We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic five stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 194 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
434 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A classic five stars hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Really a five stars hotel.......very good restaurant and buffet, spacious and comfortable rooms, good atmosphere.

The porters can do a better job......for example loading up suitcases instead of looking. In general the staff correct, well mannered and kind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivillazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Tato37

Greeting from a Classic five stars hotel in Yogyakarta

Thank you for your compliments of our associates. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to themas well as the remark to our bell boy team.

You summarized very well in your feedback – excellent service from our porters, the gorgeous hotel and really a five stars hotel in Yogyakarta.

We appreciate it.

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,937
    978
    212
    39
    23
See reviews for
673
1,333
278
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel by itself is nice, but the staff is not very efficient and we always had the feeling they were trying to cheat on us.
The transfert from the airport was invoiced twice the average price of a taxi, One day, they invoiced us the breakfast which was already included in the rate of the room, on the account it was served in our room.
Apart from the buffets, the quality of the food was not what we could expect for such a price and they served the red wine in an ice bucket.
We would recommend to have the staff properly trained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Phil393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Phil393

Thank you very much for your review and the time you took for it.
We are glad that you globally enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver their best. We do apologize for the inconvenience that you meet during your stay with us especially with our staff attitude.

We take your comment as a serious problem and we pass already your comment to department concern to give proper training to our staff for a better service in the future. We would like to add that we believe to be a common practice to have the buffet breakfast included (or a take away one) but not the room service. We apologize if we were not able to explain it clearly in advance to you and you could not feel comfortable about it.

We hope still have opportunity to welcoming you on your next visit with another best services.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlaar
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Famous charming hotel in colonial style at the outskirts of Yogyakarta. Small rooms, no view. Lovely restaurant at the fountain and patio. Photogenic pool after sunset. Good breakfast including eggs cooked to order. Excellent combination with the colonial Plataran Borobudur hotel. Hire a riksa bike for entering town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilsBerlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gilsberlaar

I thank you to take the time to write a review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed every moments of your stay and that you enjoyed our ambience and breakfast that we served.

Indeed we make a lot of efforts and it is rewarding to share your comments with the team.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cordially
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We spoke with a lady and her daughter from France while in the Phoenix. They had been staying in there for a few nights already, while on a month-long tour of southeast Asia. She rated the Phoenix as the best in her tour that included Singapore (where we come from), Ubud Bali, Lombok, and parts of Malaysia. We can't agree with her more. It has that unique old world charm, beautiful, and well maintained (perhaps even better than the Raffles Hotel, which seems to have seen better days). The Paprika Restaurant served good Indonesian cuisine at reasonable prices. We enjoyed Phoenix's breakfast buffet. Service was polite and never wanting. The staff spoke passable English. The hotel's location is central, though a 20 min leisurely walk to Malioboro. If you expect extremely good shopping there, think again. However, if your idea of shopping is defined by price - then Malioboro is great! For US1.50 you can buy a batik shirt. Maybe even a batik dress - 25,000 Indonesian rupiahs!

Room Tip: Ask for a no smoking room in the new wing that faces inward into the swimming pool. It is quiet here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Colin C

Thank you very much for such a wonderful description and your gracious comments about your recent stay. We could not expect a better review of our hotel.

It is really appreciated that you have pointed out the level of service and its consistency. I have to say that I am privileged to work with a very dedicated team, eager to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable experience in our “Lovely lovely ” hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect in a lot of ways: they know that perfection is in little things: the turn down service at night, the fact that after three nights they know your taste and make nice suggestions of food and drinks, the preparation of their signature cocktail just in front of you and their variations in breakfast so you can have a taste of an Indonesian breakfast as well as a continental breakfast.

I can even recommend their cooking glass. It was an nice experience to cook in the garden.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Regine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Regine V

Thank you for your beautiful review through Tripadvisor and for having recommended some our activities to other travelers.

We highly appreciate your glowing review and for taking the time to let know how much you enjoyed your stay and nominate us as “Colonial luxurious hotel”

We all look forward to welcoming you back home in not too distant future

Sincerely,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived to the Pheonix hotel after a 17 hour trip. It was a perfect stop to relax and enjoy Jogyakarta. The location is ok, just minutes away by cab from the city center. The rooms are clean and confortable. A minor detail would be to renew the bathrooms but overall it was good. What I like the most was the art nouveau architecture which takes the hotel to another level.
The only negative point would be that there is no restaurants in the area. And if you want to have dinner at the hotel you better show up before 10.30pm for the last order.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the1travelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Thetravelreviewer

Thank you for your fabulous comment for our hotel through Tripadvisor
We appreciate your positive comments on The Phoenix Hotel. It is always rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed hotel’s facilities and services.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back in the near future in the “Art nouveau style hotel with great service” !

Best regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here recently for a couple days while we were exploring the temples in the region. Although the room was a little small, the property is so charming and lovely, I absolutely stay here again. Lovely service, amazing breakfast buffet, clean, comfortable room, and my room had a balcony where I could have my early morning coffee (was still a bit jet lagged, so getting up at slightly unreasonable hours). I got a massage while there, which was relaxing and wonderful. Didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard have balconies, but you do get a little noise from breakfast set-up. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear MC_Bos

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this excellent review here on Trip Advisor and it was indeed a pleasure to read about your enjoyable experience at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakata especially with charming and lovely property, lovely service, amazing breakfast buffet, comfortable room and relaxing massage.

It is so nice to hear how much you loved your time with us; it is a great encouragement for us and we will keep working to be a “Beautiful old world charm hotel”.

Thank you for highly recommended us to other travelers, our team would love to have you back soon.

Kindest regard
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing