We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jamshedpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heritage Hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If history & Mythology interest you, do a day long tour of the hotel- free for hotel guests. This hotel is replete with the history of the City and has a story of its own. It is like living with a legend for a few days!

The location of the hotel is remarkable, as are the staff. Friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel used to be a private house in its past- so the rooms are a bit small (for a hotel), but they are warm and cozy. The food is very good and guests make a beeline for dinner well before dinner-time !

It is one of those hotels you would always return to !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Ivlyn2009

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta..

Your generous words will be warmly received by the team at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

We particularly appreciate your comments about the Heritage of our hotel, we are very happy and proud to take care of such a legacy, we try to maintain the building at its best and to provide the atmosphere it deserves.

Your comments are encouragements for us to continue and to always try to provide Memorable experiences.

Thank you for choosing The Phoenix Hotel as your recommendation for staying in Yogyakarta.

Very Warm Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,998
    1,013
    222
    42
    24
See reviews for
704
1,374
285
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The staff are so helpful, the rooms are gorgeous and the food is excellent. There is an excellent choice of cuisines and a great bar with live music on Friday and Saturday nights. The pool and spa are great. The only small drawback is the noise of fellow visitors getting up in the middle of the night to go and see the sunrise at Borobudur! There was a wedding whilst we were there but they were still dismantling stuff late at night and early the next morning! But let's not be picky this is a great hotel. Luxury at affordable prices.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool and facing east is best. The balcony is a great place to chill out after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear JeremyKnott

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta….

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us in Yogyakarta. We are really happy you enjoyed staying with us and you recommend us so positively.

We are sorry if you have been disturbed by other guests and we are looking at a way to minimize noise interferences in our property.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Being in the Phoenix Hotel was like being in a European stately hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The public areas were comfortable, open, and well decorated. The rooms were smaller but very well done.Excellent buffet breakfast and dinner. So many offerings that it is hard to make a decision. Very well maintained hotel. Security visible in open spaces so felt very safe. A terrific choice to stay in in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear MissBlue

Warm greetings from your Hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for the time you took to post such a nice review on Trip Advisor.

It is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with our hotel, our service, our staff and the food.

We greatly appreciated your comments and hope to welcome you back to our wonderful Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Built in the 1918, has a fabulous colonial-local style mix. It is located north of the city,close to Malioboro rd but too far from the kraton and the cultural sites in the city.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Food service is slow. Night wait sometime for condiments such as ketchup or sauces. Food is reasonable. Great cocktails.

Downside- finer details. One chair on the outside verander table for a room
For 2.

Lack of replenishment of toiletries on day two.
Rooms facing the city are noisy as there is a school next door! Woken up by motorcycle and chatting at 6am.
Woken at 7am by cleaning services as mistaken openned the door and realized was the wrong room and then closed the door. When confronted outside the room- appologies as entered the wrong room.

Free 10min neck massage- excellent. The spa is excellent!

Hence a very mixed visit but positive nevertheless!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Nolanar

Warmest Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

We would like to thank you for your time to review our property, our employees and rooms.
Please accept our apologies if we could not fully reach your satisfaction.
Your comments and experience will help us to increase the quality of our services and we would like to thank you for that.
We hope to keep your trust and that you will be able to come back and see our improvements soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was one hotel which hit the nail on the head, where it comes to a perfect blend of quality, service and adventure for the price. As a 5-star property, I expect and got no less.

The room had all modern conveniences you'd expect, nice sized bedrooms and bathroom with good water pressure on the shower. The walk to our room was a bit far - felt like 200m - but there's lots of displays to admire along the way. My wife and I had two elderly women with us - they didn't complaint despite the walk. Service was always excellent, from the well dressed door lady (in local costume) who always welcomed us by name each night, offering to carry our things and the quick check on what we did, if we needed anything else.. To the porter who took care of our things, liaised with our driver each morning, ensuring everything was perfect.

Breakfast each morning was always a good fun experience, as food was displayed in different niche's throughout the open as well as separately air-conditioned breakfast area. I like the wonderful selection of juices, breads, hearty local selections as well as the conservative continental and cook-to-order options.... One could (and I noticed that some did) spend hours over breakfast. I like the 'stall' ran by a local lady, distribution samples of local elixirs! I think mine was a kind of tamarind juice -awesome!

We had a great time, partly thanks to this hotel and to out tour operator. I can't recommend The Phoenix enough.

Room Tip: Try the soft ginger candies at reception! We just had to buy more for home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Hanra

Greetings from your hotel in Yogyakarta….

We thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending us.

Your generous words will be warmly received by the entire team at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

We are all looking forward to share some more moments with you in the future.
Thank you and very best regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

hotel building and environment: 5 stars. very beautiful colonial style heritage building. very well kept and maintained.

hotel staffs: 5 stars. very friendly. always smile and greet. i don't have any problem to talk to them. actually most jogja ppl are very friendly to tourists. but the locals do not speak much english.

buffet breakfast and room service: 5 stars. delicious breakfast, this is the only hotel that i don't have to wait for my eggs at the egg station, the waitress will send to your table but they do forget sometimes. eating at the water fountain area with live traditional music played at background is a bonus. room service is quick, about 20 mins waiting. price is reasonable. pizza is really big enough for 2 to share.

room condition: 3 stars. our superior room is quite small compared with other 5 stars hotels i've stayed b4. clean and basic. we stayed at 2nd floor so it can be quite noisy in the morning while guests start eating breakfast at downstairs and also noise from the road. if you are lucky, you can see Gunung Merapi from your balcony in the clear sky morning. the air-cond didn't work in the last morning.

not many proper restaurants nearby. walking to jln malioboro is not that near. i'll suggest you to take trans jog bus or becak.

will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear StandUp.

Thank you for your flattering remarks on our property, food and outstanding staff.

We surely thrive to please our guest and make sure your stay is met your expectation.

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room, noisy in the morning and the air-cond that didn’t work perfectly during your stay. We thank you for pointing that to our attention. We will work on it in order to guarantee an even more memorable next stay.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that you return to Yogyakarta soon.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 204 in Yogyakarta
953 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,059 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing