad when we emailed via the address on their website to organise an airport pickup. No one picked us up as it was the weekend. Getting a taxi from the airport was little hassle luckily. Do not book suites or club rooms as you get little for it. You are better off just booking a basic room, as there in no real difference to the club experience or the rooms. The view out the window is either the pool area or a few old buildings. Even though the hotel is in a great position to Marlboro road and the palaces and great shopping, and also has an excellent pool and kids area, we felt like we were an imposition on the management. Paying for the club Level experience is usually great value, but don't bother at the Melia Purosani. We had to complain to management but just got apologies, then we wrote an email to Head office via the web, but the emails do not get answered on weekends? When we did talk to a manager their response was that we were the only people in club level, so nothing would be provided. We did end up being allowed some drinks with a bowl of peanuts from 4 to 6pm, and had to remind staff every day that we were club guests. Just don't bother with the melia hotel group. Worst thing is that the wifi is so slow, my tablet turned off from waiting. Management at melia have a lot to answer for. I will never stay at melia hotels ever again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliapurosani1, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Ron E,

Thank you for selecting Meliá Purosani Yogyakarta and for taking valued time to write the constructive feedback following your recent stay in our hotel.

it is with regret to learn that you had to go through unpleasant experiences during your stay, which was caused by several problems according to your feedback. It has been personally handle and apologize by the Front Office Manager the next morning to compensate with free drop arrangement upon your departure as well as the access to have free flow alcoholic drinks such as beer in our Soka Lounge at the lobby for the entire stay.

However certainly we valued your constructive feedback as our aim is always to improve the service that we provide for our customers.
I am personally insist to have the opportunity of providing a better service to you whenever your travels bring you back our way. Please feel free to contact me directly at gex@meliajogja.com to arrange your future booking.

I hope and trust that we will welcome you again to this or any other Meliá Hotels International hotel.

With best regards,

Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We used this hotel as a base to get to know this part of the world. Our room was spacious and comfortable with views over the pool and garden. The staff are knowledgable and very efficient with excellent service all round.
We dined in at the main restaurant and found the food to be very good, however the service was slow and a bit tardy... however the purpose was to overcome jetlag and relax before a long diving trip, as well as some sightseeing... Full marks! It does what is says on the box!

Room Tip: Try to get an "inside" room. The rooms facing the street are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliapurosani1, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear PatsoJohannesburg,

We thank you for chosen us and taking your time to write positive review saying very good hotel, excellent location and great value according your last journey at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.

Following your observation we had address to the Department Head concern for immediate action and I am sure it would be motivates us to provide better service in the future.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved the swimming pool in the garden. It is accommodate for children and the pool guard will monitor all guest activity there. The view from the room to the pool area was superb. We loved to the the sop buntut, it was so delicious and recommended. Certainly will be back for the next visit to Yogya.

Room Tip: Room facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retno r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dono P, Manager at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear retno r,

We appreciated for your excellent review saying 'Good pool and nice food' following your last journey at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.

Certainly will look forward to welcome you again if your next trip bring you back to us.
Regards,

Dono Prasetyo - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.0 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Purosani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Purosani

Property: Melia Purosani
Address: Jl. Suryotomo 31, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Purosani 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Yogyakarta, alongside the Jalan Malioboro shopping centre. 1 km. from the Sultan's Palace. 17 kms. from the temple of Prambanan. 27 kms. from the Parangtritis Beach and 42 kms. from the temple of Borobudur, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Purosani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Purosani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing