We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good way to kill time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gembira Loka Zoo

Gembira Loka Zoo
Ranked #24 of 229 things to do in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good way to kill time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Our flight was changed to an earlier time so we had to find a way to kill time before check in. Zoo seemed like a good idea, although there was some kind of school outing going on it was fun and busy. Animals looked healthy and it was fun. I think we were asked if people could take our pictures more than the anime were having theirs taken though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Watts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    149
    69
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Probably the best attraction in Jogja .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

There was lots to do here other than just view animals . There was elephant rides , camel rides and boat and train rides , you even had the opportunity to cycle on water . Admission is very cheap and is slightly different to other zoos I have been to before . There is not a huge amount of individual animals but there is a great variety of reptiles and a very interactive experience with a great variety of exotic birds . To my surprise , there was even penguins and is also home to " Mister Burger " which I also enjoyed TWICE .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank James69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Satisfactory with room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Zoo is clean and spacious. Animals look healthy in general though the orang utan and the Komodo dragons seems to be on the chubby side. Exhibit are generally spacious for the animals and quite a lot of them are open exhibits too. They have a new Jackass (African) penguin exhibit and it is probably the best exhibit in the zoo! Penguins look happy and were actively swimming in the exhibit pool.

Some of the exhibits however needs some renovation as they look old and is a tad too small for the animals for example; the Malayan sun bear exhibit looks rather bare and very concreted without natural substrate.

A good place to visit and the animals are well-treated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purwokerto, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and clean zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I 've been to Jogja many times and never thought of visiting the zoo until I have kids. I searched reviews of Gembira Loka zoo, considering that most zoos in Indonesia are in very poor conditions, and read some good reviews.
It was indeed a very nice place to visit.Clean and well maintained. My kids (7yo and 3.5yo) love it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela Dwi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than we expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went to Jogja so many times, i had never thought to see the zoo. This was my first time came to see it because I was waiting for the check in time. Entrance fee to Gembira Loka Zoo is Rp 20,000 (I came on Thursday). They are open since 7.30 am in the morning. After paying for ticket, you'll get a map with information of animal's feeding time and attractions. Actually, GLZ is so much better than we expected. The animals are well-treated and healthy, and the staffs are all nice and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank michimayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gembira Loka Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Gembira Loka Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing