We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everone was helpfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Ranked #88 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Germany
1 review
“Everone was helpfull”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed here before back in 2007 which was not satifactory as compare to my last visit in Sept. I see a lot of changes especially now that they have a new section call the premier floor with comtemporary set up. My room was facing the airport and it was a good view of the village and a part of the town buildings.

The bathtub was designed in such a way that water keeps getting onto the floor and I always have to asked for an extra towel so as to put onto the floor. I prefer the old classic room where there were more funitures like the one I stayed in 2007 with a pool view.

The overall service was excellent , The staff are all wonderful and friendly and the food was awesome with the traditional javanese music played at the lobby during the muslim celebration...cannot extol the virtues of this new and improved hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloodclotgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
22
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gelang
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2009

I enjoyed staying at Saphir Hotel because it was close to the airport, My family had fun taking the tri -cycle to malioboro street in the evening, The breakfast superd , the staff was friend , the service was good , the rooms were clean and I could serve the internet from the room which was good so as to keep track of my work while I holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamilgalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

The reviews here, they're not entirely false. I had to check in this hotel, just because I had to come for work. Everything was last minute and this was all I got. Because school's out and most hotels are fully booked. Even this one held about 5-6 seminars. You can imagine the crowd. And yes, most were smoking. The elevators need maintenance, so is the plumbing. You can't do anything about the loud noise coming from the nearby mosque. Just ask for a room that's located in the front area of the hotel. The location is not far from the airport, so I may suggest this hotel if you're transitting a flight and had to stay overnight. But other than that, you might as well look for other hotels.

  • Liked — Near the airport
  • Disliked — Room and plumbing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Aji2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yogyakarta hotels

Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2007

I chose this hotel because I read a reasonably good review on Hotelclub website. The staffs are friendly. However, as soon as we entered the lobby, we could smell a strong smell of cigarettes. People smoke on the lobby and at the restaurant. I was very annoyed that while we were having our breakfast, people who sit next to the buffet smoked like trains.

We went to the swimming pool and we saw the water was dirty. We decided to give it a miss.

Oh, have I mentioned the lifts?? Well, we really had to watch out for the lifts. As soon as the door started opening, we had to push our way in. The lift closed so quickly and if we didn't enter quickly, the door would squash us.

The corridor is dark and the room is so so. The shower kept changing from hot to cold and vice versa. Our room was on the 3rd floor and facing the shopping centre next door. When the made announcement, we could hear it as it was so loud. The shopping centre has a food court on the top floor, which come in handy.

The only thing I like about staying here was the massage. We had traditional massage and it was cheap. The only thing is, they did not mention that the massage was run separately by other people so we had to pay cash.

I only recommend this hotel to smokers but apart from that, I can't see why this hotel is 4 star and I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — The massage
  • Disliked — The cigarette smell & the lifts
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigletSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Stayed here last August. The good thing about this hotel is that it's adjacent to a shopping mall (Saphir Square) that has indoor ice skate ring. Another shopping mall close by is the new Ambarukmo Plaza.

Lobby is dark, the room is a bit outdated and the breakfast is very standard. Some of you might be disturbed by prayer call from a mosque right behind the hotel. However, you will find that for the price you pay (less than Rp. 350.000), the value you get is actually not so bad.

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank radjaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta
Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta
#90 of 204 in Yogyakarta
188 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crystal Lotus Hotel
Crystal Lotus Hotel
#9 of 19 in Sleman
140 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Jayakarta Yogyakarta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Merapi Merbabu Hotel
Merapi Merbabu Hotel
#11 of 20 in Depok
132 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Sahid Rich Jogja Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta

Property: Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto no. 38, Yogyakarta 55221, Indonesia (Formerly Hotel Saphir Yogyakarta)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a conveniently central location in the city center and business district , Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta is the most comfortable hotel in this exciting city.Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta is a great place to conduct business, catch up with friends and family, or just relax. Next to the city's most famous shopping center, Ambarrukmo Plaza, our hotel offers a comfortable and an unforgettable experience. Warm , friendly service awaits you from the moment you step through the front door until the last stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing