We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hotel Downtown Jogja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotel Downtown Jogja”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed there a couple of time and really enjoy this hotel.
A charming place in the heart of the city.
Staff is good, food great, rooms and HK service perfect. not much too say, the perfect hotel to enjoy this busy city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Philippe A

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We could not expect a better review.

We are glad that you enjoyed “one of the best Hotel downtown in Yogyakarta” and thank you for your kind compliments about our associates as well. Our guests' feedback is always important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to do so.
We hope to welcome you back again soon for another Memorable experience.

Warmest regards

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,018
    1,031
    228
    42
    25
See reviews for
721
1,393
288
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Depok, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in The Phoenix with my friends just for long week end in Jogja. Nestled in perfect location in Tugu area makes this hotel closed to the main city area....

The atmopshere is very nice... A mixes between europoean classical touch and javanese heritage culture.

I like the open plaza where the restaurant served the breakfast and the dinner.

I take the superior room located in 3ed fl which is not big but the detail amenities they provide is amazing and I can enjoy the balcony that faced directly to the plaza.

Overall, its far beyond my expectation and definitely will come back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rendy_nasution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Rendy_nasution

Thank you for taking time to share with us your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

It is always heartwarming to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and left with lasting memories about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Your appreciation means so much to us and gives us even more motivation to keep up our high service standards.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your amazing review of our property.

All our team is looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.


Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I always like building design style & architecture of this hotel. I always arrive in hotel early and ask to early check in too...and then hotel can give my room soon...Breakfast is very excellent...there's many choice, from Indonesian food until Western food, and also I found "jamu" drink too ! ;)
I always stay in this hotel when visit Yogya...always recommend this hotel to my friends and family too

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PramuditaNurmayasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Pramudita Nurmayasari

Thank you for taking time to write this review and sharing your great experience at your favorite hotel in Yogya.

It has been a pleasure having you as our guest and your generous compliments for the hotel design and architecture, facilities and the breakfast are much appreciated.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and always be our returnee guest.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Very Best Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have always loved to stay at MGallery Hotels as whether it's Signature or Heritage I always get wowed when I enter.

The Phoenix though is not as 'heritage' as it can be. I do not see any of the old heritage there is. The rooms are mildly old, and I don't know how it can be tagged as luxurious or understated elegance.

Pros:
1. The restaurant, while does not serve fantastic food, is nicely situated at the center of the hotel.
2. Location wise it's good
3. Beds are nice.

Cons:
1. The rooms are outdated and I can't place it really. I don't know but it just has normal wooden furniture, and weird design.
2. NOISY! I was woken up mid day when they're cleaning 3 rooms down me.
3. Amenities in the toilet are cheap.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Vodcacran23

Thank you for your detailed comments of our service and facility.
We sincerely apologies that we could not completely meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We are really concern about your feedback and we have already addressed your concerns to the departments in charge. They will give their best in order to provide better services in the future.

We are sincerely sorry if you could not feel the heritage of our hotel and we always try to highlight the legacy of our property.

We thank you for helping us to develop our services.
Kind Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Phoenix is a very good looking hotel with lots of charm - our bedroom came complete with many lovely touches and we had an enjoyable stay in this great city. However, as much as I would love to award The Phoenix a top rating, it is impossible to do so when the shower ran cold in the morning and staff seemed unable to meet the demands at breakfast leaving the buffet looking a little sad and depleted. In the evenings don't feel that you are restricted to either the hotel restaurant or the Chinese across the road - it is VERY easy to grab a becak (they wait just outside) and can take you wherever you wish to go. If you are worried about distance remember there are motorized becaks which were great for us. Just negotiate a price before you get on (make sure you understand whether the price is for two or per person) and enjoy the ride!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001Celia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear 001 Celia

Thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel.

We appreciate your valuable comments on our hotel and we are sincerely sorry if we could not completely meet your expectations.

We will try our best to be closer to perfection as it is our objective. We thank you for helping us in that process and wish to be able to reach your entire satisfaction for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon.

It's a classic hotel in colonial style. The rooms are quite small but clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. They arranged for our lost luggage to be retrieved from the airport.

Prices are much lower than other "western" hotels in Indonesia (eg. Bali).

Great food, large buffets, perfect to try out all sorts of local food!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Classic Colonial Style

Greeting from Classic colonial style hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback on your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as you found the friendly and helpful staff and a great food . We will do our utmost to continuously perform our best and your comment, definitely encourage all our staffs to strive for perfection.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,
Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Overall this is a good hotel. However it is neither a small luxury hotel nor a boutique hotel. Despite the emphasis put by Mgallery that it was built in 1918, don't expect anything historical really. There is not much "heritage" here. It is a very modern hotel built in an old fashioned, although quite pleasant, style. And it is, at least in high season, very crowded.

The rooms are reasonably large, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom is tiny.
Half of them face the swimming pool, with a pleasant balcony, or face backward with no view.

As said before, the hotel, at least at the time when we were there, was very full. Expect lots of tourists, families, teenagers, kids... This makes the swimming pool a particularly crowded and noisy area. It feels like a public swimming pool actually, so don't expect much relaxation.

The hotel restaurant offers both local and international food. Overall it is quite good. Regularly some items on the menu were "sold out" and service tends to be slow, even very slow.

All the staff is extremely helpful, smiling and friendly. congratulations.

There is a very decent fitness and a spa.

There is free wifi, however it is somewhat weak and slow.

To summarize, definitely a good hotel, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear PhPhPh_12

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

On behalf of the Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta I would like to apologize for the disappointments that you have felt during your stay with us especially with our wifi connection and our restaurant service.

Your review has given us motivation to reconsider some aspects of our service and will certainly help us to increase the satisfaction of our guests.

We are working on the points that spoiled your experience, in order to avoid them to happen again in the future.

Thank you for helping us.

Sincerely,

Thomas Evrard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,072 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 206 in Yogyakarta
942 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#12 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Property: The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing