We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Loved this hotel. The room rates are low for such good quality. Our room was comfortable and quiet with a nice terrace overlooking pool area. The public spaces are beautiful and ample. Decorations are interesting and tasteful. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our selections from the dinner menu. Service was top-notch.

The bar and lounge is a fun place to relax. We only wish that the two for price of one deal was really two for one. Wine glasses are filled about 1/4 full and, if you drink spirits, one shot is more like a mouthful.



Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Snorfs

Greetings from your delightful hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much for your balanced comments of the Phoenix Hotel.

I have taken note of both the positives and the "not so positive “comments. I apologize if we were not able to meet your expectations especially for the beverages we provide. We addressed all your comment to the department concern and we will learn from these shortfalls and put efforts to step up to the best standards.

We do hope that you will allow us a second chance to be your hosts in the near future.

Best regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,387)
There are newer reviews for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 3,387 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

There is a good reason why this hotel exists since almost hundred years... It provides a wonderful ambience & great service. It's an oasis with historic charm in central Jogja and it is very easy to get around from here. We stayed 4 nights and are looking forward to staying at Phoenix again!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank InKi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Carlos f

Greetings from your wonderful classic hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your amazing feedback through Tripadvisor and your kind words about our breakfast, our facilities and our hotel.

You had so nicely described what we would like all the guests to feel at the Phoenix. It is especially nice to receive compliments and we will certainly convey them to all our team.

Thank you for your generous words.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were only going to spend one night here and go on but we extended our stay another two days. The hotel in very nice, clean, and the staff is very helpful. We had a massage and eat breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The bar has a very nice happy two hours where you buy one drink and the second is free. It makes drinking alcohol very affordable. Alcohol is expensive in all of Indonesia. The rooms are bright and clean. The mattresses are very comfortable and the room is quiet. Highly recommend this hotel and we will return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank MollyJJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear MollyJJM

Greetings from a great hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel and for your appreciation of the work we are doing. It is a rare pleasure to receive this kind of appreciation, and I would like you to be sure that I have shared your comments to our team.

Thank you for brightening our day and giving us the extra motivation to continue serving our hotel with heart.

Thank you once again for your recommendation; we are waiting to welcoming you back in what we would like to be your home in Jogja.

Very Best Regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Phoenix Hotel used to be a mansion some 60 ago and the refurnished as a hotel but still keeps the flavor and the smell of an old hacienda. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms are very confortable, specially those on the new wing where the swimming pool is located. Everything was a very nice experience but the breakfast was the best. You can have your breakfast served in the middle of the central patio where a very nice old french fountain is built. You have local music which so subtle that it is just relaxing. The variaety of the options is huge and the have a special corner where real house made Indonesian food is served, including medicinal juices like ginger and tamarind. My favorites were the amazing fat pancakes. I tried them everyday. Not the best location in Yogya but who cares.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Carlos f

Greetings from your wonderful classic hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your amazing feedback through Tripadvisor and your kind words about our breakfast, our facilities and our hotel.

You had so nicely described what we would like all the guests to feel at the Phoenix. It is especially nice to receive compliments and we will certainly convey them to all our team.

Thank you for your generous words.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent two nights in this great hotel in Yogyakarta in February 2014.
They handled the situation after the Mount Kelud eruption very well. The hotel gave us immediate helpful information about the situation by a written letter, early in the morning. They also brought dust masks to the room.
I was very sad to see the great pool covered with vulcanic dust.
I'll be back to this hotel anytime I visit Yogya again.

But I will definitely not use Air Asia again to go there!
The way they handled the situation after the eruption was really a total mess. Not only Air Asia refused to refund the money for our cancelled flight, they were also unable or unwilling to handle my credit balance and put it into my account. The were also unreachable by phone for a week. I will use a different airline in the future.

Room Tip: The difference between the standard room and the better room is very noticeable.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark_abuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Shark _abuser

Greetings from a great hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay here at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

We are truly delighted to know that your stay was a very pleasant one and that you enjoyed all the service that we provide. We do apologize that some of our facilities were closed after the eruption, but thank you for the very nice praise of the way our staff handled the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with normal conditions.

Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It was a week-end escape to the heart of Yogyakarta with my husband and besties. We booked this hotel for 3 nights in January 2014. When we firstly arrived at the Lobby, we were greeted by a friendly concierge and escorted to their restaurant to have coffee as we arrived very early in the morning. I was truly amazed by the design and the service provided by this hotel. It is on top of everything.....creme de la creme.... They serve their guests from their heart, especially all staffs at breakfast. They're very attentive, and always advise me on today's specialties at the restaurant. Vino - the bar lounge is great! there is live music performance every friday and the band is so good! I love everything about this hotel...the room, the corridor, the interior design, the pots, the vase, the ashtrays (you should see their stunning Phoenix sculptured ashtrays!!!), everything..... this hotel is a living legend in Yogyakarta! I would definitely return to this hotel again!

Room Tip: Try to book Deluxe pool facing to their swimming pool. My room was #252, has the best view direct to...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rougie_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear RougieBali


Greetings from the living legend hotel of Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your amazing review through Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you had enjoyable experiences in our legendary hotel. I really appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and the ambience that we provide, as well as our staff that served you with their heart. I will share personally to the Staff such comments; they will give us motivation to provide the best services again.

We hope to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

Kindest regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This historic hotel just at the edge of downtown (it's a long walk to the sultan's palace) is beautiful with lovely Art Nouveau stained glass,windows. The staff are all friendly while the front desk was very helpful and efficient, getting us air tickets and a drive to another town when a volcanic eruption closed the airport. Our double bed room was quite small but we got a bigger room when we moved to a twin-bed room. The bathrooms have little shelf space. Wifi in our room was good. There was also an extensive selection of breakfast choices. One complaint - the printing on the TV control holder and other hotel info was impossible to read, it was such tiny print. The restaurant menu is limited. I would have preferred less western dishes. A good deal is the 2 for 1 Happy Hour in the bar from 5 to 7..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Masca

Greetings from your charming hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for your very nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can and we are very happy when we can reach your satisfaction. We have noted the points you have mentioned and we will put our efforts to progress thanks to your comments.

Once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again for a next relaxing holiday.


Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
982 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#15 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing