We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be wrong if you stay here, it is really excellent”
Review of Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andrea Hotel
Ranked #18 of 524 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had no trouble locating the place, which is a real surprise given the compactness of building arrangement in the area! We took a Transjogja bus 1A from the airport, alighted at Malioboro stop 1, crossed the road, turned right and then left at the first junction and walked a minute before finding the lane exactly as described on their web page.

It was a zero hassle check-in/check-out - We checked-in after our showers in the room. And again freshened up before walking to the train station hours after we checked-out.

We are minutes from the main shopping area. Right at the corner, you have a mini-mart for groceries needs. Food and beverage outlets abound depending on your taste, appetite and budget.

The place is remarkably clean. And it is easy to see why. We were there when a volcano went into action filling the place with a thick layer of ash. But within hours, the whole alley was washed and gave a false impression of pristine calm that shocked us when we went out into the main streets. And the owner and staff kept up cleaning the whole area every few minutes!

Thanks to Sammy who was so helpful, we finally found our way out when the airport was closed. He even tried to help us book train tickets online on our behalf! And, oh, the train station is much, much nearer than you think but no worries about noisy trains!

Since we cannot catch all the sights in Jogja this time, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: You can book the a/c room with attached bathroom in advance to avoid disappointment of a full house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

The rooms don't have windows, which is weird right? And I had a toilet with no sink, but the staff is kind and helpful and the rooms are clean and with air condition or fans. Good if you don't want to spend much.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cos32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Love about the room, the little alley is great to rest after a long day in Jogja. Of course the owner, Sammy is very helpful...Its more like i was visiting my friend's home rather than staying at hotel. If you want to stay in Andrea, please remember that the best choice is to book it first, because if you a walk in travellers, i have to say good luck having your room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangjo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Clean room.
Nice environtment.
Kind staffs.
Pretty sure I would like to return to stay at Andrea on my next vacation.
Inside the room, they have clean sheet, minimalist arrangement & TV cable.
Wifi is good also.
The only thing that I think a bit annoying is the smell of bleach on the sheet.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dindadund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is long overdue but it still counts! Stayed here for 4 nights, and it was amazing! The guy on the morning shift (who I forgot to get the name... what a shame) was very accommodating in getting good tour companies. Sam, the owner, was the same. Everyone's incredibly helpful! It's also very accessible to the main Malioboro road, train station and tour companies. The room was clean and spacious, and the veranda is a really a great place to unwind after a long day of walking around. Really really great! Finally found a decent spot in Yogya :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymkymkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at Andrea hotel for 3 nights. The location of this place is great, very close to the train station and in walking distance to all the sights in Yogya. The owner is very nice too and helpful if you want to book any tours around Yogya (the tours are well-priced). The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. The hotel doesn't really serve food (just snacks and drinks) but there are many good restaurants right next to it that serve food all day. The veranda up front is a nice place to relax and meet fellow travellers. Only downside was that the wifi didn't work well with my iPhone, it was VERY slow, so I usually ended up going to the neighbours for wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The location of this guesthouse was great. Set on a small street but still close to the bustling Malioboro street and plenty of restaurants. The porch was a nice place to sit to enjoy a late evening drink or breakfast in the morning and the staff was extremely helpful in setting up day trips for us to Prambanan and Borobudur. Plus how can you beat the price! Room was clean, but expectedly small and air conditioner worked well. The bathroom in our private double room was a little cramped and the shower did not have a stall, so it was sort of just spraying around the toilet and sink. Otherwise, no complaints here beyond an occasionally spotty wireless internet. Would definitely recommend staying!

Room Tip: Spring the extra few bucks for the A/C. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#31 of 212 in Yogyakarta
676 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#62 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bladok Losmen
Bladok Losmen
#9 of 524 in Yogyakarta
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#10 of 296 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabin Hotel
The Cabin Hotel
#83 of 524 in Yogyakarta
63 reviews
0 mi away
Losmen Setia Kawan
Losmen Setia Kawan
#32 of 296 in Yogyakarta
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea Hotel

Address: Sosrowijayan Wetan GT I/140, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the Sosrowijayan area of Yogyakarta, also known as The International Village. A few steps away from the famous Malioboro Street and a 5 minutes walk to the train station, guests do not need any public transport to get around. We guarantee clean & comfortable rooms. The breakfast is served on our terrace which allows you to get in touch with the local people. Included in our rates: Tax & Service, breakfast, Wi-Fi, toiletries and a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing