We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have stayed at the Phoenix about 4 times now. The service is always very good. I love the traditional ambience and decor of the building. Staff are usually very helpful - though I found that the business centre staff are often out of their depth. This was particularly so during the ash rain in February - they struggled with the number of requests for information and help to arrange alternative travel. However, during this difficult time the rest of the staff were amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Juliehind

Thank you for being our loyal guest and for the great review of our “lovely traditional hotel”.
We are delighted that your hotel experience was memorable and we are pleased to hear you found our service always good and suitable for your needs.

Thank you for your feedback on our business center staff, we address your comment to the department concerned to improve our service in the future.

We look forward to your return yet again in the near future!

Warmest regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 3,474 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference event in Yogya. Grand building with a colonial air about it. Is quite large & can be rather confusing when you first arrive. Took us a while to find our room, which was at the end of the U shaped corridor by the pool.
The rooms are large & well appointed, with most having a balcony. Beds very comfortable. Downside is no iron in the rooms, which doesn't help if you are there on business.
Otherwise has great service, with good buffet breakfast & bar doing happy hour from 5-7pm each night. Cocktails are excellent! Gym is well equipped but pool is a bit small & can get busy.
It is pricey & I wouldn't call it a 5 star hotel, but has the reputation of being one of the nicer places in Yogya.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Food_Fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Food_Fella

Thank you for your praise “being one of the nicer places in Yogya”

It is so nice to hear how much you loved your time with us; it is a great encouragement for us and we will keep working to be a “Great place to stay”.

All staff members and myself are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Phoenix Hotel is one of traditional hotels in Yogyakarta, and I have a chance to stay for 1 days 2 nights because of my uncle that came from Jakarta cancel his trip and called the hotel management to transfer his name to my name.

I was very impressed with the service that they provide for customer which is staying or just visiting to their hotel, because they really give comfort, secure, safety for their customer. They are really friendly which any people which visited on the hotel.

For the rooms, I really satisfy with the design of the hotels, because its design for classic design with modern design and its a good design for me.

Room Tip: Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Andrew C

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta and Thank you for mentioning the friendly service you encountered and creating an exceptional experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon even only to visiting us.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is a marry of colonial and Javanese traditional. The atmosphere is just fabulous.
We stayed in the hotel for 3 days as group and conduct family wedding here. Hotel accommodates many of our request happily. The party was a success. We stayed in 15 rooms, no single complain.
Location wise, it is not walking distant to any shopping area. But there are lots of becak in front of the hotel that can bring you places for small money.
The room is not so big but decorated well with Javanese touch. Services are great at all location from reception, restaurant, room service, spa, banquet.
Special thanks to Dyah who arrange things nicely, being professional and yet friendly.

Room Tip: Room in front of pool is great. Basically you just open the door and jump to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Dian M

In addition to enjoying the Javanese Colonial Ambience, I am glad to hear that Dyah had taken exceptional care of you. She has been with us for a few years and fully enliven The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Standards when it comes to providing comfort and genuine care to our guests.

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel to stay when visiting Yogjakarta and surroundings. Very central. Good rooms, nice bar and restaurant, attractive swimming pool, good atmospere and excellent, very friendly personnel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Veerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Veerman

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

I am delighted that you found your stay to be everything that you hoped for.

I am delighted that the service, breakfast, attractive swimming pool, nice bar, and friendly personnel make your stay a memorable one.

I do hope I will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stanuraharjo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,033 reviews
1 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 212 in Yogyakarta
633 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#12 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing