We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Jogja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Ranked #8 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Wow, what can I say about this delightful hotel? Phoenix has a lovely colonial feel about it due to the architecture of the building and is wonderfully different from the soul-less chain hotels that you can find all over the world nowadays.

We arrived early in the morning, way ahead of the official check-in time at noon, but this was no problem at all to the reception staff, who immediately upgraded us to a deluxe room overlooking the swimming pool. The service levels of the staff were amazing. The lady at the reception desk who checked us in, took the time to escort us all the way to our room. This was a common theme throughout our stay. All the staff that we encountered, from the doormen, receptionists, waiters right down to the housekeeping staff, never failed to greet us and were consistently free with their smiles. Kudos to the management for the excellent customer service levels of all their staff.

The deluxe room that we were upgraded to was lovely, a good size and it even had its own balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Air conditioning was excellent and especially needed with the hot humid conditions in Yogyakarta. The room had satellite television, in-room safe, refrigerator, kettle and even free wi-fi if you happened to bring your own lap-top computer. The bathroom was well-appointed and had a shower cubicle but no long bath, but this was hardly important to us. Nice touches include a jar of candied jellies, which was re-filled everyday throughout our stay in the hotel.

The facilities in the hotel included the swimming pool mentioned earlier as well as spa. There is also a business centre as well as a nice coffee house. We did not chose to have most of our meals in the hotel as we wanted to sample the food in Yogyakarta, but on our last day we decided we had to try the breakfast buffet. We were not disappointed, as the buffet spread had a wide selection of western and local cuisine as well as a dedicated vegetarian counter. The food was great.

This is a lovely lovely hotel and we would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever returned to Yogyakarta. The best part of it is that the price for the hotel rooms will not break the bank; extremely good value for what you get from this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guest are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 3,516 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed at The Phoenix Hotel for 2 nights during our trip to Yogya, 1 of 3 destinations in Indonesia. We stayed at the room 266 which (to me) has one of the best views in the hotel. Although,like other reviews: no bath tub as the room is small, but it's very clean, the air con is good, balcony : 1 chair only ( I don't know why :) ) , well decorated and the bed is comfortable.

The hotel comes to be elegant with the colonial style, splendid with corridors, beautiful decoration even small details like those old style lamps or the phoenixes on the door, at the corner of the glasses, on the handles of the doors...

Breakfast is excellent with many choices and well arranged location for foods. I will always remember the Javanese drinks.

Staffs are friendly and helpful. It was very nice when they recommended me the Gajah Wong restaurant for dinner with the Gamelan. So that I could enjoyed one more art of Javanese culture.

The hotel has a interesting in house tour which will tell you more about Javanese culture for half an hour.

The pool is small and not a place to relax when there are some kids.

Overall, it was one of the best hotels I've stayed besides the Borei Angkor in Siem Reap, Cambodia and Pilgrimage Village in Hue, Vietnam. I would highly recommend to those who are visiting Yogya.

Thank you Ms. Anisma - the reservation manager and the girl ( I'm sorry, I forgot her name, maybe Anisma too) who took us for the in house tour in the morning of 28th Feb and made the check out procedure for us. She's pretty and has the best smile.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guest are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed at the Phoenix Hotel from the 6th - 9th April and then again on the 12th. The hotel is very well appointed inside and has a lovely Colonial feel to it. The reception area was bright, airy and the receptionists were extremely efficient. We were quickly shown to our room (which unfortunately didn't have a great view) which was extremely comfortable, cool and well designed. The room was very clean with a good selection of toiletries and a well stocked mini bar.

Room service was very easy to order and turned up hot and on time (not to mention delicious and value for money). The pool area is small but very relaxing. It's also significantly cooler than the rest of Jogjakarta which can be quite oppressive.

We dined in the hotel each night and there was good variation on the menu's and the food was always very enjoyable. Alcohol was expensive (and it is everywhere in the Far East) but available. Further to this the breakfast was excellent with a wide and varied selction of fruits, pastries, breads, juices and meats.

The Spa was very good value for money and the treatments we both had were excellent.

The hotel kindly looked after the majority of our luggage as we were off to Borneo for a few days and when we returned it was quickly placed back in our new room. On going to Borne I had requested a room with a pool view on our return and am pleased to say that this was request was granted.

The staff were excellently appointed throughout and like all Indonesian people were a joy to engage with. All in we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone lucky enough to spend some time in Jogja

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guest are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I was stay in room 366. Very nice hotel and great service. and one unforgetable moments was when i saw the room attendant very helpful to help my mom, i forgot his name but he is a young man with straight hair and has cute face. I would like to say thank you to him with this comment. An hotelier man should be like you.
Thank you very much. i will come back to this hotel when i visit Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipper00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guest are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This hotel is very different from current modern hotels which seem to lack soul and warmth. Although its old, its spotless. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The turn down service in the evening is appreciated. Our booking through Accor said this "Spread out in the ultra spacious Executive Room. Overlooking the pool or garden and featuring a separate living room..." We didn't get a separate living room and our balcony overlooked a parking lot and a rooftop. Perhaps they should define ultra spacious. Phoenix has wonderful, helpful and friendly staff. The room rates are good, it would have been better if I got my ultra spacious room. I used their cars for airport transfers and my trips to Prambanan and Borobudur. Taxis may be cheaper, but you feel much safer with the hotels drivers and their driving abilities. The vehicles are also cleaner and more spacious. Plus you get cold towels and lots of water. Very important when the temperatures hit 36 Celsius. The food is good, prices very reasonable but the wine is expensive. Bring your own. Ask for a room around the fountain.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Regarding your comments on room type, I would like to highlight that our hotel is dating 1918 therefore guests can feel that space are limited even in Executive or Suite rooms living room as the building kept his original architecture and design.
Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Excellent hotel, beautiful, amazing breakfast with a large choice.
Very nice relaxing atmosphere. Swimming pool, gym, free wifi, ...
Rooms are not very big but we had a little balcony.
The hotel organises day trip to Borodudur, Prambanan etc which is more expensive than the rest of the travel agencies, but it is normal, the category of the hotel is high.

We had a great time there, I highly recommend.

We payed 61 000 IDR/night and stayed 4 nights during Chinese New Year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastilla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guest are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Meanwhile I believe there is a mistake in the room rate you have mentioned in your comments.
Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Absolutely great. One of the best hotels in Indonesia.....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markuspichler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisonFranck, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Phoenix Hotel during your recent visit to Yogyakarta and for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#5 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#11 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 211 in Yogyakarta
641 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman no. 9, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This legenderay hotel was initially built as private estate in 1918. Through the ensuing decades, the property changed hands a number of times, until a Dutch caretaker turned it into Pensioner Hotel. The Phoenix name was deliberately chosen by the last proprietor who hoped that it would remain intact forever, believing in the ancient myth of The Phoenix, the sacred fire bird symbolizing regeneration throughout eternity.The Phoenix Hotel is elegantly situated in down town Yogyakarta, the cradle of Javanese civilization. The legendary Malioboro Street is just nearby, while the world herigate Borobudur and Prambanan temples are only an hour drive. Yogyakarta's cultural heritage and picturesque settings emit a distinctive charm that seldom fails its visitors.The 144 beautifully appointed rooms are reflecting the ambiance of bygone era wrapped in modern comfort facilities, enabling its occupant to celebrate a glorious past without losing the beauty of contemporary living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing