We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heritage in Jogja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“heritage in Jogja”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a delightful hotel with nooks and crannies to explore and a haven in busy Yogyakarta. Appearance is slightly on the jaded side. The staff are charming and very hospitable. Rooms with balconies (ours overlooking the fountain courtyard although not noisy).
Only criticism would be that the supplies in the rooms all had the appearance of having had a long life before we arrived!
The only sightseeing made available is by hired car/driver; we didn't find any coach trips which would have given more info about the city and the sights being visited. Our drivers arranged by the hotel spoke v limited English but the local guides had learnt many speeches about their world heritage sights although couldn't really cope with conversation or questions well.
The main sights are very do-able over a weekend from this hotel and the reception desk are happy to help visitors fit everything in.
Taxis from the airport are very organized / controlled at IDR60,000 to the hotel, a car back from the hotel to the airport being double.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JJJJ253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear JJJJ253

Warmest greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Thank you for your very nice remarks on our property, room and outstanding staff.
We surely thrive to please our guest and make sure to reach your expectation.

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our drivers and the rooms.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that you return to Yogyakarta soon and will stay with us.

Best regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    1,033
    228
    42
    26
See reviews for
721
1,394
288
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was one of the best hotels of our holiday. The hotel has a historical feel to it and the room we had overlooking the pool with balcony was great. The staff were all very friendly, especially in the bar, albeit the prices were the usual marked up price - watch out for the taxes and service that is not included in the price (but this is noted on the drinks list).

It's a shame that we are unlikely to go back to Yogyakarta as we'd really like to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the_hair_thief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear The_hair_thief

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta for your leisure destination and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that you had enjoyable experiences in our historical hotel. I really appreciate your kind remarks about our team, room and the ambience that we provide.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Very Warm Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buren, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is fabulous! Nicely and tasteful decoration, breakfast is extraordinary! It has an enormous amount of choices for all different tastes. The local dishes are very tastful! Employees are very dedicated and very polite!
The swimming pooll is great! The bar is bit noisy and smoky! If you don't smoke you'd better stay in another rooms, there are plenty of them!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a blacony, they have a bit more space than the other ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fran572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Fran572013

Warmest regards from your favorite hotel in Yogyakarta

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel, your generous comment will be warmly received by the all team of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

All the team is very happy, if you can enjoy your stay with us, and your satisfaction is our 1st priority.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

During my 4 days stay in this hotel, I spent most of my stay at Jojakarta inside this hotel by doing exercise at gym swimming, massages or just relaxing at the pool side or restaurant. Staff at lobby, restaurant, swimming pool and gym are all well trained, They are polite and know they job well. They services are excellent.

Room are clean and tidy. The Javaness food at their restaurant are super. worth trying

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobosapiensSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear RobosanpiensSo

Warmest greetings from your holiday hotel in Yogyakarta….

Thank you for your precious time to post such a valuable review on Trip Advisor.

It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were truly impressed with our hotel facilities and our employees.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at The Grand Phoenix back in August for 3 nights. It is truly a grand hotel and MUST STAY should you be visiting in Yogyakarta. Very rich heritage, and very well maintained for its cleanness and dutch architecture - Simply beautiful. Even months after staying, I still recalled the beautiful outdoor setting for breakfast (see the attached image). Such serenity and calm setting you never encounter before. I especially love the old grand piano (still sounding great) at the restaurant. They have jazz night on some evenings.

We love the awesome service too (thank you!) - As our hotel booking was pool side view and we were given the non-pool side during our check-in due to full occupancy from other existing guests in the hotel. Our request was followed up within an hour pertaining to an availability for pool side view the next day and even offered to transfer the luggage for us if we were out catching the sunrise at Borobudur. So, dining by the balcony was an awesome thing to do along with their delicious duck confit and steaks.

The pleasant, friendly and always smiling team of hotel staff really goes beyond their service. ;) In summary, it also has a beautiful swimming pool too. The hotel room and bathroom was awesome as well. Simply worth your every stay in Yogya and I'm pretty sure it'd give you a very deep impression whenever you think about Yogya, like i do. ;) Moreover, the location is very centralized if you plan to visit Borobudur, Pambranan Temple or within limits to Malioboro Street.

We will definitely return back to this hotel again if we decided to visit Yogyakarta.

P/S: it's even nicer than what you see in the picture. :))

Room Tip: Choose pool side view and be sure to dine by the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegurugong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Lovegurugong

Thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that you spent time with us when you were in Yogyakarta and I appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and service.

We do hope you will choose to stay at the Phoenix during your next visit and recommending us as the best hotel in Yogyakarta .

Very warm regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights and we really had a grand time. The hotel has an old-world charm with an abundance of cultural elements--carved wood wall mosaics, batik displays, antique furnitures--fused with modern touches. We stayed in one of the rooms on the 2nd floor at the old building. Very cozy with just enough space for two. The bathroom fixtures are quite old, though, but they work perfectly fine so it's not really an issue.

The hotel also provides tour packages so you really don't have to plan anything. The staff are very helpful and friendly, too! Totally the best place to stay in Yogyakarta, no doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KabbieRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear KabbieRA

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…

Thank you so much for posting your enthusiastic recommendation of the newly rejuvenated and completely refurbished our hotel.

We are pleased that you took advantages of our facilities and and enjoyed your time with our friendly staff. I will shared this with the team, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our product and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our beautiful property and giving you even better services.

Very best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Colonial and character hotel with a great deal of presence and charm about it. Staff very efficient and friendly. It is built around 2 squares, the 1st contains an open air eating area and the 2nd newer block overlooks the swimming pool. We had a bedroom over looking the eating area and the room had a small balcony. The room was nice with good fixtures and fittings but was quite small, especially the bathroom. Also the balcony view is okay if you look down but to the right was a large unsightly building which appeared derelict and took the edge off it. The food was ok and nicely presented but drinks are expensive to say the least.

Room Tip: Go for the newer block overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear GraeneLancashire

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta….

We would like to thank you for giving us your impression; our guest feedbacks are very important to us and help us to improve the level of our services.

We will keep in mind your comments and always try to provide exiting experiences and try to make people feel special in our Heritage Hotel.

Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
970 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,072 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#13 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing