We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveller rating
793
294
62
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
294
62
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids playground grand duck king summer palace premier room luxury hotel the executive lounge chinese restaurant free mini bar best hotel in town welcome drink traditional touch swimming pool room was spacious sofa bed breakfast buffet rain shower hotel lobby
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

overal its a great hotel, i just a problem when checking in, came in at 4 PM, they said the room was not ready, I had to wait for 30 minutes, The welcome drink was great, traditional javanese drink. Breakfast was excellent, a very wide choice of traditional food and western food. It had all the choice of traditional Yogyakarta food. For the rooms, make sure ask for the rooms not facing the pool, very noisy. Large big rooms, just right for couples or family of 4. Location is also good, located in the heart of yogyakarta and surrounded with local restaurants.

Room Tip: for peace and quiet don't choose the rooms facing the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliuscr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey N, Manajer Umum at Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Mr. Julius,

Greetings from Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta and thank you for sharing your experiences online. We are glad to hear that you liked our welcome drink and excellent Breakfast. Traditional Food and Beverages are two of the things that we try to maintain to liven up our Javanese culture. We sincerely apologize for the check-in problem, we will share this issue to the department concerned to improve our services in the future.

We do hope that we still have another chance to give you better experience next time you visit Yogyakarta. We would love to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mey Nurnaningsih
Corporate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

My family of four with two sons has just stayed for 5 nights in executive rooms in this beautiful hotel. The design of this hotel is gorgeous right down to fine details, even the room swipe cards are little works of art. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The linen and toiletries are top quality- the toiletries are Bvlgari. The hotel even smells beautiful with the scent of lemongrass throughout. The pool area is lovely. The wifi works well. We were very well looked after by the staff in the executive lounge. The lounge is spacious and tranquil. We enjoyed the evening canapés and drinks from 5-7pm. We enjoyed breakfast in the main Kayumanis restaurant which has a decent spread of western , Asian and Javanese Choices. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Although not in the center of town we used taxi's to get around, which are cheap to use. There is a little mini mart opposite the hotel which also has an ATM.The only issue we had was the sound proofing of the rooms. We could hear the people in the room next to us through the connecting door. This issue was solved by moving both our rooms so we were connecting to each other .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Apsara65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey N, Manajer Umum at Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Apsara,

Greetings from Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Tentrem as your place to stay in Yogyakarta. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about the gorgeous and the art-detail about our Hotel, spacious rooms, top quality toiletries, and lovely swimming pool. Despite this all, we are saddened to hear your comment about the soundproofing issue. We are currently taking steps to fixing the issue. We hope that we still have the opportunities to serve you again and present you better-staying experience in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Tentrem, on your next visit to Yogyakarta.

Best regards,

Mey Nurnaningsih
Corporate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in the middle of the city, near Tugu.

Room is big with 2 queen-sized bedding. A big long sofa can also be used for sleeping if needed. What I like is a large bathroom with glass cubicle separating shower and toilet bowl.

All beverages in the refrigerator are free of charge. Fruits in the basket is also provided in room at first day. Hotel staff are all friendly.

Huge fitness center with Yoga room near the swimming pool and Kayu Manis restaurant where we had our breakfast are all located in LG.

Breakfast is okay with lots of choices of Indonesian cuisine.

There is a small warong selling soto lamongan from 6am to 2pm across the hotel, not a local cuisine but delicious. There are circle K and Alpha mini mart just across the hotel too. Very convenient.

Malioboro the down town is only 15 minutes away with cab.

One downside that I found is the hotel can’t lend us a plate with eating utensils if we don’t order anything.

There is one day we came back to the room finding that there is a leak from the ceiling just a step from the door, from the aircon pipe. We immediately called the service center. The repairman came pretty fast and fixed the issue in 10 minutes. what is good of this hotel is the service center always called back to check whether what we requested had been fulfilled.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank YardleyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey N, Manajer Umum at Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Yardley Young,

Greetings from Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Tentrem as your place to stay in Yogyakarta.
We appreciate your positive feedback about our Hotel about your recent stay with us. We are taking notes that our large bathroom, friendly staff, and huge fitness center were making your stay more enjoyable. We are glad as well to hear that our Service Center and Repairman were quickly actions to your complaint of leaking. We will let them know how much of an impact they made on your experience.

We are looking forward to having you again on your next visit to Yogyakarta in the near future.

Best regards,

Mey Nurnaningsih
Corporate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Tthe hotel is considered lto be on the luxurious side for the city of Yogyakarta and people talk about the hotel.

The deluxe room (the chepaest) is spacious. The room is very clean
The bed and pillows are very comfortable to sleep on.
Breakfast are plenty to choose from either Indonesian or International food.

Room Tip: To get good rate consider book direct.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bugikamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey N, General Manager at Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Mr. Bugi,

Greetings from Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Tentrem as your place to stay in Yogyakarta.
We appreciate your positive feedback about our Hotel, especially for your compliments of our Room and Breakfast choices. We feel so lucky when you’re mentioning us as the luxurious side of Yogyakarta, thank you for taking time to send us a review of your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Best regards,

Mey Nurnaningsih
Corporate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We spent our year end holiday from 24 Dec 2017 to 1 Jan 2018 in Hotel Tentrem Yogya (the word "tentrem" refers to a feeling of peacefulness). Location is strategically located and close to Malioboro within walking distance or by becak. We made an early bird booking for 2 deluxe room non-smoking floor with interconnecting doors. Hotel was fully booked and crowded because of the peak season, but we found the overall service right from day 1 to last day was excellent. Breakfast was super with lots of choices from traditional Javanese Gudeg to Western and Oriental choices. For traveler who wants to stay fit, I recommend to use the gym that is well equipped - but bring your own mineral water from your hotel room (there is a charge of IDR 20K for a bottle at the gym, but free from the dispenser). Unfortunately there has been 3 power cuts during our stay but did not last more than one minute each. The small fridge in the twin room did not work when we turn it on, but was replaced with a new one within 30 minutes. The hotel is a perfect fit for family with small kids as the playground is very nice and safe for children. I like to suggest to add more TV channels and more variety for the room service menu.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms nearby the lift and preferably on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdaenuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mey N, General Manager at Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Greetings from Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Tentrem as your place to stay in Yogyakarta.

We are glad to receive your positive comments and hear that you and your family enjoyed your end-year holiday with us. We do appreciate your valuable feedback for us including your report about the third times blackout and the small fridge that has been out of service during your stay with us. Glad to know that it has been replaced quickly.

We also thank you for your suggest of adding more TV channels and more variety. It is only through feedback such as yours, we are able to maintain and improve our service for our valued guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta.

Best regards,

Mey Nurnaningsih
Corporate General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews