We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shadow puppet show”
Review of Sonobudoyo Museum

Sonobudoyo Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.80*
and up
Full-Day Yogyakarta Explorer Including Lunch
Ranked #46 of 251 things to do in Yogyakarta
Attraction details
Margate
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shadow puppet show”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Go knowing what to expect- and leave early because it is boring.

Its great to see this for 30 minutes but as there is no English translation you can be looking at a screen with stationery puppets for a few minutes while the narration is given in Indonesian. This soon gets boring as you cannot follow the story.

However it is fun to see the show from both sides and worth the cheap 20,000 entrance fee.

This could be really successful if the musicians came out with a smile and there was an English translation.

On exit we were encouraged to see the processing room. Again this could be great if someone could be bothered to tell me about the process. Instead 3 men stared at me and I left feeling a bit uncomfortable!

Helpful?
5 Thank BeckyinMargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    62
    33
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“On my bucket list”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

have wanted to see one of these performances for a long time and go to do it here. Only a few in the audience but that did not distract - the orchestra was marvellous and the on "screen" action was great - spent some time after with the manager learning about what they are doing there and seeing how they made the figures - you can buy some there as well - this is well worth a visit and stay for a whole show.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lierganes, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Shadow puppets = snore puppets”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I went to see the shadow puppets here and was really excited, but an hour of watching shadow puppets kick each other was enough. 80% of the audience that night got up and walked out before me. Needless to say, I didn't see the end.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyJM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smallish museum with excellent staff”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a medium sized museum with a good number of artefacts. The 5,000 Rp entrance fee is very reasonable and seems to include a free guide (at no point did ours try to sell us anything or hang around at the end expecting a tip). A fair number of status and carvings are displayed outside the museum and you have the opportunity to play traditional instruments in the foyer. The internal curation is pretty standard with only a small portion of the labels translated into English. However our guide was able to explain most of the exhibits in good English and was extremely enthusiastic about the collection. It took us approximately 1.5 hours to tour the museum which were 1.5 hours well spent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Conscious_Fragment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We couldn't see the puppet show, but the museum itself is interesting, although there are few explanations jn English. It is located near the Kraton, so you can go there to escape the hot weather. Staff was very very friendly

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonobudoyo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sonobudoyo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing