We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Phoenix Hotel is a good choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Phoenix Hotel is a good choice!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The Phoenix Hotel is located in a wonderful colonial building with a beautiful interior very close to the city center. It has several facilities, of which I like the spa and cooking lessons a lot. They offer a rich breakfast with a big variety of choices including a complete Indonesian dish. And during breakfast there is (soft) live gamelan music. Very nice!
The staff is very friendly, helpful and honest. When I was about to leave to my next destination by taxi they called me and handed me my envelope with the money which I hid under my mattress the evening before.
Thanks for everything guys! (By the way, I come back in october 2013.)

Vivienne Philippus

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,000
    1,017
    222
    42
    25
See reviews for
709
1,375
286
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend. We had booked a Superior room and were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves upgraded to a Deluxe room.

Room was very spacious, modern and well equipped, and had a balcony with good views of the city. It was beautifully decorated with a batik theme (batik bed runners, batik seals on the wall etc.), and had a warm charm to it.

WiFi is included in the room rate and works well in the room and in all common areas. It was fast enough to stream videos smoothly.

We did not have dinner but did have desserts at Paprika restaurant, which were very good. Breakfast buffet was extensive, with a good combination of Asian and Western items.

My wife booked a two hour spa package, and found it to be of a high standard.

Common areas felt like a museum, with a fascinating collection of traditional Javanese handicrafts, Chinese porcelain, wood carvings and stone carvings. The building itself is 95 years old and is very well maintained, we spent a fair amount of time walking along the courtyard and corridors, and admiring the antiques on display.

Staff were very polite, always serving with a smile. They provide turn-down service, which we did not expect at the price we were paying.

Should have stayed one more night to truly enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floor for good views over Yogyakarta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel during easter weekend in Yogyakarta. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very nice layout. Took a regular suite as we have a 16yr old daughter. Service is good. Food is great, service is good. We didn't hear the prayers from our room. We were in room 249. View of room is not good but guess we were on the 'good' side as we didn't hear anything at all in the evening nor in the early morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover_intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We very much appreciate for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

good better best...when you need to rest , choose this from the rest. central , good food, awesome art, friendly staff.
and the best of all ...english speaking.

the rooms are small in comparison to the other things mentioned.

Room Tip: choose the pool side. the outer rooms have no great views. remember the 430 prayers from the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajkumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience related with your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very nice hotel. Very good breakfast buffet from American to Europe to Indonesian breakfasts. Rooms were quiet until the morning "call to prayer," but we were up early to visit the temples. The hotel had a box breakfast for us at 4AM when we went to Borobudur for sunrise. We used the hotel car services and were pleased with the results.

Rooms were comfortable and we would stay here again if we returned to Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We would like to thank you for staying with The Phoenix Hotel and using our car for your sunrise experience at the temple. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I loved this hotel...as I told my server, this place has "character." I have been staying in Jakarta for a week and a half, at the Mandarin Hotel (bar none as far as service is concerned)..but there was something about the Hotel Phoenix that I loved...perhaps it was the pool, the batik behind the bed, or the old fashioned faucets...I just loved it...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We appreciate for staying with is during your visit to Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Beautiful well located hotel full of artifacts. It’s like sleeping in a museum. Spotless maintained property with upmost helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast, good choice of foods for lunch and dinner. We also used the hotel transport for our excursions. Probably pricier than an independent agent in town but it saves you the hassle of searching a decent one. Drivers where very friendly, helpful and nearly brand new cars. Don’t hesitate if going to Yogya, go to the Phoenix!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your review concerning your experience during your stay at our hotel. We were pleased to read about your positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 205 in Yogyakarta
955 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 205 in Yogyakarta
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,062 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing