We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - but one or two little niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Firstly, let me be quite clear - this is a beautiful heritage property, very well maintained by Accor, the current owners, and in many ways it is a delight to stay here. I arrived very early, thanks to an early flight, and was fairly quickly given an upgraded room - a suite, in fact. It seems a little churlish to be critical in the circumstances, but unfortunately the suite in question was at the very front of the hotel, which suffers badly from road noise. Earplugs had been thoughtfully provided for guests - and these were necessary. I am not sure if anything could be done to soundproof the rooms at the front of the hotel (this would be more than just those directly over the road) - perhaps in a heritage property this would present problems - but it is unfortunate that this detracted somewhat from the enjoyment of the room.

The restaurant was surprisingly lack-lustre, with staff who did not seem to have been particularly well trained. Dinner options were unimpressive, and breakfast, although very varied, was a disappointment. For example, there was a meagre selection of entirely ordinary cheeses, all of which were old and sweaty, and it was not clear to me why anyone would have been interested in them. The restaurant area is also problematic - I suspect because of the nature of the property air-conditioning would be difficult to install - it is too open and not sufficiently cooled, which means that it is uncomfortable.

All a bit of a shame, because I really liked the hotel!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the road at the front of the hotel. Those with balconies overlooking the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhanbadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Dhanbadman

Greeting from the beautiful hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you very much for your comments of the Phoenix Hotel.

I have taken note of both the positives and the "not so positive “comments that you made.

I apologize if we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We addressed all your comments to the department concern and we will learn from these shortfalls and put efforts to step up to the best standards.

We do hope that you will allow us a second chance to be your hosts in the near future.

Best regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 3,513 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cute, colonial style, upmarket hotel in central Yogja. No doubt a grand establishment in days gone past, it retains an air of dated grandeur, slightly at odds - I felt - with the fact that most people going through the doors are sweaty tourists in shorts and flip flops.

The building itself is rather beautiful, with its balconied courtyard, koi ponds, old photographs and artefacts, etc. I fell in love with the white vintage Merc parked outside the main entrance (one of the hotel cars available to guests). The impeccably and variedly uniformed staff seemed friendly and helpful enough. You do feel like you're in the set of Poirot (like other reviewers have mentioned)

The room was small and dated (like the overall feel of the place) but fine, it had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard, where breakfast, lunch and dinner were served. Afternoon Tea is also offered; don't expect the Ritz level, but it's hilarious and very cheap, and a must have. The meals I had during my stay were absolutely fine. I actually found it a bit tricky to eat anywhere else, as Yogja itself is rather basic.

The hotel will help you with the arrangements for any excursion you may wish to make (a visit to Prambanan is de rigueur) or transfers to and from wherever. The use of the hotel car is not much more expensive than out in the street (except for the vintage Merc)

About £60 per night for a double room with a balcony, breakfast not included (it wasn't much).

Room Tip: If you decide to eat at the hotel, and they ask you if smoking or not smoking, the "smoking are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xavitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Xavitat

Greeting from your hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for your very nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed our services.

Your satisfaction is our 1st priority, so we try to keep guests satisfied by giving the best we can.

Once again thank you for the feedback and support that you gave to us.

We are all looking forward to seeing you again for another memorable experience.

Kindest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We choose this hotel as we were looking for a nice location for a romantic birthday getaway.

When you pull up to the hotel it looks like something straight out of a Agatha Christie novel, our room was lovely and the flowers I ordered as a surprise for my Fiancée were beautiful.

The problem was the service, the staff were very friendly but lacked good management.
One of the main issues was the hotel tours we booked, which were pricey compared to other Asian destinations and to our complete surprise did not include the entry fees to the main attractions, which were also quite pricey. The Boroboudor temple was outstanding but more expensive than the stunning Ankor Watt in Cambodia.
Also the driver keeps you out and then they try to charge extra for getting back late.
One evening we were relaxing by the pool and it took 40 minutes to find a member of staff to take our drinks order.
Lovely location but management need to try much harder.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kenyukai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Kenyukai7

Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta…

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us, we do apologies for some inconvenience that you met during your stay.

I have noted every single one of them, and we shared them with the relevant departments. Rest assures that the necessary amends and trainings will be put in place, especially about the inclusions of our tour services, I am sincerely sorry if you have been disappointed and we will work in order to avoid similar effects in the future.


We do hope still have opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.


Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A lovely, elegant colonial style hotel that has a lot of class. I enjoyed my stay although check in was a problem and the duty manager very unhelpful which is why I have marked down service. Otherwise all other staff were very good and facilities up to standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Zake O

Greeting from your elegant and classic hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you very much for your balanced comments and for sharing about your experience with us.

Please accept our apology for the inconveniences caused during your stay, we are sincerely sorry if we cannot reach your total satisfaction and we spoil your experience with this kind of incident.

We take this very seriously and we always want to improve our organization and the level of service by listening to our customers and make changes where and when we can.

Thank you for taking the time to review The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta, and I wish we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence with us by coming again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this place from 2 May to 4 May for a short weekend getaway. My friends chose this hotel on the basis that it "resembled" Raffles Hotel based on the website photographs. I would say that generally she was correct as the hotel is a rather nice and quaint. It is actually a restored colonial building. The ceilings of the hotel are high and the décor is interesting and elegant. The rooms are large though a tad too dimly lit for me. The staff are friendly and efficient though it took a while for our rooms to be ready. The swimming pool was a disappointment as it looked big in the website pictures but it is rather small and shallow actually. I tried the spa in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it but do book way in advance as they seem rather short handed. Did not take any main meal there though took the high tea, which was interesting. There is nothing much to do around the hotel though we tried the restaurant right across it called Madam Tan which had quite reasonable Peranakan cum Indon food. The hotel boutique sells interesting and well designed designer batik dresses if you are into that. Overall a nice and pleasant hotel to stay if you are not thinking of doing much.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the pool with a nice patio where you can sit ...mine overlooked what looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyPoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear NickyPoops

Thank you for the time you took to review your stay with us.

We are very happy if you could globally enjoy our hotel and appreciate our services.

We are sincerely sorry if your impression is not optimum and we will work in order to develop the activities we propose (and their promotions) in order to reach the highest level of satisfaction for every guest.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I felt at home and at the same time I was in a royal palace. Everything elegant, truly elegant, not fashionable or luxurious or designed. The service was majestic and friendly at the same time, quick and gentle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Giannalberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Giannalberto,

Very warm greetings from your home and royal palace in Yogyakarta

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding services throughout your stay. Your breathtaking comments touch us very much and make us feel very proud. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We hope to have a chance to serve you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel is very good, the decoration was Indonesian-rustic and it gives the correct mood to rest and food was superb.

I like the fact that there is an open area in the restaurant, which is quite rare these days. Location wise the place is close to the city which allow people to get to any location easily.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Ridzki,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor, we work hard at continually trying to improve our service to our guests and feedback like yours is a terrific tool for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and to offer you new opportunities to relax.

Very Best Regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#5 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#11 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 211 in Yogyakarta
641 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing