We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, super price quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 205 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

this is a really beautiful hotel, nice rooms and a super super breakfast buffet, I travel 100 days per year and this breakfast is in my top 3, but the other food is also delicious (recommend the Friday night buffet)
staff is really friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strikgeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Strikgeel

Greeting from your beautiful hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that our property is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel, rooms, breakfast and also friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,395)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 3,395 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Phoenix hotel is well located in the center of Yogyakarta, ideal for those who want to combine visits of the city (Kraton, bird market, etc) with visits to the temples in the surrounding areas of the city (Borobudur, Prambanan, etc.).
The hotel has the feel of a colonial palace, richly decorated, with the 'new' wing surrounding the nice pool. The latter is great after an exhausting day of visiting, to just relax, float and cool down a bit. This pool was actually one of the few ones in our two-week travel that felt cooler than the outside temp!
The staff is great and friendly, the rooms are comfortable and large, breakfast has good variety and quality.
If you don't expect luxurious gardens and a morning view on the rice fields, you won't be disappointed booking at the Phoenix! Ask for a deluxe room overviewing the pool.
Go to ViaVia restaurant for casual and excellent dining with live jazz.
And for young and old, visit the bird market for some variety in between temples. Besides enjoying the animals on sale ranging from worms and cockroaches to racy cats and dogs, don't miss a bird song competition, a must!
Guide: perfectly french speaking, (and English of course), local Lisa Aulia is excellent & highly recommended! aulialisa@yahoo.fr

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear markh01

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta…..

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience.

We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyable stay. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and the service from our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and giving you another memorable experience.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was not a bad experience, overall.

The former establishment was Mecure (which is the name of the hotel that you will find on maps)

The hotel is located on the same stretch as the airport and was approx 20mins drive from the airport (depending on traffic). This meant that the only turn we made was a right into the hotel foyer. Traffic was a loop on the one-way street back to the airport.
We paid 100,000rupiah from airport to hotel and 70,000rupiah from hotel to airport.

The staff were polite, attentive and try to help whenever they can. The place is maintained well.

Our room was on the third floor overlooking the buildings next door, which were homes and a school.
The room and toilet was clean and spacious. The basic of toothbrush, shampoo etc was available, although I wonder why provide one set of toothbrush when there were two guest.
The wifi connection was strong.

The down side
1. was the bed. It was soft and we suspect there might be bugs (unclear on whether it was bedbugs or some regular bugs riding on us). It was itchy when we slept and woke up in the morning to find little black speck on white sheets. A lizard made an appearance on the second, and I personally hoped it was to eat the bugs.
2. The floor was cold at night, no carpet hence we ended up walking over toilets. Didn't find the bedroom slippers helpful for they were thin and loose.
3.. The kitchen was near so occasionally we caught the fumes when we relax out on the balcony.

Unlike Bali, It was tough to locate local spa, need to ask around and then find out how to get there
The in-house spa was not bad, a little on the pricy side. But when we added in transport and getting to a spa patronised by Locals, we figured the cost will be almost the same. So might as well stay-put.

We ate out, including breakfast. However we made it a point to have a meal in and it was good. The portion substantial.

WHATS AROUND
It is a 20mins walk to Malioboro St, a left turn at a monument (Oblisek-shaped).
Maliobora Mall has a supermarket in the basement.
A horse-carriage ride back on cost us 70,000rupiah. We gave a bit more seeing the poor horse was drench. There was regal feeling being pulled up to the hotel on a rainy night.

It cost us 60,00rupiah for a Be-Chak ride (return) on the night we view a Wayang Kulit. Performance starts at 8.00pm. Tip: check the episode for the night. The night we went, the story was rather slow, too much dialogue.

It was 100,000rupiah for a Be-Chak ride (return + waiting time) when we went to Affandi Museu, and Ambarrukmo for a little look-see.

We went only to Borobodour, paying 485,00rupiah to the guide, Weidy Antara. His rates includes transport and entrance fee. We were in awe of his vehicle, an old Nissan, he cared for it well so we were at ease.

LOCAL FOOD
1. Kedai 3 Nonya,
Where: opposite the hotel. Next to Circle K.
Ok but being used to Perakan-type cuisine. I wont rave about it, even though there are awards

2. Datu Minang
Where: opposite the hotel next to Phoenix, 7mins walk.
Delicious and filling. The best part is: it is 24hrs. The server will hand you a plate of rice, than you can select the dishes desire.

3. MacDonalds, KFC etc
Where: near the hotel next to Phoenix, 15mins walk

4. Street Food
Where: All around
Our only issue was the portion of food, not too filing. But was good as you walk and sample.
Tip: we only went to stalls with the most locals around and took note of the preparation/Hygiene

5. Eateries
Where: A right turn at the obelisk. Approx 20mins walk
We noticed a row of eateries (family own and franchise) enroute to Borobodour.

6. Bakeries
Where: There are a few near the Traditional Market. Just walk straight past the monument.
Approx 10mins walk

IMMIGRATION FEE/TAX
We were concern on whether we needed to make payment at immigration. Hence we hope this tip will be helpful.
Upon Arrival: for international tourist: 25USD per pax. Payable at a counter (on the right as you enter the terminal). It can be a little tight as it is quite close to the immigration check-point.
Upon Departure: for tourist boarding International flight : 100,000rupiah per pax (the red note). Payable at the counter by the boarding gate, after check-in is done with the respective airline.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranaeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Ranaeel

Warmest greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and to give recommendations on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to have provided you a good experience and we want to thank you for your recommendations.

Guest feedbacks are very important to us, and your detailed description is a very useful tool for us, as it is for future visitors of Yogyakarta. You will certainly help us to improve our services and the satisfaction of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and giving you even better services.

Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel building is very impressive and tastefully decorated and furnished. The rooms are clean and daily maid services are prompt. The lift is very old and tends to creak and halt a bit during carriage which is a little scary. The hallways are lovely but a bit stuffy as the airconditioning is weak and no fresh air can get in since the windows are sealed.

I particularly liked the reading room which stocked collectible books on Yogyakarta, Indonesian culture and Indonesian arts. Also, the placements of various artworks around the hotel and hotel grounds make for great photography opportunities.

The food itself is OK. We found it better value to have meals at the Kedai 3 Nyonya across the road from the hotel. The grand breakfast provided Indonesian food and Western food. The bread was great and made in the hotel kitchens itself. However as is typical of mass produced hotel food, the rest of the food was rather tasteless yet filling. The chicken sausages stuck in my mind as being particularly bland. However, the food and premises were hygienic and I particularly enjoyed the view of the grand staircase, the courtyard fountain and the sounds of gamelan and piano playing in the background.

In my view the weakness of this grand establishment is the service and the communication level of the staff. The staff all seem young and untrained beyond the level of greeting guests (albeit politely). When we arrived, the porter took us to our room and failed to see that there was a large pool of water on the tiled floor coming from the mini bar which had broken down. We discovered it immediately after he left with a tip. After much insistence we managed to get a new room next door the next day.

My observation is that besides very basic English the staff of this hotel are unable to communicate with international guests. As I speak Malay, communication was made much easier but I find that the staff have a very laid back attitude to the requests and needs of customers. For example, the staff told my husband who is a non-Indonesian speaker that our new room was ready but when I further questioned him I found that actually the room had not been cleaned and and made ready for us to move in. Guests who have no knowledge of Malay or Indonesian will probably end up rather frustrated or amused on the communication gap, depending on their sense of humour.

Also, afternoon coffee took more than half an hour to deliver after I reminded the staff. I wasn't particularly bothered on the slow speed as I was on holiday and in the reading room but it should not have happened nonetheless.

The computers in the Business Centre are workable but the Hotel should make sure that the staff manning the Business Centre are proficient in computer skills. They are, in my view, not very computer savvy at all.

The above matters are not fatal to the overall impression of the hotel as location and cleanliness are good and room rates are not exorbitant. However one incident did highlight the lack of training on front desk staff. Upon check out I was given a bill of IDR316,000+ for a 10 minute phone call to Malaysia. At first, the front desk clerk was not able to explain how that figure was derived until I insisted for a full itemisation of that bill.

Only then did the staff check the rate and tell me that the rate was IDR14,800.00 per minute. After even more prodding, she then revealed that on top of that there was a surcharge and service tax of 21% and 25%. She could not answer my question on why theses rates were not made known to the guest in any written literature in the room, nor why it differed so greatly from the restaurant surcharge and service tax of 6.5% and 20% .

I then made her calculate the rate + the service tax + surcharge but the amount ended up much lower than IDR 316,000.00. All she could say was this was a computer-system derived calculation. After a phone call from her to the management I managed to get a reduction in the phone bill.

My observation was that the staff are not detail oriented are not familiar with the rates of hotel services. This is not justifiable as telephone rates are usually significant. Guests have the right to know how the charges are derived and that those charges are accurate. I can imagine for most foreign guests who do not speak the local language they would just pay up in frustration as it would be too much of a hassle to speak to a staff who cannot communicate with them. At the very least, this would cause an impression of staff incompetence which is not in keeping with the exterior image of this heritage hotel.

All in all, the stay was so-so. The best part of the hotel is the building itself. No more, no less.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pyromanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

A very grand and professionally run hotel in the midst of Yogya. Smiling staff willing to help however they can, and nice large rooms with great facilities throughout. So good we went back for a second time of our trip. Also a short walk to Malioboro and the bustling markets

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donday81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Donday81

Warm greetings from your Hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for the time you took to post such a nice review on Trip Advisor, and for being a recommending repeater of the Phoenix hotel; it is really enjoyable for us to have such a great publicity.

It is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with our hotel, our service and our staff.

We greatly appreciated your comments and hope to welcome you back to your “spectacular” Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is one of the most charming hotels I have stayed in in Asia. The hotel has been very well renovated and is well maintained. Lots of marble and granite, tasteful artefacts, pictures, books etc on display. Friendly and professional staff in abundance. Great location. The room we had (one of the cheapest) was huge, clean, quiet and had a small balcony. The pool was beautiful as were the plants and surrounds throughout the hotel. Lovely food - reasonably priced - and a well stocked bar. If you are in Yoga on either business or for pleasure this hotel is where you should aim. No doubt there are cheaper ones - but you will not find better value considering the quality here.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good but I suspect the ones closest to the restaurant are a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Lucass10

Greetings from your favorite hotel in Yogyakarta

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our heritage Hotel.

Thank you for your rating and nice comments on the hotel, our employees, the service and memorable experiences during your stay with us. I have shared your compliments with the entire team.

I am sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back one day in the most charming hotel in Yogyakarta.

Warmest regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kannan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 205 in Yogyakarta
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#16 of 205 in Yogyakarta
1,344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 205 in Yogyakarta
614 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 205 in Yogyakarta
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £51 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing