We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep Impression ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at The Grand Phoenix back in August for 3 nights. It is truly a grand hotel and MUST STAY should you be visiting in Yogyakarta. Very rich heritage, and very well maintained for its cleanness and dutch architecture - Simply beautiful. Even months after staying, I still recalled the beautiful outdoor setting for breakfast (see the attached image). Such serenity and calm setting you never encounter before. I especially love the old grand piano (still sounding great) at the restaurant. They have jazz night on some evenings.

We love the awesome service too (thank you!) - As our hotel booking was pool side view and we were given the non-pool side during our check-in due to full occupancy from other existing guests in the hotel. Our request was followed up within an hour pertaining to an availability for pool side view the next day and even offered to transfer the luggage for us if we were out catching the sunrise at Borobudur. So, dining by the balcony was an awesome thing to do along with their delicious duck confit and steaks.

The pleasant, friendly and always smiling team of hotel staff really goes beyond their service. ;) In summary, it also has a beautiful swimming pool too. The hotel room and bathroom was awesome as well. Simply worth your every stay in Yogya and I'm pretty sure it'd give you a very deep impression whenever you think about Yogya, like i do. ;) Moreover, the location is very centralized if you plan to visit Borobudur, Pambranan Temple or within limits to Malioboro Street.

We will definitely return back to this hotel again if we decided to visit Yogyakarta.

P/S: it's even nicer than what you see in the picture. :))

Room Tip: Choose pool side view and be sure to dine by the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovegurugong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Lovegurugong

Thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that you spent time with us when you were in Yogyakarta and I appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and service.

We do hope you will choose to stay at the Phoenix during your next visit and recommending us as the best hotel in Yogyakarta .

Very warm regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 3,474 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights and we really had a grand time. The hotel has an old-world charm with an abundance of cultural elements--carved wood wall mosaics, batik displays, antique furnitures--fused with modern touches. We stayed in one of the rooms on the 2nd floor at the old building. Very cozy with just enough space for two. The bathroom fixtures are quite old, though, but they work perfectly fine so it's not really an issue.

The hotel also provides tour packages so you really don't have to plan anything. The staff are very helpful and friendly, too! Totally the best place to stay in Yogyakarta, no doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KabbieRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear KabbieRA

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…

Thank you so much for posting your enthusiastic recommendation of the newly rejuvenated and completely refurbished our hotel.

We are pleased that you took advantages of our facilities and and enjoyed your time with our friendly staff. I will shared this with the team, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our product and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our beautiful property and giving you even better services.

Very best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Colonial and character hotel with a great deal of presence and charm about it. Staff very efficient and friendly. It is built around 2 squares, the 1st contains an open air eating area and the 2nd newer block overlooks the swimming pool. We had a bedroom over looking the eating area and the room had a small balcony. The room was nice with good fixtures and fittings but was quite small, especially the bathroom. Also the balcony view is okay if you look down but to the right was a large unsightly building which appeared derelict and took the edge off it. The food was ok and nicely presented but drinks are expensive to say the least.

Room Tip: Go for the newer block overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear GraeneLancashire

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta….

We would like to thank you for giving us your impression; our guest feedbacks are very important to us and help us to improve the level of our services.

We will keep in mind your comments and always try to provide exiting experiences and try to make people feel special in our Heritage Hotel.

Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Phoenix Hotel was a pleasure to stay in. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the hotel had charisma to burn. This is an old world hotel which is in excellent condition and very well maintained. The shower in my room was more of a downpour than a shower and it was very enjoyable, especially after a day in the heat of Yogyakarta.

Would I stay there again? absolutely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisKay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear ChrisKay H

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…….

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on your stay, which is always helpful to improve our level of service and standards.

It is an honor to hear that you are especially satisfied with our staff; and your kind remarks about our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta soon.

Warmest Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It is truly a heritage hotel in Yogyakarta. From the lobby, the garden, the pool, and even the hallway shows the historic values of this hotel. The room is modern with a touch of traditional Javanese culture. Breakfast is also excellent because it has various selection of traditional Javanese food and western food. One suggestion to management, it seems the rooms is quite old and need some retouching to make the guest feels more comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Ucartech

Greetings from the Memorable Hotel in Yogyakarta

It brings us joy to know that you had a wonderful time during your stay and you wish to recommend our property.

We take a good note of your comment on our rooms, we will do our best to make your stay more comfortable and to maintain the heritage of our hotel.

Thank you and we do hope that you return to Yogyakarta soon and will stay with us again.


Very Warm Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Phoenix is a fantastic experience from arrival till leaving the hotel.
You feel like a King, a very comfortable hotel. Everything in the building is 5 stars.
Most important the friendly people working in the hotel. I have been everyhhere in the world but the Phoenix is TOP

Room Tip: all rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rene1DenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Reene1DenHag

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Your comments “ Fantastic experience, comfortable hotel, friendly staff and TOP Service that we provide” do motivate us in our strive to provide high standard of service and a memorable experience. It is much appreciated.

Thanks for highly recommending our Hotel and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon in Yogyakarta.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Walked into this hotel , it was like going back in time. The grandeur, of the court yards , wonderful place for dining, out in the open, feels like we went back in time, service was what to expect from this type of hotel. Breakfast was a wonderful experience , with a lot of variety. The view from my private balcony, was peaceful & comfortable. The swimming pool, was restfull, seating round the pool was comfortable & serene

I would come again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Bernie S

Warm greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for your very nice remarks on our property, facilities and breakfast that we provide.

We surely thrive to please our guest and make sure your stay is matching your expectations.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that you will return to our Heritage hotel soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,033 reviews
1 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 212 in Yogyakarta
633 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#12 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing