We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most attractive place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A most attractive place to be”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Phoenix hotel in Yogyakarta combines the features of an old colonial style and the comforts of this century. All floors are beautiful decorated but excel in different styles. Having breakfast, made up of different mondial oriented dishes, is a feast, but also drinking the authentic herbal beverage is part if daily life. The staff is very attentive and utmost friendly.

Room Tip: The Phoenix is one of the few hotels that offers two bedrooms with an interconnecting door. Very han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buaya40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Buaya40

Greetings from the most attractive hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and taking the time to send your review on Trip Advisor.

It is nice to hear that our property is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and to remain at the top of your favorite hotels list.

Very Best Regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,982
    1,002
    215
    42
    23
See reviews for
692
1,359
285
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Phoenix Hotel is a beautiful Dutch colonial style hotel. Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the terrace or pool. Unfortunately out balcony overlooked an alley way so was not very picturesque. We found the beds a tad soft for our liking but the bed was by no means uncomfortable, even for us who prefer hard mattresses.

Staff is friendly an helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious (we had the deluxe king room). The food in the restaurant is nothing special but decent enough if you don't feel like going out. We would recommend going across the street to Madam Tan's where the food was really good and reasonably priced.

All in all our stay at the Phoenix was pleasant and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the pool or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CineMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Eric O

Greetings from the colonial boutique hotel in Yogyakarta

We would like to thank you for giving us your impression of the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had pleasant stay with us and that you plan to come back.

We will keep in mind your comments and always try to provide exiting experiences to make people feel special in our colonial boutique Hotel.

Thank you for highly recommended us as the destination in Yogyakarta….

Best Regards,

Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What an amazing place! I stayed there in March 2014. The building is a restored historic mansion and is absolutely stunning to look at. It's convenient for the railway station, but the other side of the railway tracks from the madness of Jalan Malioboro ... and that means it's a nicer area, and only a 10 minute walk from Malioboro. The communal areas of the hotel are beautiful, wonderful pool, great spa, OK fitness centre, and my room was large and very nicely decorated (not in a boring and corporate way). The restaurant and service were second to none. Very very highly recommended. And I got a great price too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Front Office Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Phil G

Greetings from the best hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your detail review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can and we are very happy when we can reach your satisfaction.

Once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again for a next relaxing holiday.


Best regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A well restored building which is much nicer than many modern box like hotels. It is in a good location to access the road to the airport or to Borobodur. We arranged a hotel transfer from the airport for US12 which was reliable and very comfortable. The hotel arranged a very good driver and vehicle to go to Borobodur for US65 on 15 mins notice. It is about 75 mins each way (like everywhere in Indonesia the traffic is heavy) and then we paid US7 for an excellent guide. All the staff at the Phoenix were excellent. There is a central courtyard with a restaurant that served good food at reasonable prices and provided a nice atmosphere. We had 2 rooms. One was a superior double which was comfortable and quiet with good water pressure. The other was a suite (312) which had noisy air conditioning (ear plugs were provided by the bed so it has obviously long been an issue) and poor water pressure. The suite cost twice the superior room but we felt the superior room was better and was good value. If I went to Yogja again I would stay here again - the main reason is the staff and the reliability of the arrangements.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfarersAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear WayraresAll

Greetings from the beautiful hotel in Yogyakarta….

Thank you for the review and taking the time to share your experience at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are glad that you enjoyed all the service that we provide to you especially on one of our rooms which had some problem on it.

We do apologize for the inconvenience; we have taken note of your feedback and have taken steps to improve on the areas of concern.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of service to you again.

Warmest Regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel deservedly has a very good reputation. From the warmth of the welcome through to the efficiency on departure and at all times in between this establishment made up feel welcome, valued and relaxed. The building itself is beautiful as is the interior which tastefully combines modern conveniences with Javanese culture and artefacts. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean with all the room facilities you would expect plus a nice touch of local salak fruit, even though we didn't like them! The pool area was beautiful. All the staff were very professional but friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the case of the security staff at the entrance who always helped us cross the road safely, as it can be quite busy. We would stress however that there was no traffic noise in rooms. If we ever return to this city we would definitely stay here again and wholeheartedly endorse all the positive comments made on review sites.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sue22

Greetings from your favorite hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for your amazing review through Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you had enjoyable experiences in your favorite hotel. I really appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and the ambience that we provide, as well as our staff that served you with their hear. It will give us motivation to provide the best services to our guest again and again.

We hope to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

Kindest regards
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Rooms are nice, clean and well maintained with a lovely balcony overseeing the pool.
The amenities are great : spa, pool and other activities
A special mention to Paprika restaurant where we spent three very good dinners with good wine and good breakfasts.
Too bad that they don't really organize tours but car rental/taxi services are available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Delkyle

Greeting from heritage hotel in yogyakarta

Thank you for your amazing review through Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you had enjoyable experiences in our legendary hotel. I really appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and the ambience that we provide, as well as your comment related with the tours that we should provide. For your info that we had tours completed with the driver and car but there is no tour guide, meanwhile thank you for your comment and We will keep it as our motivation to provide the best service in the future.

We hope to welcome you back again for another memorable experience.

Kindest regards
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
234 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Charm and ambience in this old private house converted by a very good architect into hotel.
We were not lucky with the room which didn't have a nice view at all. Room itself was excellent and well equipped. We missed our coffee( nescafé) in the morning! The food in the restaurant is extremely good. Great choice of food and wine! Service in the bar outstanding!
Carpet in the room was not cleaned during our 2 night stay and not before either.
Lady in the business centre extremely unhelpful with printing our boarding passes. She had all kind of excuses. The front desk helped me...after some talking! During our trip we had 5 flights and nowhere a problem getting our printed boardingpasses. A pity!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool. We stayed for 2 nights, special member of Accor but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlya C, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear FranceMartine

Greeting from colonial style hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much for your balanced comments of the Phoenix Hotel.

I have taken note of both the positives and the "not so positive “comments. I apologize if we were not able to meet your expectations especially some problem that you met during your stay with us. We addressed all your comment to the department concern and we will learn from these shortfalls and put efforts to step up to the best standards.

We do hope that you will allow us a second chance to be your hosts in the near future.

Best regards,
Marlya Christina
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 202 in Yogyakarta
937 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 202 in Yogyakarta
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,051 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing