We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Raffles

Casa de Raffles
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Raffles
Sepang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

hardly to find this hostel as most people were not sure about the place. we kept asking around before finally found it. however, it's a walking distance to Malioboro street.
staffs were great, helpful and speak english well..
bathroom a bit poor, only two and one of it didn't work well.
we stayed in dorm, spacious but the aircond wasn't work well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We got the suite and the room was huge! Plenty of space, clean, same goes with the bathroom. It looks like a previous mansion that was converted into hotel rooms. Internet is weak upstairs but its free. Location is not ideal and the only food walking distance (within 5 minutes) was a bakery and fried chicken place. Hence, I would suggest just brining snacks as the hotel does not serve any food for purchase (or perhaps they could not communicate with us that it was for sale) But, if you will be hiring a driver anyways, I would suggest to asking the driver to drop you off at Malioboro for a couple of hours at the end of your hire and then pick you up to take you home. Malioboro is not walking distance at all. Service was pleasant and we were able to arrange tours to Prambanan and Borobodur with no problem. English is limited but they are patient to understand. The hotel offers a free pickup from the airport, but there was a mixup and there wasn't anyone waiting for us at the airport. We were able to call using a payphone and were picked up 15 minutes later. Not sure if this happens often, while frustrating at first, its a discrepancy I can overlook as it took us a good hour to get out of immigration. Take this anecdote as you like.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaystles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived very late to find a closed hotel, after a 10 minute call with the receptionists (weirdly reception is nowhere near the front door!) we finally got in to be welcomed by a huge, spotlessly clean room. It was far better than I was expecting from first impressions of the hotel (the very grand, but tired lobby is filled with very strange ornaments in cabinets). A very comfortable bed, good A/C and a large clean bathroom.
Locations isn't brilliant, it's a 15 minute walk to the main street, but it's not too far away for it to be too inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel at good location. Rooms were spacious with airco and nive bath roons. The breakfeast was very good. It started almost all Indonesian but theysaw we did not eat to much of the indonesian food in teh morning. Subsequently they also made very nice fresh chicken sandwiches. The indonesian food is excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Their English is very basic. Please remember they will not say always that they do not understand.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emarc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#53 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#37 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoz Bed & Breakfast
Hoz Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 212 in Yogyakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Venezia Garden
Venezia Garden
#12 of 212 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
#2 of 212 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nextdoor
Nextdoor
#26 of 212 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Raffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Raffles

Property: Casa de Raffles
Address: Kpg. Ngampilan, Yogyakarta 55261, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa de Raffles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Casa de Raffles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing