We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone has heard or been to Luxor and Luxenburg, The Phoenix is LUXURY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Denpasar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everyone has heard or been to Luxor and Luxenburg, The Phoenix is LUXURY”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

From the moment you enter the Phoenix, you will be taken aback by its modest exterior compared to what lies behind the walls. This magnificently preserved colonial building has been renovated to world class standard, whilst retaining its heritage.

It is beautifully appointed, with tasteful decor, excellent facilities ( spa, sauna, pool, gym, restaurants and bars), fabulous staff and attention to guests, excellent cuisine, and there is truly no comparison to any modern 5 star hotel you will find in Yogya, or for that matter in many other cities throughout Asia, and in fact even Europe.

Every moment at the Phoenix is a constant imprint in the mind that you are in a city steeped in history. I have been travelling to Yogya since on a 5 yearly basis since 1974, have stayed in Losmens to mid range hotels, budget accomodations and many modern hotel chains. i will not go past The Phoenix again.

It is value for money, sure a tad upmarket pricewise, and most internal items purchased can be purchased outside at a lot less, however for accomodation, service and overall comfort, I believe it can't be beat. my initial stay was for 2 days, however I was so impressed I extended an additional 3 nights and cancelled an alternative hotel booking arrangement.

My congratulations to the management and staff. i sincerely hope my next stay, (which might I add will be much sooner than the 5 yearly (as i travel to Indonesia a few times annually) as i previously mentioned.

I will certainly be recommending The Phoenix to my friends when I arrive home. It is just a pity Accor has no more than the 2 hotels available in Indonesia.

Fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank robbient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your concerns related with your experience during your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We were glad to read about your enjoyable stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    1,002
    215
    42
    23
See reviews for
692
1,359
285
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hassle-free online booking for my travel party of 7 adults. Emailed queries and requests for an extra bed were replied to speedily. Smooth check-in, well-appointed rooms. Regular rooms are small-ish. The smell of a dead rodent steadily increased in one room of ours the longer the air conditioning was kept on, so we were transferred to a suite at no extra charge. Two thumbs up for the free upgrade to a bigger and better room.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms that overlooks the small courtyard that has a fountain. Rooms overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iSPeakApp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

A must see, or must stay hotel...the original building has been restored to a high standard. It seems the staff really enjoy working here, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not too expensive, reasonable...comfortable, good quality linen and bathrooms. Pool is ok, doesn't get much sun. Massage excellent. Food in resturant was wonderful, if not a little pricy. All in all yes stay here for the atmosphere alone

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Level Contributor
380 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 968 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A landmark in Java’s cultural capital, Phoenix is for the price we pay ($80 without breakfast) one of the best value-for-money hotels we have stayed at. While retaining its colonial grandeur, rooms are quite modern and very clean, typical of five-star business hotels in Asia, even if bathroom amenities are below standard. After sending an e-mail asking for a room with balcony overlooking the open courtyard and the swimming pool, the management promptly responded that they would try their best to accommodate us though we never expected to be offered a near-corner room next to an executive suite, a long walk from the lift but truly an oasis of calm perfect for post-Borobudur rest and relaxation. “City-view” units are much noisier and the views nothing to write home about.

Although we can’t comment on the breakfast served in an elegant art-deco space, the complimentary salak is too dry, not sweet and juicy like those grown in Bali or Thailand. Budget travellers will rejoice when they discover Circle K close by but unfortunately it can take up to ten minutes just to cross the street as it’s among Yogya’s busiest. Yet the location next to Tugu monument is more asset than liability. All the major attractions can be conveniently reached within 15 minutes by Trans Jogja BRT (take bus 1A/1B from/to the airport and to/from Jalan Malioboro). For the adventurous, it’s worth rubbing elbows with locals at Angkringan Lek Man (daily 6 pm to 4 am), 15 minutes away by foot, for nasi kucing (literally cat’s rice) and kopi joss (espresso dipped with burning coal).

With its central location, amazing staff and comfortable rooms, this colonial gem is definitely on our "gold list" of hotels we can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murwillumbah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A beautiful hotel. The facilities are excellent. The staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is old style but in immaculate condition with updated amenities. The restaurants are first class with a varied menu. The hotel has a lovely pool area and its spa is wonderful. My wife and I stayed for a week in order to visit Borobodur and Prambanam both of which are easily accessible by the local (cheap) taxis. The only problem we had the whole time was a corrupt customs officer and his friends at the airport on departure. Beware the scam they try of claiming anything as an historical artefact. Despite this I would go again as the area is fascinating and the hotel is an absolute delight.

Room Tip: We stayed high up where it was quiet. Stay away from function rooms as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We very much appreciate for sharing your review related with your stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked a 3-night stay for a King Executive and were upgraded to a suite facing the pool. The hotel is charming and its set-up reminded us a bit of the Raffles Hotel in Singapore.
1. Restaurants in the City.
Kesuma: Exquisite but service is slow. If you have an early morning the next day, start your dinner early.
Via Via: best Gado-Gado we have eaten.
Restaurant on site at the hotel: Good local food. Reasonably priced for a hotel. Breakfasts are fantastic.

2. Transport.
We used Annas Tour for a car and driver. They are fairly professional.
Bus 1A. The bus conductors spoke English and were helpful. But the bus could get really crowded and hot.

3. Hotel spa. Acceptable, could be better.

4. I did not give the hotel a 5 because they kept failing to replenish shampoos and soaps. The quality of the toiletries could also be improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. I am sorry that your experience concerning the bathroom amenities did not meet your expectations. Our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My family (myself, hubby, 4 years old son and an elderly mum) stayed at Phoenix Hotel for 5 days and 4 nights during our visit to Yogyakarta last April. We had a wonderful experience staying there as the hotel employees are very helpful and friendly. We never had problems communicating as they spoke fluent English. The rooms are very clean and their room service was great. I would like to say THANK YOU to Ms Ira (Reservation Dept) for arranging our requirements perfectly without any hiccups. Not forgetting the hotel employees (I wish I can remember all the names) who served us from the day we arrived until we departed.
We also booked our transportation with the hotel itself and everything was planned perfectly. Our driver was Pak Dani and Pak Susilo and I must say both of them are very friendly and patient. Next, we tried Ayurvedic and another massage at their Spa and Massage Centre. It was very refreshing and priced at reasonable pricing.
Breakfast will be served at Ground Floor and the Hotel served both local and international menu. Do try their local “Jamu Drink”.

Room Tip: Try to get room at their second building facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhimo_Putranto, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your kind words have been passed to our team especially Ms. Ira, Pak Dani and Pak Susilo. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 202 in Yogyakarta
937 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 202 in Yogyakarta
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,051 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing